We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good rooms pay for breakfast” 4 of 5 stars
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton San Antonio Downtown

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added DoubleTree by Hilton San Antonio Downtown to your Saves list
DoubleTree by Hilton San Antonio Downtown
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   502 West Cesar E. Chavez Blvd., San Antonio, TX 78207 (Formerly Radisson Hotel San Antonio Downtown Market Square)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Earn 2X HHonors Points
Ranked #135 of 352 Hotels in San Antonio
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Good rooms pay for breakfast”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012 via mobile

I stayed there last week, prior to catching a flight.
Nice clean elegant not cheap but still pay for breakfast and Internet , I suppose there several hotels as such but paying 120 used I'd expect complimentary breakfast. Bed linen was soft , comfy beds, lots of towels. I liked it . Free shuttle to airport which is very close. Shopping and dinning across the street , go to the Cheesecake Factory for a great dinner. I still recommend it........
Nice pool as well

Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

486 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    148
    133
    108
    57
    40
See reviews for
141
66
25
194
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vilseck, Germany
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

Thank you Michelle and staff for a wonderful weekend. Our rooms were perfect and the staff was superior. I was very impressed with the wonderful group rate/accomodations and serivce that went above our expectations.

I could not ask for a better hotel!

Room Tip: The hotel is not located directly on the Riverwalk, but is still in an ideal area. The shuttle seriv...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012 via mobile

This hotel is located right off the highway, with easy access to San Antonio. The customer service isn't very good, the housekeeping department isn't prompt, and the breakfast prices are way too high for what it is. We requested extra towels 3 times our first night there, and didn't get them until the next morning. The walls are also very thin amd you can hear talking in the hallway and next room as if you were right there with them.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alvarado, Texas
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

We stayed only one night in this hotel. I was a little leery at first given the past reviews. The rooms were very spacious, the staff was very friendly and the hotel was quite clean. It isn't in the most desirable location (not within walking distance of the riverwalk) however, it's also not in a bad part of town like previous reviews said. It's across from the UTSA campus and very close to the new Police Station. We were within a few blocks of the Mercado and Las Margaritas restaurant. Definitely liked this hotel and would consider staying here in the future.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Top Contributor
142 reviews 142 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

Definitely a nice hotel with good sized rooms. We would have liked to seen a small refrigerator in the room as the cabinets were definitely built to hold one. Unfortunately the hotel was having issues with their alarm system as it would randomly go off at various times each day we were there for the week, the worst was at 1:00 a.m. One night. The location was at least a mile from the true downtown area and riverwalk so if you don't like walking or taking a cab, this may not be where you want to stay. The area to the west of hotel can also be considered sketchy at best. One of our friends who works in the worst part of Detroit said that the area there was worse than anything he had ever seen in Detroit.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichelleDT, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton San Antonio Downtown, responded to this review, September 17, 2012
I would like to apologize for your disappointment regarding your stay with us at the Doubletree Downtown San Antonio. It is our desire to exceed the needs and expectations of each and every one of our guests. I have made our team aware of your comments and concerns. You stayed with us while we were repairing our fire safety systems. I apologize for the disturbance the fire alarm provided that night. I understand how that might have been disappointing. Our hotel is located directly across the street from The City of San Antonio’s Police sub-station, a City of San Antonio Municipal Court Building and The University of Texas at San Antonio’s downtown location. I take exception the comment, “worse than anything he had ever seen in Detroit.” This is totally false and without merit.

Sincerely,

Chris Hagee
General Manager
Doubletree Downtown San Antonio
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

This is a very nice hotel with pool, bar, and restaurant. The room was great. Nice flat panel tv, comfy bedding, cool bathroom. Hotel offers complimentary shuttle service to the nearby River Walk. Staff was quite friendly and professional. Use your AAA card for discount. The nice lady at the front desk waived the 20 dollar parking fee because of my AAA card. Not a cheap place but very nice and worth the hundred bucks I paid for one night. All in all a pleasant comfortable stay in a good location especially if you want access to the River Walk but don't want to stay at the higher priced hotels there. Peace. Estebanphd

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichelleDT, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton San Antonio Downtown, responded to this review, September 17, 2012
Thank you for your comments on Tripadvisor. One of the great value added items when checking in as a AAA Member is our Overnight Garage Parking. It's a great savings in San Antonio, where most hotels are charging $15-$35 per night. We look forward to your next visit with us.

At your service,

Michelle Stephan, Director of Sales
michelle.stephan@hilton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2012 via mobile

It was a awesome stay and I loved the bartender I believe her name was ashely. My room was clean and they came at great times. The work out room was always kept clean and the equipment worked to perfection. The bar and the restaurant were perfect.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton San Antonio Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton San Antonio Downtown

Address: 502 West Cesar E. Chavez Blvd., San Antonio, TX 78207 (Formerly Radisson Hotel San Antonio Downtown Market Square)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > San Antonio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #135 of 352 Hotels in San Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton San Antonio Downtown 3.5*
Number of rooms: 250
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover contemporary comforts in historic San Antonio at the DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel San Antonio Downtown. Set in San Antonio's central business district — less than 15 minutes from San Antonio International (SAT) Airport and with easy access to major interstates — this hotel is convenient to the Alamo, the Riverwalk and surrounding Texas military facilities. Park out of the Texas sun in our shaded lot and catch this hotel’s complimentary shuttle throughout downtown. Enjoy a warm cookie and a warm welcome always. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Hilton Hotels, AAA Travel Services, Despegar.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton San Antonio Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree By Hilton San Antonio Downtown Hotel San Antonio
Radisson San Antonio
San Antonio Radisson

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage DoubleTree by Hilton San Antonio Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.