We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Like Any Other Marriott” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Marriott San Antonio Riverwalk

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Marriott San Antonio Riverwalk to your Saves list
Marriott San Antonio Riverwalk
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   889 East Riverwalk, San Antonio, TX 78205 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
FREE Wi-Fi
Ranked #121 of 352 Hotels in San Antonio
Atlanta Georgia
Top Contributor
232 reviews 232 reviews
102 hotel reviews
Reviews in 85 cities Reviews in 85 cities
543 helpful votes 543 helpful votes
“Like Any Other Marriott”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2007

I spent three nights at the San Antonio Riverwalk Marriott earlier this sprint. Don't have much to really contribute. Marriotts have a fairly consistent product. Nothing Special, Nothing Bad. The location was very convenient to the Alamo and the Riverwalk night life. If there is something else to do in San Antonio, I didn't find it.

  • Stayed June 2007, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

703 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    184
    252
    171
    72
    24
See reviews for
112
135
27
327
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (254)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
parker, co
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2007

I was rather nervous about staying at the Marriott Riverwalk after reading the reviews. But I was VERY pleasantly suprised! My husband and I were guests as part of a large convention. We were greeted by a nice and knowledgable staff. They had our reservation and room ready! We travel quite a bit and we found our room rather small, but cozy. Quiet too! The bed was very comfortable. Room service breakfast was VERY good. Try the almond granola. The staff at the pool were so kind and helpful. Actually, ALL the staff at the entire hotel really made our stay a pleasure. Room was clean and housekeeping was very diligent about meeting our needs. We would definately return to this hotel.

Stayed May 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2007

I was here as part of a large coporate conference. As already stated
- the location is good - you can access the riverwalk and easily go to dinner or shopping. You can also pick up the water taxi from here.
Average mall across the street. About a 10 minute walk to the Alamo. Roughly a 15 minute ride to the airport.

That said - even looking around at other average hotel brands - their
facilities appeared to be more recently built. Even this brand has a newer facility directly across the street, Marriott Rivercenter.

Rooms were "ok" - comfortable and clean, but worn. The beds were a bright spot as they have upgraded all the linens and pillows - which made for a comfortable sleep. This hotel is far enough down the riverwalk to be away from the noise.

As part of a corporate trip - or if you get a good price on Priceline.com - this is a decent place to stay. Breakfast buffett looked good. They have a quick cafe downstairs which serves Starbucks
- inlcuding speciality drinks and muffins.

Don't book this location if you are going for a destination/special event as there seems to be plenty of other charming hotels further down the riverwalk with tons of charm.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Facility needs an update.
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts
Top Contributor
135 reviews 135 reviews
59 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
250 helpful votes 250 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2007

The location here was great, being right on the Riverwalk. We chose this marriott over the newer one because it has balconies which the other doesn't. We had a room on the 19th floor overlooking the river, and used the balcony a lot. The room was average size with comfortable bedding and a smallish bathroom. Nothing bad about it, just nothing outstanding. The soundproofing was not good. We could hear trucks beeping in the early morning. Also, our friends were in the adjoining room and there was no need to ever call them-we could just knock on the wall and talk right thru it!!! There is a nice indoor/outdoor pool area on the 7th floor, with a large area for outdoor sunbathing. There is a small gym as well, but didn't use it as I got plenty of excercise just walking the riverwalk in the early morning.

  • Stayed February 2007, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, NC
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
156 helpful votes 156 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2006

For a Marriott, I would say this is an average property. The location is spectacular. That's the best reason to stay here. It's right on the Riverwalk, across the street on one side to the Convention Center and on the other side to RiverCenter Mall. Marriott Riverwalk also faces a sister Marriott property, Marriott RiverCenter, which is newer and nicer and priced about the same. The two marriotts are right in the thick of the action and are two blocks from the Alamo and within a block of a trolley stop.

The Marriott Riverwalk itself is aging, and not necessarily well. But the beds are still very comfortable and service is good, especially considering that the property was completely booked during my stay.

The rooms have no refrigerator, but do have a coffee maker and room service is available.

I was not bothered by construction noise when I was there (for a week in late December) but construction was under way and will continue for awhile on a new Hyatt (?) across the street. Ask for a room facing AWAY from the Convention Center, as that is the area of construction.

There is an indoor/outdoor pool on the 7th floor and a separate whirlpool. The pool/whirlpool area are open late and have an attendant on duty at all times with towel service. There is also a decent gym on the same floor with small locker rooms.

I did not eat at the restaurant hotel, as there must be 100 restaurants within a stone's throw. Be sure to eat some authentic Mexican while in town. I tried -and recommend - both Rosario's and Mi Tierra, neither of which are on the Riverwalk, but are within walking distance. The world's largest Starbucks (it's two-stories) is a couple blocks away if you need a coffee or music fix.

If you're looking for a non-chain hotel, you might try The Menger, which is a block away (across from the Alamo). It's a beautiful historic hotel. Or, if money is no object, try the Watermark, a gorgeous property a few blocks further down the riverwalk.

  • Liked — location
  • Stayed November 2006, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midland, GA
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
168 helpful votes 168 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2006

We were at the San Antonio Marriott Riverwalk for 4 nights in early December. It was not as nice as what we had expected - the rooms are on the small side, the carpeting is quite dated as is the bathroom floor tiles.

The bathroom is so small even one person in there feels quite closed in (you have to shut the door to sit comfortably on the commode or have the door hit your legs).

We were upgraded (for free due to being a Marriott gold member) to a river view, which is nice but the traffic/noise at night is a bit much when trying to sleep. The closet is very narrow and your clothes hang lopsided.

We had the breakfast buffet $15.95/person and it was ok...nothing special in my opinion but I guess worth the cost seeing how the egg/bacon/bread breakfast is $12.95.

The location to the riverwalk is very nice as all you do is step outside the door and you are there so you have a lot of food establisments to go to. There is also the river center mall right across the street.

We were here for a meeting - we would not stay here again.

  • Liked — The location to the river walk.
  • Disliked — The small bathroom and outdated flooring
  • Tips/Secrets — Stay at the Marriott River Center right across the street.
  • Stayed December 2006, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Texas
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2006

I stayed here with two colleagues for a seminar in late September 2006. The hotel staff was courteous, the rooms were well-apportioned and well designed. I did have two problems, though during my stay. (1) My room was on the east side of the building, with a view of a parking garage and the Alamodome. Across the street, the Henry B. Gonzalez Convention Center is being added on to. The construction went on all night. While that isn't under Marriott's control, one colleague who also was on the east side reported being kept awake much of the night by the noise. Our other colleague, whose room was on the west side, didn't. So, if you have a choice, ask for an even-numbered room (as those are on the west side of the building). (2) During the night my toilet started running continuously. After I contacted the front desk, they sent a technician up to repair it. Total time from call til resolution: 15 minutes, which I consider quite good.

All and all, this is a wonderful hotel, though its age shows around some edges (the Marriott Rivercenter across the street is newer). Its staff is superb. Its location allows you immediate access to the Riverwalk near Rivercenter Mall, and to the Convention Center, so you it's a great place for work or leisure.

  • Stayed September 2006, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Marriott San Antonio Riverwalk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott San Antonio Riverwalk

Address: 889 East Riverwalk, San Antonio, TX 78205
Location: United States > Texas > San Antonio > Downtown , East Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Spa Hotel in San Antonio
#16 Luxury Hotel in San Antonio
#58 Romantic Hotel in San Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Marriott San Antonio Riverwalk 4*
Number of rooms: 512
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelTravel.com, BookIt.com, Marriott, Orbitz, Odigeo, Hotel.de, EasyToBook, Hotels.com and getaroom.com so you can book your Marriott San Antonio Riverwalk reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott San Antonio Riverwalk Hotel San Antonio
San Antonio Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marriott San Antonio Riverwalk, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.