We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The place to stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of San Antonio Marriott Rivercenter

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added San Antonio Marriott Rivercenter to your Saves list
San Antonio Marriott Rivercenter
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   101 Bowie Street, San Antonio, TX 78205   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book early and save 20%!
Ranked #78 of 353 Hotels in San Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
Natrona County
Level Contributor
115 reviews
96 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“The place to stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

We had a really nice stay at this hotel. Had an early flight into San Antonio and were able to check into our room earlier than expected. In fact, we were offered our choice of a view room or one away from the elevator. Although we were located on a floor with 2 "party" suites, the rooms seem to be soundproofed to some degree and our white noise machine took care of the overflow noise.
Not sure when the last update occurred but our room seemed nicely done and clean. Vanity is outside of the bathroom which is around the corner from the sleeping area and worked very well in not disturbing the later sleeper. Room would seem small for 4 people and their luggage, but fine for 2 of us. Would be great to have a fridge and wifi in the room.
The employees at this hotel seemed to have had some really nice training. We were there for 5 nights and encountered many pleasant employees throughout the hotel. There always seemed to be a manager overseeing the lobby & greeting guests. Orlando, the concierge who helped us in multiple ways, went above and beyond to assist us. We really appreciated him.
The location is great with the mall within a few steps and everything was beautifully decorated for Christmas. We would not hesitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Takemeaway79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,139 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012

Overall nice hotel. Great location. Very clean. However, rooms are small, no microwave/mini fridge etc. View is bad..overlooking I-10 highway. Right next to mall which is awesome. Will try a different place next time just to compare. Price wise it's very cost effective.

Room Tip: Corner room would be best...but they fill up quickly...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TravelDreamworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
141 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012 via mobile

We had a pleasant stay in this hotel. We were in a suite on the top floor to have a panoramic view over the Alamo. Its location is unbeatable--Alamo, Rivercenter, River cruise and Tower of America. Also a walking distance to Main Plaza, San Fernando Cathedral, Majestic Theater.... There are very good restaurants in Rivercenter or inexpensive ones for a quick bite. If we visit San Antonio we will stay in this hotel again.

Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank leo88copper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monterrey, Mexico
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012

The location is the best. Walking distance of Rivercenter Mall, Restaurants and Bars. The staff is great, they were able to find us two rooms without reservation, having a huge convention was taking place, this is a nice gesture to notice. I would only complain about three things: No complimentary wifi (only lobby), indoor pool was cold and valet service a little expensive. But I will still go back. The views for the river with Xmas decoration are priceless!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JoseLuisAngeles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thousand Oaks, California
Level Contributor
233 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012

Stayed here one night for business this past week and everything was top notch!

Everyone working there was extremely friendly. They game me an amazing corner room on the 28th floor overlooking the rivercenter. The room was large and bed was extremely comfortable.

The concierge lounge for elite members had a very nice happy hour from 5:30-7:30 and wide selection of breakfast items in the morning.

Parking was $25/day which I felt was extremely high however there is metered parking right on the street next to the hotel, which I used instead.

I would give this property 5 stars and would definitely stay here again the next time I'm in San Antonio.

Room Tip: If available, ask for an upper floor overlooking the rivercenter or riverwalk.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mrstats69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Groveton, Texas
Level Contributor
30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012 via mobile

We stayed Thanksgiving weekend for Distinguished Youth of Texas. The location is fabulous. The room was spacious and comfortable. Only bad thing was laptop case was dropped at some point and damaged our computer. Marriott is working with is to resolve. I would highly Recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RodLang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brookings, South Dakota
Level Contributor
95 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

My husband and I really enjoy our 5 nights at the Rivercenter. They didn't have a King room the first night we were there, but graciously moved us the next day for the remainder of our stay. Lauren at the front desk was fabulous to work with and our house keeper Lei kept our room perfect and neat. Drinks in the bar were expensive, but it didn't stop from having a minimum $200 bar bill per afternoon there. Servers in "The Bar" were very slow and could have sold many more drinks if they would have just asked. Elevators were always moving. The longest I waited for one was 5 minutes and had to ride "down" to go up. Pool was very inviting and I enjoyed one afternoon there. However, I wished the hot tub would have been up and running. Gift store didn't have Benedryl so my husband had to run to CVS. I was having an allergic reaction and could have used it sooner. Overall, enjoyed our stay. I would stay here again. It is close to the Rivercenter Mall, Henry Gonzalez Convention Center and the River Walk too!

Room Tip: If you want a River Walk view make sure you ask for it. If not, you will be facing the freeway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank maelee23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Antonio hotels
Downtown
Marriott San Antonio Riverwalk
Marriott San Antonio Riverwalk
#97 of 353 in San Antonio
4.0 of 5 stars 896 reviews
East Side
The Westin Riverwalk, San Antonio
East Side
Omni La Mansion del Rio
Omni La Mansion del Rio
#17 of 353 in San Antonio
4.5 of 5 stars 2,500 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Grand Hyatt San Antonio
Grand Hyatt San Antonio
#34 of 353 in San Antonio
4.0 of 5 stars 1,976 reviews
East Side
Hilton Palacio del Rio
Hilton Palacio del Rio
#24 of 353 in San Antonio
4.5 of 5 stars 1,909 reviews
East Side
Mokara Hotel and Spa
Mokara Hotel and Spa
#1 of 353 in San Antonio
4.5 of 5 stars 1,024 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to San Antonio Marriott Rivercenter? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about San Antonio Marriott Rivercenter

Address: 101 Bowie Street, San Antonio, TX 78205
Location: United States > Texas > San Antonio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in San Antonio
#17 Luxury Hotel in San Antonio
#38 Romantic Hotel in San Antonio
#58 Business Hotel in San Antonio
#71 Family Hotel in San Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:4 star — San Antonio Marriott Rivercenter 4*
Number of rooms: 1001
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your San Antonio Marriott Rivercenter reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Antonio Marriott Rivercenter Hotel San Antonio
Marriott San Antonio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing