We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Labor day weekend stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of DoubleTree Hotel San Antonio Airport

Save Saved
You added DoubleTree Hotel San Antonio Airport to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
DoubleTree Hotel San Antonio Airport
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   37 NE Loop 410 (at McCullough), at McCullough, San Antonio, TX 78216   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
2X Points Package
Ranked #136 of 353 Hotels in San Antonio
GreenLeadersBronze level
Corpus Christi, Texas
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Labor day weekend stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

We stayed here for a baseball tournament along with other members of the team. I travelled with my husband and 3 teenagers. The double beds are small and no rollaway was available for our double room because of fire hazard. I wish another option would have been offered to us at check in so we would have been a little less cramped. However, room was comfortable and clean, staff was friendly. Kids were happy. Good stay.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

500 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    139
    137
    130
    59
    35
See reviews for
138
64
40
199
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

I stayed here with friends for a weekend during a convention, and we had no problems. There is a free shuttle available to and from the airport. You are given complimentary cookies and water once you are picked up. I loved the cookies so much I would call the front desk and ask for more with no problems. Checking in was a breeze, and the wonderful woman at the front desk who helped me made me feel so welcome. Our room was clean and the only problem we had was the bathroom sink not draining properly, but that was quickly fixed. The bar is a good place if you just want to sit and have a drink without any noise. Whoever the bartender was the Saturday night we stayed there was awesome! The hotel does seem a little dark and outdated in the hallways but who cares. I didn't have any surprises at check out. If I need to stay in this part of San Antonio again I would consider this hotel in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julie R, General Manager at DoubleTree Hotel San Antonio Airport, responded to this review, August 30, 2012
Thanks for the great review of our staff! I'll be sharing with them and buying them dinner tonight!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

Stayed at the Doubletree San Antonio Airport from the 21st to the 23rd of August. Had a little rough time checking in as we pulled up to the drive and the bellman was short with me and told me to move my vehicle so the shuttle van could park on the drive. Checked in and went to our room. Overall the beds were more comfortable compared to the other Doubletree downtown. The room had that hotel smell consistent with older hotels. Went to the pool and hot tub for a swim. We had a little trouble locating towels to dry off with and asked a staff member who kindly showed us where they were. He noticed there was only one towel left and said he would return with more which never happened. We ended up sharing a towel to dry off with. Went back up to the room and started watching tv. I had noticed the HD channels were not working and requested someone to take a look at it. Come to find out the tv was bad and they switched it out for another one. The next day we had issues with the toilet taking too long to fill up and the sink draining too slow. Reported it to the front desk who promptly reported it to the maintenance staff to fix. The front desk agent profusely apologized and offered to assign us a different room. I respectfully declined as we were already settled into the room and didn't want the hassle of moving. I was offered a comp voucher for breakfast which was really nice of the agent. Overall the front desk staff was wonderful (day shift). I loved the charm of the hotel with the Spanish flavor and wonderful courtyard. I do feel the hotel is in need of a refresh as it is showing some signs of age. Try the breakfast buffet and their omlets. The wait staff was wonderful and very accommodating. I would have no problems with staying here again. Thanks to the staff and their efforts to resolve situations and making a guest feel welcome(front desk day shift and restaurant staff).

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

My husband and I recently stayed here on our way out of town... we had a 7 AM flight out of San Antonio airport, and this place was perfect. The front desk was friendly, rooms were clean, lobby was very nice, and the shuttle driver gave us great directions to the rental car return. We were very pleased with our stay.
The only downside was the distance from the elevators to our room... we had a lot of luggage we had to organize for our trip home, so everything had to come up to the room from the car. It was a bit of a hike from the elevators.

Room Tip: Get a room near the elevators if you have a lot of luggage!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012 via mobile

A little over priced due to the goings on in town this weekend, overall, a very nice hotel. Will stall here again if I need to, but will make sure to book in advance. As always, I was greeted with the standard warm Double Tree cookie, but, because of my"rewards status", I was also given two bottles of water. The bottles normally run $2.25. A little pricey for water, so be prepared.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julie R, General Manager at DoubleTree Hotel San Antonio Airport, responded to this review, August 20, 2012
Thank you for you great rating of the hotel. I'm not sure where you found the price of water at $2.25, perhaps it was the vending machine, but those bottles of water are the 20oz Dasani's. The same price as all of the hotels in our area. Don't worry, if you ask the Front Desk for another one, they would gladly give you another!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2012

I stayed at a DoubleTree hotel before in San Diego and that was a good experience, so I thought my family would have one too. What a big difference compared to that one. I've traveled a lot due to my job, and I've stayed at Choice Hotels, Hampton Inns, Super 8, 1 star to 4 star hotels. This hotel is in need of some serious renovations and slowly falling apart. The coffee maker in the room had old coffee that had been sitting there for days. There were bed bugs or some other insects in my room. Every time we layed down on the bed, itches and rashes would later develop. Carpets were also old and dirty as well as the bathroom. No free buffet even though we had gold status membership. I've had better experiences at many 2.5 star hotels with free and better buffets than the overpriced one they charge here. The only thing 3.5 star at this place is their imagination that this is a high class hotel. I am sure some people got better rooms and had better experiences, but if you read through all the reviews on this site, you can see it all depends on what room they happen to give you and who you have the fortunate or unfortunate (if you had a bad experience) opportunity to deal with during your stay. So, if you want to stay at a DoubleTree, that is fine because they are usually good, but STAY FAR AWAY FROM THIS ONE IN SAN ANTONIO!!!

Room Tip: Go to another DoubleTree or find a cheaper 2.5 star hotel that deserves their rating!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julie R, General Manager at DoubleTree Hotel San Antonio Airport, responded to this review, August 12, 2012
Please accept my apologies for the problems you encountered during your recent stay with us. We do provide breakfast for Gold Hhonors members so I don't know how we missed that for you. We do however take reports for bugs/insects in our guest rooms very seriously. If you would like to contact me so I can take the room out-of-room to have it checked, I would be happy to offer compensation for the problems you encountered. However you if wish to remain anonymous, I would certainly understand. You could leave a message for me at 210-321-4801 or respond via e-mail. Either way I would be grateful for the information. Thank-you for your review.

julie.robey@us.whg.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Woodlands, Texas
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

I recently stayed here on a business trip, and was pleased. The proximity to the airport is nice, and there are quite a few restaurants near. The Alamo Drafthouse is also close(if you have never been, go!) The restaurant and bar were also above average.

All of the service I received was top notch. I would definitely recommend the property.

Room Tip: I highly recommend the rooms that open out to the courtyard. Noise was not a problem.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to DoubleTree Hotel San Antonio Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree Hotel San Antonio Airport

Address: 37 NE Loop 410 (at McCullough), at McCullough, San Antonio, TX 78216
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > San Antonio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Green Hotel in San Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree Hotel San Antonio Airport 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel San Antonio Airport. Located just minutes from San Antonio International Airport (SAT) on Interstate 410, across from the upscale North Star Shopping Mall, our hotel offers close proximity to the downtown area and many major attractions and business centers. Discover many things to do in San Antonio with our 24-hour shuttle service to the airport and nearby businesses. Enjoy spacious accommodations equipped with a range of thoughtful amenities. From flat-screen televisions to signature bedding, the guestrooms were designed with your comfort in mind. Beyond the guest accommodations, the DoubleTree features fantastic facility amenities including a picturesque courtyard with a pool and the onsite restaurant, Cascabel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your DoubleTree Hotel San Antonio Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree San Antonio
San Antonio Doubletree

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage DoubleTree Hotel San Antonio Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.