We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good option” 4 of 5 stars
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton San Antonio Downtown

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added DoubleTree by Hilton San Antonio Downtown to your Saves list
DoubleTree by Hilton San Antonio Downtown
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   502 West Cesar E. Chavez Blvd., San Antonio, TX 78207 (Formerly Radisson Hotel San Antonio Downtown Market Square)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
2X Points Package
Ranked #117 of 352 Hotels in San Antonio
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Good option”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

I stayed there on a business trip and it seemed like a good option to me. I am not sure what the regular prices were but the conference negotiated ones seemed good to me. I think the only thing I did not like was that the front desk was always too busy (probably because they always had more customers than a single staff person could handle)

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

607 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    198
    170
    130
    63
    46
See reviews for
184
92
27
230
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
36 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

I recently had a 2 night stay at this hotel. Check in was a little chaotic, as we were checking in quite late(11:00PM) and there was only 1 person working the desk. She was friendly and apologetic, and placed our 3 rooms together. The warm cookies are awesome! When we got to our rooms, I was in 613? Not sure if this is the correct floor, but I know the room was '13'. I couldn't get the key to work and had to go to another guest room and call. Turns out my door handle had to be pulled up as I slid the key rather than pushed down, and the timing had to be exact. Once inside, the room was clean and spacious. The beds are sleep number, but my remote wasn't working properly. and I had to switch sides. The breakfast buffet is very good, lots of hot and cold items. The lobby is very spacious, with sitting areas and a computer area. I was attending an event at the Alamodome, and it was about 2 mi away. I wold definitely stay here again, but ask about my door handle if I were in a room that ends in '13'.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

We loved the Hotel,right in the middle of everything. The rooms were very nice,and the bed was super comfortable,we also enjoyed the breakfast. The only thing that we didn't like was the fact that the staff didn't tell us that the shuttle bus didn't run on sunday's.

Room Tip: Know what type of room you like....etc room with a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Illinois
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

The staff was very nice, welcoming and helpful. Breakfast buffet was good. The bed was extremely comfortable. As always cookies are good and walking the distance to my downtown meeting actually made me feel it was ok to have 2!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anderson, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

Traveled back to San Antonio February 22-24 for another volleyball tournament. This time, we stayed at the Doubletree by Hilton downtown. CHecked in around 7 pm. Staff was so friendly and greeted us with warm chocolate chip cookies! Check in process was easy and our reservations were easily found. We had booked about 5 weeks out. 2 weeks prior to check in, I also received an email reminding me of the stay and asking if I had any questions. That is a nice feature!
Room was clean, linens new in appearance, and decor was updated. I had to call downstairs a time or two to ask questions about this or that and Daniel (the deskclerk) was helpful and professional. We were there for two nights. I appreciated the way they made us feel special, although we were just one room of many volleyballers there for the tournament.
Room service was ordered the last morning. French toast, pan fried potatoes and thick slices of ham- delicious!!! The dinner we had on night #2 in the dining room was alo yummy. Prices were comparable to dining out. Servers were professional. We would definitely stay here again!!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

We stayed here for our 3 year anniversary. Good location to and from the River Walk. The hotel will shuttle you to and from the River Walk area but we walked one evening. Not very far to walk. Would stay again if in the area AND the cookies are great. You can have as many as you want.

Room Tip: We were on the top floor (6th) great room and view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

We booked a room for one night for a quick weekend getaway. After spending the day at Sea World, we arrived at the hotel to check-in only to be standing their waiting for over 10 minutes with 2 very tired children. The lady at the desk then proceeded to check us in while talking on the phone. She barely said two words to us. Then she failed to give us our breakfast coupons (we booked a bed and breakfast rate since doubletree does not offer a complimentary breakfast), so we decided to ask the other front desk person, since he was not preoccupied talking on the phone. He gave us our breakfast coupons, but then, the kids asked where their cookies were. Even my 11 and 5 year old know that the Doubletree is supposed to give you cookies at check in. After getting our cookies, we proceeded to our room only to find that it was not the room we had booked. We booked suite dreams beds not select comfort, because of a prior experience with select comfort beds that did not work properly (at THIS hotel). We grabbed all of our stuff and proceeded back down to the check-in desk to point out to the manager that this was not the room that we had reserved. After about 20 minutes, he was able to get us into the room that we had confirmed on our reservation.

If not for all the trouble at the check in desk, I would have given this hotel a much better rating. The rooms are clean, and yes the bathroom door is a bit strange, just a sliding door, but it isn't the first hotel I have stayed in where the bathroom doesn't offer complete privacy. I really like the location, since it is in walking distance to the Mexican Market and it's restaurants (Yummmm....). And, if you want to go down to the riverwalk/Alamo, you can take the hotel shuttle down there at no charge, and don't have to pay for parking, which can be quite expensive depending on where you park. I suggest taking the shuttle down and walking back via Commerce street. Stop halfway at Jerry's Chicago style hot dogs and grab a hot dog, polish, or Italian Beef. Then walk down to the Mexican market and you can shop and eat your way through and still feel good when you make it back to the hotel. And, please don't eat at the hotel, (unless it's breakfast, which is OK, big selection, but remember it is a HOTEL breakfast-i.e. powdered eggs) there are so many wonderful places to eat in San Antonio.

Overall, I like this hotel, due to it's clean rooms and reasonable price. We have stayed here before and did not encounter the check in issues we had this time. I just wish they would improve and be consistent with their customer service.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Antonio hotels
Avenida Guadalupe
Courtyard by Marriott San Antonio Downtown/Market Square
Avenida Guadalupe
Holiday Inn San Antonio Downtown
Holiday Inn San Antonio Downtown
#165 of 352 in San Antonio
3.5 of 5 stars 444 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Wyndham San Antonio Riverwalk
#139 of 352 in San Antonio
3.5 of 5 stars 1,029 reviews
Avenida Guadalupe
Fairfield Inn San Antonio Downtown/Market Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton San Antonio Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton San Antonio Downtown

Address: 502 West Cesar E. Chavez Blvd., San Antonio, TX 78207 (Formerly Radisson Hotel San Antonio Downtown Market Square)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > San Antonio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#72 Romantic Hotel in San Antonio
#94 Business Hotel in San Antonio
#95 Family Hotel in San Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton San Antonio Downtown 3.5*
Number of rooms: 250
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover contemporary comforts in historic San Antonio at the DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel San Antonio Downtown. Set in San Antonio's central business district — less than 15 minutes from San Antonio International (SAT) Airport and with easy access to major interstates — this hotel is convenient to the Alamo, the Riverwalk and surrounding Texas military facilities. Park out of the Texas sun in our shaded lot and catch this hotel’s complimentary shuttle throughout downtown. Enjoy a warm cookie and a warm welcome always. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, BookIt.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo, Hilton Hotels and Venere so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton San Antonio Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree By Hilton San Antonio Downtown Hotel San Antonio
Radisson San Antonio
San Antonio Radisson

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage DoubleTree by Hilton San Antonio Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.