We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location. Beautiful garden and historic houses.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Marriott Plaza San Antonio

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Marriott Plaza San Antonio to your Saves list
Marriott Plaza San Antonio
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   555 South Alamo Street, San Antonio, TX 78205   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
FREE Wi-Fi
Ranked #47 of 352 Hotels in San Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
Durham, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great location. Beautiful garden and historic houses.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013 via mobile

It's a quiet place in downtown area, with walking distance to the River Walk and the Alamo. Great value when bidding on Priceline. Extra costs are quite high, but I used wifi in the lobby, didn't have breakfast at the hotel and I didn't drive - that made the life much easier. Actually, I don't know why one of my devices can access to the guestroom wifi without login.

The garden, the pool and the historic houses behind the hotel are gorgeous. These makes it stand out.

I don't understand why the bed in my room is a pull-out sofa bed. I confirmed with the front desk that I got a king bed room, but the size is similar to full size. Probably the receptionist allocated it to solo female customers. I don't mind sleeping on sofa bed, but I just think it's a little bit weird - the room is spacious, with 3 sofas but no bed, and, it cannot fit individuals taller than 5'5. I noticed not all rooms look like this. The room is not noisy. It's clean. The balcony looks nice, but the door to the balcony cannot be opened for security reasons. I hope I can sit in the balcony on cool nights, but it would probably make guests too intimate with their neighbors.

The staff are generally friendly, though it took me half an hour to get in my room (the key didn't work twice). Housekeeping staff knocked the door almost every hour on the morning I checked out. They always runs out of the drinking water at the lobby. There is no weight training facilities at the fitness center.

Overall, it's a nice place to stay at given its great location, decent facilities and clean rooms. Beautiful sceneries add extra points.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Maria M, General Manager at Marriott Plaza San Antonio, responded to this review, August 11, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your recent review on Trip Advisor. It sounds as if you were in one of our parlor rooms. We have two parlor rooms which have sofas in them. I apologize for any shock this may have given you. If you booked through a third party, it is booked into a general room selection and will not specify they room type until check in. I will be sure to share this feedback with our front office team, so they may explain it upon check in. Thank you for your understanding in the matter.

I am happy that you enjoyed your stay. Thank you for sharing your photos of your trip as well. The peacocks are beautiful and add so much to the ambiance of the hotel.

Thank you again for your feedback.

Always At Your Service,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review

568 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    243
    203
    58
    43
    21
See reviews for
115
135
33
193
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (140)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Carlsbad, California
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

Loved SA and loved this property. For a Marriott this size, workout room was amazing and the pool area very cool. Staff super super friendly and accommodating. Peacock and other ''birds'' pretty noisy, but a unique addition to a hotel stay.
Hotel room had some odd noise, wasn't sure it was the AC or what, but a small complaint.
Concierge lounge offers smoked salmon for breakfast. Whoo hoo!!!

Room Tip: Garden side awesome
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maria M, General Manager at Marriott Plaza San Antonio, responded to this review, August 11, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you so much for your recent review. I am so happy you enjoyed our concierge breakfast selection. We want to be sure that our guests have many options and I am thrilled you liked the selections.

Thank you for your patience with peacocks. They are beautiful, although occasionally can do their call and it can be startling. Most of our guests feel the same as you, they still add something unique you won't find at any other hotel.

Thank you again for your feedback and we will see you when you come back!

Always At Your Service,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Top Contributor
119 reviews 119 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

I recently spent 4 nights at this property while speaking at a conference held at another hotel. I was initially going to stay at one of the two newer Marriott properties, but decided on the plaza after reviewing the trip advisor comments for this property. While the property is older and the furnishings are worn, the hotel is well maintained. This includes the lobby, guest rooms, Concierge Lounge and the hotel grounds including the 150+ year old buildings that have been turned into meeting rooms, both large and small. In one of my recent reviews, I wrote extensively about the poor attitude of the hotel staff, beginning at the front desk. At the Marriott Plaza, the complete opposite is true. The staff is warm and outgoing, showing genuine enthusiasm when greeting hotel guests. It did not matter if it was the Valet, the front desk team or the roving Lobby resident host (Yes, someone in the lobby to answer questions, offer suggestions and welcome you back home to the hotel).. Some may see this as the role of a Lobby Concierge, but this Marriott takes that position to a whole new level of excellence in guest relations. As for the pool and grounds, even in the extreme heat and humidity of July, the pool area was a nice place to spend time in the evening, relaxing in the cool water and enjoying your favorite beverage. And, unlike other properties that have begun closing up the Concierge Lounge over the weekends, the one at this property remains open for cold water, soft drinks and coffee thru the weekend. As for the room itself, the bed was excellent and the extra towels and refrigerator I always request were already in my room upon my arrival. And, last but not least, the breakfast buffet on the weekend was excellent...

Room Tip: If you are a Platinum Elite Member like me, request a room on the 4th floor near the Concierge Loung...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maria M, General Manager at Marriott Plaza San Antonio, responded to this review, August 11, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for reviewing our hotel after another experience. I am thrilled that you have found that the team was helpful, friendly and wanted to go above and beyond. This is our goal and I am very pleased that you have seen a difference. I know our team genuinely want each guest to have an amazing and memorable experience. Thank you so much for returning and giving us a second chance.

I am happy that you enjoyed the concierge lounge. We do leave this open on weekends for our Platinum and Gold members. Just a little perk to say thank you.

I hope to see you again if your travels bring you to San Antonio! Thank you again for your review.

Warm Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loveland, Colorado
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013 via mobile

Came to San Antonio for Drum Corp Southwest Regionals.

Package deal through Southwest Airlines got me here.

Good location to walk to sights. 10 minutes to River Walk. 15 minutes to Alamo. 15 minutes to Alamodome .

Watch price of restauraunt for breakfast. Buffet for two was $40 plus tip. Good food, ask for made to order omlet.

Parking $23 per night. Internet $13 per day. Be sure to compare total cost.

If you drive at night, expect lot to be full after dinner on July weekend. Park and walk.

Rooms clean, but a little dated. Helpful staff.

Good, but lots of add on costs.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Maria M, General Manager at Marriott Plaza San Antonio, responded to this review, August 11, 2013
Dear LovelandLee,

Thank you for your review of your recent stay with us. As with all full service Marriott properties we do charge for internet. It is free in our lobby and our business center. If the lot is ever full, we will gladly valet our guests car if no spaces are available, at no extra charge. Thank you for the feedback so that we may let our guests know.

I do hope overall you enjoyed your stay with us. I appreciate your business and greatly value the feedback you have provided.

Have a wonderful day!

Warm Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Fort Collins, Colorado
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

This hotel nails 'location location location' with a short, five-minute walk to the riverwalk, Alamo and many other local attractions. It's also got nice grounds, a quaint pool, and peacocks - arguably giving a degree of ambiance lacking with other downtown hotels.

What it doesn't have - are good prices for breakfast, drinks, or parking. Save the $$ on breakfast and on drinks by shopping at HEB or anywhere else before coming to stay. The parking seems a bit of a price-pinch, but that may just be the cost of doing business this close to the center of town.

Lastly - skip dinner and go 200 meters right down S Alamo and enjoy diner at the local taco trailers - you won't be sorry.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maria M, General Manager at Marriott Plaza San Antonio, responded to this review, August 11, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your review on your recent stay on Trip Advisor. I am glad that overall you enjoyed your stay. I apprecaite your feedback on the pricing. We do try out best to be compettive with the other hotels in down town.

I am happy to hear that you loved the location. It is very close to all the attractions and great San Antonio restuaruants.

Thank you again for your feedback. I appreciate you taking the time to share. It only helps us improve.

Have a wonderful day!

Warm Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

Very nice setting for the hotel.
But why do Marriott hotels no have towel bars in the bathroom (same situation in Austin)?
The hotel asks multiple day occupants to reuse their towels, but then does not provide a towel rack for the towel to dry.
The check-in clerk(s) could use a littel personality. e.g. Brittany seemed to be imposed upon by us checking in.
You pay $23 a day for parking and then when you return to the hotel in the evening the parking lot is full.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maria M, General Manager at Marriott Plaza San Antonio, responded to this review, August 11, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback on your recent stay. I apologize if you received anything but excellent customer service. I thank you for your feedback so that it may be addressed with our team to help us improve.

Thank you for your feedback for the towel bars as well. We do have hooks on the back of the door. However, the green program of reusing your towels is completely optional for the guests. If they are not hanging on the towel hooks, we will replace the towel. Thank you for the observation so that we may better communicate on where to hang the towels for our guests.

We do charge for the parking but are one of the cheapest hotels in both self park and valet. Being down town, all hotels charge for parking. I apologize for any inconvenience..

Thank you for staying with us and I apologize to disappoint you in any way.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Prairie, Texas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

This is my 3rd time to stay at this Hotel. Each time we have stayed, it was a very pleasant experience. I love the grounds, the setup of the hotel, and the location. The grounds are beautiful. We love to get away and relax and their amenities are all about relaxation! From the entrance area, to the lobby to the pool/patio area, it is all gorgeous. Great atmosphere. The staff was always very friendly, greet you when they see you and always have a smile on their face. I had a personal experience at the hotel and the staff went above and beyond to assist me!!! The pool area is great for families and/or couples. I love that this hotel has everything there...no need to leave unless you want to do some sight seeing or shopping.

Room Tip: Every room is great! They all have balconies either facing the outside of the hotel or the pool/pat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maria M, General Manager at Marriott Plaza San Antonio, responded to this review, August 11, 2013
Dear Lisa J.,

Thank you for taking the time to share your review. Thank you so much for your loyalty when you visit San Antonio. I sincerely appreciate your business.

I am delighted that each time has been wonderful! Our goal is to exceed our guests expectations; to make each guest feel this is their home away from home. I hope we see you for your 4th visit soon.

Thank you so much again for your review and for choosing to stay with us.

Always At Your Service,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Marriott Plaza San Antonio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott Plaza San Antonio

Address: 555 South Alamo Street, San Antonio, TX 78205
Location: United States > Texas > San Antonio
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#38 Romantic Hotel in San Antonio
#43 Family Hotel in San Antonio
#44 Business Hotel in San Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Marriott Plaza San Antonio 3.5*
Number of rooms: 252
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Otel and Marriott so you can book your Marriott Plaza San Antonio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Plaza San Antonio Hotel San Antonio
Marriott San Antonio
San Antonio Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marriott Plaza San Antonio, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.