We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“there was a bad smell in my room” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Howard Johnson Inn & Suites San Antonio

Save Saved
You added Howard Johnson Inn & Suites San Antonio to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Howard Johnson Inn & Suites San Antonio
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   3817 N Pan Am Expwy, Exit 161/162 off of I-35, San Antonio, TX 78219 (Formerly Quality Inn & Suites)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Stay 3+ Nights, Save 20%
Ranked #187 of 352 hotels in San Antonio
Write a Review

141 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    41
    37
    24
    24
    15
See reviews for
67
31
7
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here for one week. Originally reserved for 4days, but the room was very spacious, staff nice and rates were excellent. Clean rooms, nice and friendly staff. The only thing wrong was pump went out on the pool and hot tub. I hope they get that fixed, hot tub would have been nice. Just a few exits away to riverwalk, and close to anywhere one might visit,ie. sea world and other attractions. Money saved on room allowed for more activities!

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tony209, Guest Relations Manager at Howard Johnson Inn & Suites San Antonio, responded to this review, November 28, 2012
Thank you for taking the time out of your schedule to review our hotel regarding your recent stay at our hotel.Please know that your feedback is extremely valuable to us and we will utilize your response by continuing to focus on making each and every guest experience the best it can be. We hope to be of service to you in the future. We know you have a choice and we are glad you chose us. Again, thank you for reviewing our property and if we can be of assistance to you, don't hesitate to contact us. We cannot wait to see you again!
Guest Relations Manager: Tony P.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wichita, Kansas
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

We stayed in a double King suite. This layout was PERFECT for our family. It had two rooms, separated by french doors, with a King size bed and a flat screen tv in each room. The room was clean, smelled nice, and was supplied well. There wasn't great air flow with the french doors shut, but we could put the a/c on high while we were out during the day, and the whole place would be cool when we came back. We would then put our kids to bed, turn the a/c to low, shut the doors, and be able to watch tv and get on the internet and take time to wind down. When we would go to bed, we would open the french doors, and the temperature would be perfect all night. Here are the cons: The maintenance in this place was not great (my husband happens to do apartment maintenance for a living), and that caused some run down issues. Every morning there were some sort of ant, and sewer gnats in the shower. We just rinsed them away, and that was the end of it until the next morning. Judging from the cracks in the tiles, there was probably some mold behind the walls that were attracting them. Also, the locks/keycards were infuriating! We figured out the outside door pretty easily, we just had to put the card in and pull it out very slowly to get it to unlock. The door to our room was more difficult. We would normally need to put the card in several times, slow, fast, two times quickly.... We would just have to play around with it until it would work. The continental breakfast could have been pretty good..... except it wasn't. It had waffles, two kinds of cereal, bagels and toast, oatmeal, and biscuits and gravy. The gravy was not good, the toaster was broken and wouldn't stay down to toast anything.... But if you like waffles, raisin bran, or corn flakes. And if you do, you should get there early, or it will be gone. Housekeeping did pretty well, except for the last night. They only left one towel for a family of 4..... Which is not the end of the world. When we called the front desk, they said we were more than welcome to come pick some up. I just think that if they didn't put the towels in that they were supposed to, they should bring them to us. All that being said, it was still a very large, awesome room, for $67 a night. It served us very well, and I slept better than I ever did in one room with two double beds, and my two toddlers right next to us.They just need to put a little more into their maintenance. And the breakfast is a continental breakfast. It is what it is, and what I would normally expect.

Room Tip: Our room was right next to the outside door, and we often heard people coming and going.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tony209, Guest Relations Manager at Howard Johnson Inn & Suites San Antonio, responded to this review, November 28, 2012
Thank you for taking the time out of your schedule to review our hotel regarding your recent stay at our hotel.Please know that your feedback is extremely valuable to us and we will utilize your response by continuing to focus on making each and every guest experience the best it can be. We hope to be of service to you in the future.We have adddressed such issues to maintenance and housekeeping to rectify these errors for future reference. We know you have a choice and we are glad you chose us. Again, thank you for reviewing our property and if we can be of assistance to you, don't hesitate to contact us. We cannot wait to see you again!
G.R.M. Tony P.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MIDLAND
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

Awesome again, super friendly service, real nice rooms, just a real nice place to stay.
everything was great except the continental breakfast.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tony209, Guest Relations Manager at Howard Johnson Inn & Suites San Antonio, responded to this review, November 28, 2012
Thank you for taking the time out of your schedule to review our hotel regarding your recent stay at our hotel.Please know that your feedback is extremely valuable to us and we will utilize your response by continuing to focus on making each and every guest experience the best it can be. We hope to be of service to you in the future. We know you have a choice and we are glad you chose us. Again, thank you for reviewing our property and if we can be of assistance to you, don't hesitate to contact us. We cannot wait to see you again!
Guest Relatins Manager-Tony P.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Howard Johnson Inn & Suites San Antonio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Inn & Suites San Antonio

Address: 3817 N Pan Am Expwy, Exit 161/162 off of I-35, San Antonio, TX 78219 (Formerly Quality Inn & Suites)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > San Antonio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#187 Top resorts Hotel in San Antonio
#187 Luxury Hotel in San Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Howard Johnson Inn & Suites San Antonio 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located off Interstate 35, Howard Johnson Inn & Suites San Antonio Fort Sam Houston, San Antonio International Airport and near downtown Riverwalk. San Antonio provides easy access to countless points of interest and popular Texas attractions. We also provide plenty of on-site entertainment such as a lounge, outdoor pool and hot tub, picnic area with barbecue grill,laptop,PS3 and DVD rentals.After enjoying your new comforter and pillow in your spacious room featuring 32 inch flat LCD TV's, Newly Desinged Rooms, FREE Wi-Fi,FREE Rise & Dine HOT breakfast,FREE Business Center, FREE Local calls. Business guests will appreciate our meeting space with fax and copy services. On site Snack Bar store and ATM.We offer non-smoking rooms and limited room service. Upgrade to a suite for added space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Wyndham, Priceline, Tingo, Travelocity, getaroom.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Expedia, Hotels.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Howard Johnson Inn & Suites San Antonio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson San Antonio
San Antonio Howard Johnson

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Howard Johnson Inn & Suites San Antonio, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.