We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden gem in the middle of San Antonio” 4 of 5 stars
Review of O'Brien Historic Hotel, an Ascend Collection Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added O'Brien Historic Hotel, an Ascend Collection Hotel to your Saves list
O'Brien Historic Hotel, an Ascend Collection Hotel
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   116 Navarro Street, San Antonio, TX 78205   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #115 of 352 Hotels in San Antonio
Regina, SK
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Hidden gem in the middle of San Antonio”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

It's always hard to pick a hotel somewhere you have never been, but the O'Brien lived up to my expectations. It is convenient to the Riverwalk and just far enough away that you aren't kept awake by all the activity of it. It is close to the Convention Center and there is lots of public transit right outside the hotel, so you don't have to walk far. The room was spacious and the beds were comfortable. The breakfast was great, and so was the staff. We would certainly stay there again. We came for the Rock and Roll Marathon and were only 3 blocks from the start line and 1/2 mile from the finish line. The hotel is small so the staff can give you lots of attention.

Room Tip: Ask for a balcony room as the street can be a little noisy at times.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

297 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    122
    100
    39
    19
    17
See reviews for
39
98
15
52
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Colby, Kansas
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

This historic hotel is in downtown and very convenient to the Riverwalk and all downtown sites. The room was very nice and well kept. When we checked in, the clerk upgraded us to a balcony room. The view was great!! We just parked our car for 2 1/2 days and walked everywhere. We returned to this hotel on our return trip because it was so nice.

Room Tip: you may have to request the balcony room. They do not have a fridge in the room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississauga, Canada
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012 via mobile

I stayed here for 2 nights at the beginning of November. Hotel was clean and service desk was helpful. I was dissapointment when I found out the website is incorrect when it says there is an exercise room. When I asked they said I would have to walk 9 blocks to the facility but that I would be given a complimentary pass. Great location close to the riverwalk. Room smelled a little musky but was clean otherwise.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brasilia, DF
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

Very well located. Calm and charmful, it has parking right across the street. Very close to the Riverwalk. Nice rooms! Wifi works properly. Friendly staff, very helpful and kind. Calm neighborhood, in despite the hotel is located in the very Downtown San Antonio.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kerrville
Top Contributor
197 reviews 197 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

This small hotel a few blocks from the riverwalk has spacious rooms. The back side rooms are very quiet, we had a front room last stay and the street was noisy. Used a Living social Coupon this stay and received the great rate of $89 plus $10 parking and taxes.

Room Tip: Back rooms are quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
League City, Texas
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

Great little boutique hotel. Slow time of year...no issues parking, but the lot is behind the hotel and only accessible by a narrow alley next to the front of the building....so slooow down as you approach the hotel or you will pass it! Beautiful room, the hotel and room smelled fresh and was immaculate. Carpeting in our balcony room appeared new and the linens were updated--no bedspreads. Loved the little vanity extras.

The lady at the front desk (night shift) was of no help at all. Apparently she needed to be on the phone with private conversation...both times I came downstairs, talking loudly enough for me to hear the conversation. I believe she was the same person who took our reservation earlier tgat evening and she was very short-wanted to get off the phone very quickly and did not give me a chance to ask questions. It was clearly not full the night we were there, so maybe she was bored...i don't know, it just did not sound professional.

Other than that very small observation, a WONDERFUL HOTEL! Close to the riverwalk (less then a block); upscale rooms and decor; room service is available via a contracted company-which alot of small hotels do now adays. Would definitely come back.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012 via mobile

After reading reviews, we were hesitant to stay. Oh boy, I'm glad we stayed. The service, the rooms, the location & the value were great. Close to the Riverwalk. Only bad thing about the place was parking. But they have a few parking lots right across the street.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to O'Brien Historic Hotel, an Ascend Collection Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about O'Brien Historic Hotel, an Ascend Collection Hotel

Address: 116 Navarro Street, San Antonio, TX 78205
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > San Antonio
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #115 of 352 Hotels in San Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — O'Brien Historic Hotel, an Ascend Collection Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Obrien Historic Hotel Downtown Riverwalk offers quiet luxury in the heart of Downtown San Antonio. We are centrally located one block from the famous Riverwalk (which offers an array of restaurants, shops and nightlife) and four blocks from the Henry B. Gonzales Convention Center. You can take a breath-taking walk on the Riverwalk and enjoy the history and magic that San Antonio has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, AAA Travel Services, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your O'Brien Historic Hotel, an Ascend Collection Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Collection San Antonio
San Antonio Clarion Collection
Clarion San Antonio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage O'Brien Historic Hotel, an Ascend Collection Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.