We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First Time Staying & Loved It” 4 of 5 stars
Review of San Antonio Marriott Rivercenter

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added San Antonio Marriott Rivercenter to your Saves list
San Antonio Marriott Rivercenter
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   101 Bowie Street, San Antonio, TX 78205   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
$25 Daily Credit
Ranked #78 of 352 Hotels in San Antonio
Pearland, Texas
Top Contributor
163 reviews 163 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“First Time Staying & Loved It”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

I have been to San Antonio many times for business but this was the first time I've stayed at the Marriott Rivercenter. Check in was a breeze, the staff were all very nice and helpful and the room was clean and very comfortable. I will be staying in San Antonio again in a couple of months and have already booked my next stay at this hotel based on this experience.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

882 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    357
    333
    124
    47
    21
See reviews for
145
127
33
450
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (234)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nevada
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

Location, location, location! We did have to walk through the other Marriott to get to the convention center, but the San Antonio Marriott Rivercenter is the better of the two locations I think. We could literally walk into the mall directly from the hotel. From there we could walk out a corridor to the Alamo's square and further shopping and touring. We could also step right out onto the River Walk. Every type of food choice from fast food to upscale dining is within 30 seconds to 5 minutes of the hotel. From the front desk to maid service we were well treated. The room decor was lovely and the beds very comfortable. There is no refrigerator as is becoming more common in hotels and Wifi was not free either. I would definitely stay here again.

Green Features: Towels are exchanged using the policy that if you hang it up you are willing to be environmentally-friendly and they will not be exchanged.
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clarkston, Washington
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

I stayed in this hotel for 7 nights for a convention. The service was fantastic, the rooms were nice (although not as large as I had hoped) and the location was VERY convenient to the Rivercenter Mall, AMC theater, and River Walk. I was disappointed there was no refrigerator in the room (especially staying so many nights) and while the food was excellent at the hotel restaurant, it was expensive ($20 for breakfast).

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick M, Guest Relations Manager at San Antonio Marriott Rivercenter, responded to this review, July 15, 2014
Dear Racergirl67,

I'm glad you had a fun stay during your convention. As you found out, we are conveniently located to just about everything you’d want to do while staying on the beautiful River Walk. Thank you for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richlands, Virginia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014 via mobile

Left my portable charger on charge in my room as I left to go see the beautiful sites San Antonio's River Walk has to offer. I came back but no charger, and the maid had came and made the bed and replaced towels. I find it very suspicious, since the same thing happened to my family right next door

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick M, Guest Relations Manager at San Antonio Marriott Rivercenter, responded to this review, July 11, 2014
I’m very sorry to hear of your experience at the Marriott Rivercenter. Please accept our sincere apologies. Although it is not a common occurrence, nonetheless, it is a very troubling one. Thank you for bringing this to our attention. If you would like to discuss this in more detail, please call the main hotel number so we can discuss.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheyenne, Wyoming
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

A beautiful place to stay. Close to river walk and many other attractions. Bell captain and concierge services were always willing and able to direct me to the best restaurants and attractions. Rooms are comfortable. Only flaw was the swimming pool. Not the most desirable area to be. No drink or food service. Water was dirty.

Room Tip: Ask for something with a view other than the parking lot.
See more room tips
Green Features: Only changed sheets every third day which is OK with me.
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014

Fourth of July FANTASTIC! While this isn't the "heart" of the river walk, I think you'd have a hard time finding more convenience. A mall walk away from the Alamo, Ripley's, Guinness, or the river boat tours - and the River Center Mall. Not to mention all the shops, bars, restaurants that the river walk has to offer. Having it surrounded by convenience stores was also a plus - for times you just want a few things (drinks/snacks) to take up to your room. Also some fantastic restaurants are just outside the back door. This was our 2nd time here, and it was great. --- Also ALL of the staff seem very friendly, interested in your stay AND passionate/happy about their jobs and the hotel and city. It was great to be surrounded by people genuinely happy that you're there.

Room Tip: High rooms (24-37) have an express elevator. Rooms on the west side have a look-down view of the ri...
See more room tips
Green Features: I rated them a little higher than average. Dual flush toilets, and no fresh linens for multiple day stays, and that the room lighting by wall light switch is limited. Lamps light up the room, but you're less likely to use all of those at once, like you would a wall switch. I appreciated that.
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, Texas
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014

We are enjoying a stay in The San Antonio Marriott Rivercenter during the July 4th holidays. The proximity to the Alamodome, and our 30th floor suite, made for a nice view of the city's fireworks show, as well as fireworks all over the city!

This hotel is well-equipped for conference visitors, but also perfect for families who want to get to points of interest in downtown and surrounding areas. Our room is spacious and clean, and has all we needed for our stay. Kudos to the polite and friendly staff throughout the hotel who seem to take pride in making this a great Marriott.

Room Tip: East side of the building, high floors for a good city view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to San Antonio Marriott Rivercenter? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about San Antonio Marriott Rivercenter

Address: 101 Bowie Street, San Antonio, TX 78205
Location: United States > Texas > San Antonio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Spa Hotel in San Antonio
#15 Luxury Hotel in San Antonio
#31 Romantic Hotel in San Antonio
#52 Business Hotel in San Antonio
#83 Family Hotel in San Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — San Antonio Marriott Rivercenter 4*
Number of rooms: 1001
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your San Antonio Marriott Rivercenter reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Antonio Marriott Rivercenter Hotel San Antonio
Marriott San Antonio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage San Antonio Marriott Rivercenter, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.