We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable Bed & Warm Cookie the Highlights” 3 of 5 stars
Review of DoubleTree Hotel San Antonio Airport

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added DoubleTree Hotel San Antonio Airport to your Saves list
DoubleTree Hotel San Antonio Airport
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   37 NE Loop 410 (at McCullough), at McCullough, San Antonio, TX 78216   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
2X Points Package
Ranked #131 of 352 Hotels in San Antonio
GreenLeadersBronze level
LaGrange, Kentucky
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Comfortable Bed & Warm Cookie the Highlights”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2011

Stayed three nights. First room they gave us was next to the service elevator and we requested a change because it was so noisey. Second room smaller but adequate. Very comfortable bed. You have to walk outside to get to some of the rooms - doesn't make sense. Charge for wireless in room.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

552 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    161
    148
    143
    64
    36
See reviews for
150
68
42
227
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, IL
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
98 helpful votes 98 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2011

This is an older hotel and the layout is pretty quirky. Rooms are average. The concierge lounge is not even modestly stocked (3 kinds of beer, soda, and a couple wines). The breakfast buffet is OK but there's not even a toaster. You have to send your selection to the kitchen to be toasted (or in my case, burnt!). I'm a Diamond Hilton Honors member and I stay in Hilton brand hotels every week and this isn't one that I will consider returning to.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
beatricepugzilla
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2011

I agree with most of the reviews - location good if you need to stay next to airport - the roooms are old and need to be updated - the whole door to outside patio that wraps the entore floor I do not understand - that is just not safe - have an executive lounge that supposedly offered breakfast so no coupon given - this was HORRIBLE - old pastries and bad coffee is not a breakfast - also the executive lounge was only open for breakfast and happy hour - not like a Hilton lounge so do not expect that - in fact should just close it down and offer breakfast downstairs- next trip to San Antonio I will stay somewhere else - too many hotels around the area.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2011

I normally love Doubletree hotels. I especially enjoy the nice comfy beds. However, this hotel leaves A LOT to be desired. It does not live up to the Doubletree name. If anything - it's an oversized motel.

The positives...
+ It has a pool
+ The staff is VERY nice and courteous! I can't say enough about that staff... they were the only thing that really made the stay worthwhile.
+ Comfortable bed. Although, if a Doubletree doesn't have a nice bed... then it must not be a Doubletree. :)
+ The restaurant has YUMMY food!

The negatives...
- The hotel and rooms REALLLLLLLLY show their age.
- The bathroom is TINY. The door opens inward into the the bathroom... and with the bathroom being so small, it cover 1/2 the damn room!
- There is NO vent in the bathroom, so the ceiling beads with condensation from the shower.
- The plumbing SUCKS. The tub doesnt drain; the sink drains slowly... I brought this up to maintenance - it's normal they say!
- There appeared to be mold of some sort around the walls/ceiling of the bathroom. WTF. I'll post pics soon. I'm still in the hotel until the end of next week... great.
- The door leading to the tiny balcony remains cracked open even though I have it locked... wow.
- There are random small holes in the walls of the room.. like they removed nails and never patched the walls. The painting of the room looks like a 12y/o was hired to do the job.

In summary, I would absolutely NEVER stay here again. I love Doubletrees - and this should NOT have the Doubletree name!! This is a 2 1/2 star hotel at best.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm City, Florida
Top Contributor
189 reviews 189 reviews
71 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2011

I really liked the property but wished it was closer to Riverwalk. This was my first time in San Antonio and I did like the spacious rooms, the great customer service, and wonderful bar and restaurant. I was visiting on business but would certainly not mind coming back again. I will definitely be coming back to visit the Riverwalk area as I didn't have much time to do so and will stay closer to that area.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas Gulf Coast, Texas
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
94 helpful votes 94 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2011

Good location off of I-410 North @ McCollough. Adjacent to a shopping center with fast food offerings and across the interstate from a mall. Ample parking for all guests.

The rooms are undergoing renovations being updated with improved bedding, down comforters, safe, hair-dryer, mini-fridges, and microwaves in the rooms. The towels are heavy (~ 8 lbs) cotton and super absorbent.

A/c kept the room refreshing despite the late summer heat for which SA is known (~ 101*). Comfortable overstuffed chair and separate writing desk / chair. Enhanced cable tv with plenty of offerings.

A few minor detractions: the bathtub drains slowly; the shower head is a little low for a 6' person; the wallpaper in the bathroom was tattered and peeling at the edges / seems; no vent fan to remove excess moisture in the bathroom.

Overall the bathroom is a little small as the door will take off the kneecaps of anyone using the toilet and the bowed shower curtain is moved significantly inside the shower, to allow the door to open fully. Plenty of sink space for personal items and/or convenient storage space below the marble counter-top.

Yes, I'd stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2011

I remember when this was La Mansion - one of the better hotels in San Antonio. It is now a Doubletree and I would definitely go back if I had business close to this area - or even if I just wanted to get away for a day or two. The location is great for shopping and easy access to the rest of San Antonio. I loved the old-world Spanish charm throughout the hotel. While I didn't use the pool/hot tub area, it looked very nice, if smallish. I did have a decent meal at a really good price in the bar Cascabel (sp?). Again, loved the relaxed, but elegant look of the dark wood, Austin stone with Spanish touches. This isn't a resort, but a nice place to stay at a great price (my travel coordinator did priceline and it was $70 I think).

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to DoubleTree Hotel San Antonio Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree Hotel San Antonio Airport

Address: 37 NE Loop 410 (at McCullough), at McCullough, San Antonio, TX 78216
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > San Antonio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Green Hotel in San Antonio
#93 Business Hotel in San Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree Hotel San Antonio Airport 3.5*
Number of rooms: 291
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel San Antonio Airport. Located just minutes from San Antonio International Airport (SAT) on Interstate 410, across from the upscale North Star Shopping Mall, our hotel offers close proximity to the downtown area and many major attractions and business centers. Discover many things to do in San Antonio with our 24-hour shuttle service to the airport and nearby businesses. Enjoy spacious accommodations equipped with a range of thoughtful amenities. From flat-screen televisions to signature bedding, the guestrooms were designed with your comfort in mind. Beyond the guest accommodations, the DoubleTree features fantastic facility amenities including a picturesque courtyard with a pool and the onsite restaurant, Cascabel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, AAA Travel Services, getaroom.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your DoubleTree Hotel San Antonio Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree San Antonio
San Antonio Doubletree

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage DoubleTree Hotel San Antonio Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.