We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It is not bad, but it is not special either.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of San Antonio Marriott Rivercenter

Save Saved
You added San Antonio Marriott Rivercenter to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
San Antonio Marriott Rivercenter
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   101 Bowie Street, San Antonio, TX 78205 (East Side)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points
Ranked #70 of 350 hotels in San Antonio
Rio de Janeiro
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“It is not bad, but it is not special either.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

Ok, the location is great, I must admit!!!! Right there at the Riverwalk! But I expected more for the price paid. I had previously stayed at the Fairfield Inn Alamo, which is a cheaper Marriott hotel and honestly, when you think about the room, they are pretty much the same: new, clean, but with no minibar. And it cost much more!The service was not that good at the Marriott Rivercenter, because the hotel was so crowded that it just felt like Las Vegas without the special environment. This is just a big hotel that does not have the charm that San Antonio does...

Room Tip: Unfortunately, I got a room close to the elevator. It was a bad experience, because you hear the eng...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

761 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    308
    289
    106
    39
    19
See reviews for
129
112
30
384
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (187)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tampa,Florida
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

Staying here for a convention and everywhere you go in this hotel, you are met with smiles and greetings. The room is a typical Marriott room but the lounge and its' offerings were very nice. The location provides close proximity to local attractions and restaurants. Overall, a nice place to stay.

Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marshallville, GA
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

This hotel is just a big conference spot. If you are not going to a conference here, stay somewhere else. There are better smaller hotels for the money. When a conference lets out in the afternoon be prepared to wait 20 minutes for an elevator. Before a conference begins in the morning the line at the coffee shop is again 20 mins. Overpriced for the smallish rooms. The staff are trained well however.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Ohio
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

I am currently staying at the Rivercenter for a convention. The staff is awesome, and the food is definitely better than 90% of hotels. It's a great location, within walking distance of the Alamo, Riverwalk, the mall, and multiple restaurants/bars. During our event, Wanda has gone above and beyond to make things runs smoothly. Anything we asked for, she was two steps ahead of us. I would definitely recommend the Rivercenter for your next convention or vacation.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellsville, KS
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

While this hotel was very adept at handling the convention I attended here, I would also bring my family here for a vacation on the Riverwalk. San Antonio is one of our favorite cities and the Riverwalk is always enjoyable. Check in was fast and efficient, room was fine, maid service was great, and when we needed the bill seperated at the end there was no problem. The meals during our meetings were decent and the Starbucks in the lobby was quite tasty.

Room Tip: HIgher floors have braoder views
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, Alabama
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

I am puzzled by the lofty reviews of this property. I gave it 3 stars b/c it is an average property in almost every way. It is in a decent location for sightseeing--albeit on the spur coming off the main riverwalk loop--but that makes it very close to Alamo and convention center, which likely explains why it is flooded by conventioneers and tourists. The Rivercenter mall which it is attached to is a really tourist trap with junk food outlets and shops that appeal to teens. If thats your thing, its OK. Its in no way quaint or enjoyable like the other tourist areas.

The room was small and cramped. there are NO balconies on this property (the neighboring Riverwalk Marriott does have some). Our room had a view of parking lots. Internet service sucked and they charge for it, even if you are in the conference center downstairs. It was decorated in a very basic bland style with very standard amenities. The pool was closed, without warning ahead of time. The gym was adequate. The restaurant Sazos was adequate for Breakfast but I wouldnt bother with it for any other meal (tip: leave the riverwalk for decent food and service--recommend FEAST).

The one major bright spot is the staff. Kudos to all of them that we encountered over a 3 night stay. Every single staffer I met was pleasant and helpful. Nice job by management keeping these folks motivated to serve guests when other service industry members on the riverwalk could care less (ie waiters at Boudros!)

Would not return despite great staff. The price and what you get just doesnt justify it...

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013 via mobile

It was an amazing hotel! It was very clean and fancy. Also it was attached to a mall Which was very convenient so you wouldn't even have to leave the hotel to get the mall. The pool at the hotel was heated and felt lovely. This was one of the best hotels I've been to!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to San Antonio Marriott Rivercenter? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about San Antonio Marriott Rivercenter

Address: 101 Bowie Street, San Antonio, TX 78205
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > San Antonio > East Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Spa Hotel in San Antonio
#15 Luxury Hotel in San Antonio
#38 Business Hotel in San Antonio
#41 Romantic Hotel in San Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — San Antonio Marriott Rivercenter 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Marriott, Travelocity, Tingo, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Hotels.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your San Antonio Marriott Rivercenter reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Antonio Marriott Rivercenter Hotel San Antonio
Marriott San Antonio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage San Antonio Marriott Rivercenter, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.