We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of DoubleTree Hotel San Antonio Airport

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added DoubleTree Hotel San Antonio Airport to your Saves list
DoubleTree Hotel San Antonio Airport
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   37 NE Loop 410 (at McCullough), at McCullough, San Antonio, TX 78216   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
2X Points Package
Ranked #131 of 352 Hotels in San Antonio
GreenLeadersBronze level
Pacific Northwest
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Good value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2007

This hotel is located a very short drive from the airport but is far enough away so that the runway noise is non-existent.

The hotel features Spanish Mission architecture and is well kept both on the outside and inside. If you are driving from the airport the entrance from the surface road is not very obvious. It would help if the hotel placed a more prominent sign at the entrance because if you drive past it expect an ordeal in heavy traffic to get back in position to enter the parking lot.

The staff is very friendly, helpful, and professional. The only negative was receiving incorrect directions from one of the managers. The mistake cost me a good 20 minutes of extra driving getting to my destination. He contradicted the mapquest directions and was wrong.

The room I had was clean and a fair representation of this price point. The bed was actually quite good, the air conditioner worked well and there was no end to the hot water in the morning.

I recommend this property.

  • Stayed December 2007
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

552 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    161
    148
    143
    64
    36
See reviews for
150
68
42
227
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2007

Attended a conference September 2007 and the place was great. Nice rooms, good price, nice amenities. Beds were comfy. Only complaints are free coffee during the week that mysteriously disappears on the weekend and the food in the restaurant was very bad. Only had breakfast but wouldn't eat there again.

  • Liked — The cookie, the price
  • Disliked — the restaurant food
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2007

Disclaimer: My review is based on comparing this hotel to others in it's price/star range. I travel for work and the hotel cost is expensed, so I rarely am concerned about the room rate.

Overview: If you're going to San Antonio, the downtown/riverwalk area is the place to be, but if the downtown hotels are full (and around Cinco de Mayo, they often are), stay at this property in North San Antonio. This is a mission style hotel, built around a central outdoor courtyard with a large pool, hot tub and lots of tables for dining or drink (no outdoor bar, but you can bring drinks outside from the bar). Spanish design with lots of tile and stucco. Very open, airy feel. Because this hotel had the word airport in the title I immediatly imagened the worse...over-crowded with business travelers, lots of airport noise and was glad to be wrong. There is a mall directly across the street from the hotel and a strip mall with a TGI-Friday's and, deli and chinese/sushi place next to it.

Bars/Restaraunts: KC, the weekend bartender was a lot of fun and I ended up subbing for one of the palyers on his softball team. Tip well and ask him about his softball team and you'll probably be paying for less than half of your drinks. This is the bartender that every bar should have. The restaurant wasn't much to write home about. Mostly southwest style menu, but not true Tex-Mex (and if you're eating anything else in San Antonio, you're wasting your time). I ate out most nights, but room service was fast and not bad.

Room: I was upgraded to the Executive section of the hotel through my Hilton Diamond membership. Great room decorated in desert colors. Huge king bed, very comfortable with new bedding. Good bathroom amminities. My room had a full sliding glass door that opened all the way (not a real balcony, but there's a rail outside the window. Wireless internet was 10 dollars a day and only of average quality, which has, unfortunatly, become the norm. Especially poor performance between 6 and 9 PM when their access points are bogged down with users.

Staff: Good all around. House keeping always did a solid job. They brought me plenty of extra hangers for my three week stay. Front desk staff thanked me for my Hilton Honors membership and upgraded me when asked. I'm originally from just up I-35 in Austin, Texas so I didn't require much assistance on getting around or what to see, so I didn't have a lot of staff interaction. Bar staff was very good.

Other: Has a decent gym and small sauna. Pool and hot tub both very nice. Looks like there is a ton of meeting space and there were several conferences/meetings while I was there, in addition to a wedding reception and a few birthday parties. Overall a much better than expected stay.

  • Stayed May 2007, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
294 reviews 294 reviews
184 hotel reviews
Reviews in 98 cities Reviews in 98 cities
326 helpful votes 326 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2007

I stay at this hotel one to two times per month for about two nights per stay, alternating with the Hampton San Antonio Northwoods.

Overall this Doubletree tries hard. As a diamond or gold member you get access to the hospitality suite in the evening for happy hour and morning for continental breakfast. The suite is rather small, but the staff really makes it shine. (Plus - extra free cookies - Yummmm) If you are a diamond you also get the breakfast in Cascabel (the diner) for free.

The rooms area bit worn and dated but always clean. The workout was getting pretty tired, but last time I was there it was closed and undergoing a remodel. Tons to eat if you have a car. If not, eating dinner in Cascabel is not bad There is also a TGI Fridays next door, an Asian place, Chik Filet, and Jason's Deli. The hotel also provides free shuttle to the mall across the street as well as teh airport.

The location near the airport, but flight noise has never been a problem. Unlike many hotels around the airport, they do not charge for self parking.

The outdoor pool / courtyard is a nice place to hang out, have a drink, or work on your laptop. They have a fairly nice business center, with three PC's and two printers, but no copier.

For its location in San Antonio, the price is reasonable compared to many other choices.

  • Stayed July 2007, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
arlington, tx
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2007

Great hotel.....the rooms that wrap around the pool have double entrances on each side.....that was different! Rooms are large and what you would expect with a Doubletree; they have a nice southwestern flair. What really stood out was the service.....I was using the complimentary business center late at night and the night desk guy actually came in and offered me cookies and coffee (with cream and sugar no less!).....it was such a casual thing but it's something you remember. It's really about the small things! I wish I could remember the young guy's name; hopefully I'll see him next time. The location and parking was convenient. I got this for $51 and it was definitely worth that.....

  • Liked — Night staff, lights around pool area at night
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dallas
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2007

Overall, I will stay here again. The pictures on the internet are accurate. The staff was very friendly, the room was clean, there was a safe in the room. Location was great, only 9 miles from Riverwalk, restaurant and shopping in walking distance. My only complaint is no complimentary breakfast, not a fruit, muffin nor juice. I don't drink coffee.

  • Liked — Clean & comfortable room
  • Disliked — No complimentary breakfast
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westoftherockies
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2006

Stayed at the Doubletree for a conference. Had a great experience from check-in -- loved the warm cookie! The staff was extremely friendly throughout my stay. Even employees walking around in the hotel greeted me with a smile. Even the waitress in the restaurant was nice and helpful in every way.

The room was above average -- clean, and tidy. The king size bed was VERY comfortable -- I had the best sleep ever, and I loved the mounds of pillows!

If you are a business traveler, skip purchasing the internet access in the room. Go to the business center on the first floor, which had three computers and free internet access. There was a separate plug for laptops -- which was very convenient.

The workout room was also very good. Basic equipment and facilities.

Yes, the location is far from town and nightlife, however, the big plus was that it was directly across the street from the Northstar Mall and near other chains such as the Container Store and Target. Very convenient and we could do our Christmas shopping. We rented a car and had no problem getting around.

Lastly, the hotel had a free shuttle van that provided transportation to and from the airport, as well as locations within 3 miles of the hotel.

Overall, the experience was a good one, and I would definite consider staying here again.

  • Liked — The comfy beds and excellent customer service
  • Stayed December 2006, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to DoubleTree Hotel San Antonio Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree Hotel San Antonio Airport

Address: 37 NE Loop 410 (at McCullough), at McCullough, San Antonio, TX 78216
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > San Antonio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Green Hotel in San Antonio
#94 Business Hotel in San Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree Hotel San Antonio Airport 3.5*
Number of rooms: 291
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel San Antonio Airport. Located just minutes from San Antonio International Airport (SAT) on Interstate 410, across from the upscale North Star Shopping Mall, our hotel offers close proximity to the downtown area and many major attractions and business centers. Discover many things to do in San Antonio with our 24-hour shuttle service to the airport and nearby businesses. Enjoy spacious accommodations equipped with a range of thoughtful amenities. From flat-screen televisions to signature bedding, the guestrooms were designed with your comfort in mind. Beyond the guest accommodations, the DoubleTree features fantastic facility amenities including a picturesque courtyard with a pool and the onsite restaurant, Cascabel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, AAA Travel Services, getaroom.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your DoubleTree Hotel San Antonio Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree San Antonio
San Antonio Doubletree

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage DoubleTree Hotel San Antonio Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.