We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of San Antonio Marriott Rivercenter

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added San Antonio Marriott Rivercenter to your Saves list
San Antonio Marriott Rivercenter
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   101 Bowie Street, San Antonio, TX 78205 (East Side)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
$25 Daily Credit
Ranked #73 of 353 Hotels in San Antonio
Austin, Texas
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“Excellent location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

We have used this hotel for each of the four years we have done the Rock and Roll Half Marathon. The staff is very friendly and the hotel is clean and very well run. The valets are wonderful and helpful even if the price for valet parking is a little steep (38 bucks a night). The hotel is huge with a great meeting area in the lobby with a restaurant and bar and a Starbucks. It is right nest to the Riverwalk and convenient to everything touristy including the Alamo. The beds are excellent and the hotel is very clean. In four years, we have never had a bad experience. It is a little pricey (205 bucks a night for a double room plus 38 bucks a night for valet parking plus federal, state, and city tax. One night with one car was 280 bucks). We were on the 11th floor, and my brother, who was on the 25th floor, had a gorgeous view of the city. I would recommend this hotel for its great staff, clean rooms, and convenience to the Riverwalk and other attractions.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

861 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    351
    327
    116
    46
    21
See reviews for
143
126
33
438
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (229)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

All in all not a bad hotel, but for the price ($220/night) you can do better. It's clean, the staff was friendly and the one meal I had at the restaurant was good. The room itself provided most of the disappointment. The hotel was built in 1980 and I swear some of the furniture (desk, nightstands, etc.) is original. Very bland and scuffed up. The refrigerator, which was just sitting out all by itself looked like it had survived a fall from the 33rd floor and was so noisy I had to unplug it. The layout of the room was inconvenient too. Add in lack of in-room coffee maker, $13/day for wi-fi, and no breakfast and it all adds up to not getting what you pay for. Motel 6 has better amenities.

Room Tip: Room 3310m has a very nice balcony with table and chairs
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, Nebraska
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

Stayed for four nights due to a conference in the hotel.

Pros:
- the beds are amazingly soft. Lots of pillows. Bedding was very luxurious
- staff was incredibly friendly - maintenance people said hello
- room was spotless clean
- room had a very nice and easy to use safe for storing items
- hotel lobby is very nice and accommodating
- located along the riverwalk

Cons:
- pricey. I paid $184 a night with a conference rate. With taxes it was over $200 per night.
- no coffee maker in the room
- No airport shuttle - it is a $25 taxi ride to the airport (about 15 minutes)

Room Tip: Currently (Nov 2012) they are replacing the roof of the hotel. They have a letter in the room comme...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

My stay took place during the Bands of America Super Regionals. It's a great location since its in walking distance to the Alamodome and on the river walk. When I walked in I was greeted and then directed to the desk. The desk clerk was very friendly and told me her name and that she would be working until (xx) if I needed anything. She said that check in was 4:00 (it was 3:45 and I had requested early check in...) and what she had open was next to the elevator. I told her that I would rather not have that room (not knowing how many high school bands might be staying there) and I could wait, no problem. She typed a bit more and said that she had a corner room on an upper floor.
When I first arrived to my room I could tell maintenance was in the room so I waited down the hall for about 10 minutes until they were finished. The carpet in the hall was covered in plastic so I was a little worried about what was going on. In the room there was a letter explaining that some renovations were going on and there might be some slight disturbances. The room was pretty with a nice corner view, good lighting and a large desk. But no time to stay!
As I left the hotel to walk back to the Alamodome I stopped to ask the valet how late they were on duty since I didn't expect to be back until after midnight and I had left my car and luggage at the Dome. He said they worked all night. I arrived back to the hotel at 1:00 am. No valet. Luckily there was a spot in the garage that was near the door (but man that garage is an extremely tight squeeze around the corners. Don't know if I could have done it in my suburban). I had to stop by the desk to exchange the garage ticket and mentioned no valet and she seemed surprised so maybe I caught him on a break.
The bed was very comfortable and I slept well. I would have happily stayed in bed all day if I could have. There was some construction type noise/weird pipes in the morning but not until 10 or so and it wasn't bad, especially since I was aware that it may be going on.
The hotel didn't feel very crowded. The Grand Hyatt directly across the street was packed to the rafters and felt like it (my daughter was staying there).
I've stayed here a few times now and I like it. The staff are always friendly, the rooms clean and it's convenient to the places I like to visit. It may be a little pricy for family travel but I think it's great for couples or a weekend getaway.

Room Tip: I like the higher floors. You can see all over the city.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
colorado
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

A very beautiful hotel. Great meeting space. Most staff were super, but in this hotel, not all staff we super helpful. The ladies that worked at the starbucks in the lobby were consistently not very friendly. Rooms are very clean. Location is excellent. Food was average for meeting functions. A great hotel overall for holding a meeting. Attendees will enjoy location for sure.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eugene, Oregon
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

The Riverwalk/Alamo area is a must see for any San Antonio visit. The Marriott River Center Hotel is situated right in the middle of this area. Close to everything. We were on the 31st floor. No issues with smoke, noise or renovations. Nice view of River walk. It is pricey to stay there. We paid $1020 for 4 nights, which is not unexpected for that location. The one big rub was the additional $12.95 per day internet access charge they wanted to levy. This is a hotel that has a lot of business/conference traffic that is already paying BIG bucks to stay there, and they want to add another $50 to the $1,000 room bill? We didn't do it. Interestingly, we extended our stay at Sleep Inn and Holiday Inn after the conference ended. Half the price and wifi and breakfast included for free.

Room Tip: We stayed in 3133, view of River Walk.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Good location, with direct access to the Riverwalk and downtown San Antonio. Added plusses: convention facilities; Starbucks in lobby; spacious and comfortable lobby, great for meeting and conversing with colleagues. Downside: you have to pay for wireless internet access.

Room Tip: Request upper floor, facing toward downtown.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to San Antonio Marriott Rivercenter? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about San Antonio Marriott Rivercenter

Address: 101 Bowie Street, San Antonio, TX 78205
Location: United States > Texas > San Antonio > East Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Spa Hotel in San Antonio
#15 Luxury Hotel in San Antonio
#30 Romantic Hotel in San Antonio
#46 Business Hotel in San Antonio
#82 Family Hotel in San Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — San Antonio Marriott Rivercenter 4*
Number of rooms: 1001
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Reservation Counter, BookIt.com, Otel, Odigeo, Marriott, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your San Antonio Marriott Rivercenter reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Antonio Marriott Rivercenter Hotel San Antonio
Marriott San Antonio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage San Antonio Marriott Rivercenter, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.