We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Nice Hilton Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of DoubleTree Hotel San Antonio Airport

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added DoubleTree Hotel San Antonio Airport to your Saves list
DoubleTree Hotel San Antonio Airport
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   37 NE Loop 410 (at McCullough), at McCullough, San Antonio, TX 78216   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
2X Points Package
Ranked #131 of 352 Hotels in San Antonio
GreenLeadersBronze level
Lubbock, Texas
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Very Nice Hilton Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2012

I stayed at this hotel back a few months ago and it was very warm and inviting. The lobby was great, it had a restaurant on site. There was also the executive floor for Gold and Diamond Hilton Honors members which had happy hour every night. I was very pleased with my stay. The location was great, it was close to alot of eateries and right off the highway. My room was facing the courtyard, and from the outside of the hotel, you can't even tell they have a courtyard in the hotel. The view was great, the beds were very comfy.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

552 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    161
    148
    143
    64
    36
See reviews for
150
68
42
227
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2012

This hotel feels very old and definitely needs an updating. The rooms are OK, nothing special. The "executive" floor is just a different part of the building that you need key access to get into, the rooms are exactly the same. The executive floor breakfast is poor and has very little selection. Overall, I would not recommend this hotel except for the occasional low prices.

Room Tip: Don't waste money on the executive floor upgrade
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PA
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2011

Summary: Does not live up to the DoubleTree standards. It looks like they attempted a surface/furniture renovation, but it needs more.

I am not planning to stay here agian, I would suggest you look elsewhere. There are plenty of options in the area.

The good:
- Very close to the airport (minutes)
- Airport shuttle available.
- Walking distance to restaurants / shopping mall
- Clean and comfortable bed
- Did not hear much flight noise

The bad:
- Dated rooms. Balcony doors do not close all the way even when locked.
- Tiny bathrooms, poor plumbing
- Slow front desk / check-in
- Room requests not honored (I fully realize this is not always possible, but this is the first time I remember this being the case)
- Many rooms close to highway, lots of highway noise since the doors exterior / balcony doors don't close very well.

Suggestions: Stay elsewhere. If you must stay here, request a room away from the highway. That also gives you a better chance of being away from the elevator.

Details:
Front desk was very slow. There was only one person in front of me in line and it took about 15 minutes to get my room key. Seemed one of the 2 front desk employees was new and was constantly asking the other for assistance.

Front desk wrote the wrong room key on my card. Came back down to report the issue and found 5-6 people in line, so I had to wait another 30 minutes before I could speak to someone to get it straightened out. Mistakes happen, but the time it took to correct it was very frustrating after a long day of travel.

I requested a room away from the elevator. The layout of hotel is a little strange, so there are a handful of rooms on each floor I'd consider 'very close' to the elevator. I received one of those rooms. I could hear the elevator bell constantly. I did not bring this up to the front desk. I didn't think it was worth the hassle.

Rooms were clean and had updated bedding/furniture/TV. H wever, the decor was very dated. Fridge is just sitting on the floor with microwave on top. There are some holes in the wall where previous wall hangings were mounted.

Bathroom was TINY. Had to maneuver slightly to close the door. Strangley, the bathtub was larger than what you'd typically find. There was no venilation in the bathroom.

Iron leaked water all over my clothes.

When I return, I'll definitely be staying elsewhere. I'd suggest you do, too.

Room Tip: If you must stay here, request a room away from the highway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaGrange, Kentucky
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2011

Stayed three nights. First room they gave us was next to the service elevator and we requested a change because it was so noisey. Second room smaller but adequate. Very comfortable bed. You have to walk outside to get to some of the rooms - doesn't make sense. Charge for wireless in room.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
98 helpful votes 98 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2011

This is an older hotel and the layout is pretty quirky. Rooms are average. The concierge lounge is not even modestly stocked (3 kinds of beer, soda, and a couple wines). The breakfast buffet is OK but there's not even a toaster. You have to send your selection to the kitchen to be toasted (or in my case, burnt!). I'm a Diamond Hilton Honors member and I stay in Hilton brand hotels every week and this isn't one that I will consider returning to.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
beatricepugzilla
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2011

I agree with most of the reviews - location good if you need to stay next to airport - the roooms are old and need to be updated - the whole door to outside patio that wraps the entore floor I do not understand - that is just not safe - have an executive lounge that supposedly offered breakfast so no coupon given - this was HORRIBLE - old pastries and bad coffee is not a breakfast - also the executive lounge was only open for breakfast and happy hour - not like a Hilton lounge so do not expect that - in fact should just close it down and offer breakfast downstairs- next trip to San Antonio I will stay somewhere else - too many hotels around the area.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2011

I normally love Doubletree hotels. I especially enjoy the nice comfy beds. However, this hotel leaves A LOT to be desired. It does not live up to the Doubletree name. If anything - it's an oversized motel.

The positives...
+ It has a pool
+ The staff is VERY nice and courteous! I can't say enough about that staff... they were the only thing that really made the stay worthwhile.
+ Comfortable bed. Although, if a Doubletree doesn't have a nice bed... then it must not be a Doubletree. :)
+ The restaurant has YUMMY food!

The negatives...
- The hotel and rooms REALLLLLLLLY show their age.
- The bathroom is TINY. The door opens inward into the the bathroom... and with the bathroom being so small, it cover 1/2 the damn room!
- There is NO vent in the bathroom, so the ceiling beads with condensation from the shower.
- The plumbing SUCKS. The tub doesnt drain; the sink drains slowly... I brought this up to maintenance - it's normal they say!
- There appeared to be mold of some sort around the walls/ceiling of the bathroom. WTF. I'll post pics soon. I'm still in the hotel until the end of next week... great.
- The door leading to the tiny balcony remains cracked open even though I have it locked... wow.
- There are random small holes in the walls of the room.. like they removed nails and never patched the walls. The painting of the room looks like a 12y/o was hired to do the job.

In summary, I would absolutely NEVER stay here again. I love Doubletrees - and this should NOT have the Doubletree name!! This is a 2 1/2 star hotel at best.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to DoubleTree Hotel San Antonio Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree Hotel San Antonio Airport

Address: 37 NE Loop 410 (at McCullough), at McCullough, San Antonio, TX 78216
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > San Antonio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Green Hotel in San Antonio
#94 Business Hotel in San Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree Hotel San Antonio Airport 3.5*
Number of rooms: 291
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel San Antonio Airport. Located just minutes from San Antonio International Airport (SAT) on Interstate 410, across from the upscale North Star Shopping Mall, our hotel offers close proximity to the downtown area and many major attractions and business centers. Discover many things to do in San Antonio with our 24-hour shuttle service to the airport and nearby businesses. Enjoy spacious accommodations equipped with a range of thoughtful amenities. From flat-screen televisions to signature bedding, the guestrooms were designed with your comfort in mind. Beyond the guest accommodations, the DoubleTree features fantastic facility amenities including a picturesque courtyard with a pool and the onsite restaurant, Cascabel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, AAA Travel Services, getaroom.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your DoubleTree Hotel San Antonio Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree San Antonio
San Antonio Doubletree

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage DoubleTree Hotel San Antonio Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.