We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“bad parking & small room” 3 of 5 stars
Review of O'Brien Historic Hotel, an Ascend Collection Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added O'Brien Historic Hotel, an Ascend Collection Hotel to your Saves list
O'Brien Historic Hotel, an Ascend Collection Hotel
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   116 Navarro Street, San Antonio, TX 78205   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #114 of 352 Hotels in San Antonio
Austin
Top Contributor
136 reviews 136 reviews
77 hotel reviews
Reviews in 73 cities Reviews in 73 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“bad parking & small room”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

Great location. Easy walk to the riverwalk. The parking is limited and difficult to get in and out of the back lot. There is a daily fee for parking.

Our room on the 2nd Floor with the 'city view' was okay but extremely small. The problems I had were at night the flood lights leaked through the curtains therefore the room was not very dark. Also, the lotion was half used. This means it was either used by the previous guest or that they refill the bottles and forgot this one. Rest of the room was clean.

Breakfast was continental (more standard for a lower budget motel but not bad) Not very organized in the lobby. If you would like to eat at a table you must take the elevator to the 2nd floor. There were a few tables set up in the middle of the floor. Seeing that my room was on the 2nd floor I did not like having strangers eating their meal right outside my door.

Not my favorite place but I will say again that the location is great.

Most of the front desk employees were friendly and fully capable of suggesting local activities and dining. The trolley stops right on the corner.

Room Tip: pay a little more to get one of the larger rooms if you have more than one person in the room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

296 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    122
    99
    39
    19
    17
See reviews for
39
97
15
52
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Greenville, South Carolina
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

Nice, quiet, clean with all the appointments of a finer hotel but without the high cost of being right on the Riverwalk. Courteous, knowlegable staff who were pleased to point us toward some of the better restaurants. I will definitely stay here agaqin on my next visit to Sanj Antonio.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

Great hotel, excellent staff. Very limited parking and absolutely no handicap parking if that is a need for you. Great room, but you can hear the road noise because of the old single pane windows. Close to the river walk, but not on the river walk. It is a few blocks away. Breakfast is light, but sufficient. I would choose this hotel again over any of the big chains.

Room Tip: Not on the street side
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montgomery, Texas, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

I stayed at the O'Brien for my first visit to San Antonio. It's centrally located right in the heart of the city, just steps from the Riverwalk. This hotel is what visiting Texas is all about, warm hospitality and spacious rooms, all filled with Southern charm. I accidently made my reservation for the night beforehand, and instead of turning me away they accommodated me when the mistake was all mine. Whenever I return to San Antonio the O'Brien is where I'll be staying, and I hope everyone looking for insight on this hotel does the same.

-Kate

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

I bought a groupon for one night at $89. It was every bit worth it! Hotel is VERY close to riverwalk. Room was ready, clean, and spacious. The bed and pillows were excellent. I would certainly stay again. There is a free breakfast, but it is continental. The room was a little stuffy, but not bad enough to make it uncomfortable. I recommend the hotel!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Regina, SK
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

It's always hard to pick a hotel somewhere you have never been, but the O'Brien lived up to my expectations. It is convenient to the Riverwalk and just far enough away that you aren't kept awake by all the activity of it. It is close to the Convention Center and there is lots of public transit right outside the hotel, so you don't have to walk far. The room was spacious and the beds were comfortable. The breakfast was great, and so was the staff. We would certainly stay there again. We came for the Rock and Roll Marathon and were only 3 blocks from the start line and 1/2 mile from the finish line. The hotel is small so the staff can give you lots of attention.

Room Tip: Ask for a balcony room as the street can be a little noisy at times.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colby, Kansas
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

This historic hotel is in downtown and very convenient to the Riverwalk and all downtown sites. The room was very nice and well kept. When we checked in, the clerk upgraded us to a balcony room. The view was great!! We just parked our car for 2 1/2 days and walked everywhere. We returned to this hotel on our return trip because it was so nice.

Room Tip: you may have to request the balcony room. They do not have a fridge in the room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to O'Brien Historic Hotel, an Ascend Collection Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about O'Brien Historic Hotel, an Ascend Collection Hotel

Address: 116 Navarro Street, San Antonio, TX 78205
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > San Antonio
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #114 of 352 Hotels in San Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — O'Brien Historic Hotel, an Ascend Collection Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Obrien Historic Hotel Downtown Riverwalk offers quiet luxury in the heart of Downtown San Antonio. We are centrally located one block from the famous Riverwalk (which offers an array of restaurants, shops and nightlife) and four blocks from the Henry B. Gonzales Convention Center. You can take a breath-taking walk on the Riverwalk and enjoy the history and magic that San Antonio has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Choice Hotels, AAA Travel Services, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your O'Brien Historic Hotel, an Ascend Collection Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Collection San Antonio
San Antonio Clarion Collection
Clarion San Antonio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage O'Brien Historic Hotel, an Ascend Collection Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.