We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Huge rooms, great view, convenient location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Marriott San Antonio Riverwalk

Save Saved
You added Marriott San Antonio Riverwalk to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Marriott San Antonio Riverwalk
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   889 East Riverwalk, San Antonio, TX 78205 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save up to 20%
Ranked #110 of 352 hotels in San Antonio
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Huge rooms, great view, convenient location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

While in town for an Air Force graduation, we stayed in this hotel. Our room was quite large with a balcony overlooking the riverwalk. Unfortunately, it was also right next to the elevators. This didn't affect us too much as we were exhausted each night. My husband and I loved the bed and pillows! We also appreciated the thoughtful room service. I used the gym several times and it was quite busy each morning, but I was able to use the equipment without problem (I also loved the eucalyptus chilled towels in the gym).

Stayed September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick M, Manager at Marriott San Antonio Riverwalk, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
Thank you for posting your review. I’m glad to know you and your husband enjoyed your stay. Our rooms certainly do offer a great view of the beautiful River Walk. I’m also glad you liked the nice touch to our gym towels. We look forward to being of service to you the next time you are in San Antonio.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

573 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    150
    205
    151
    54
    13
See reviews for
90
110
24
265
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (207)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mesquite, Texas, United States
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

Picked this hotel because it is across the street from the convention center and assumed that my needs would be met by a Marriott at this price. Wrong! The beds were comfortable and the room was clean, but the room was very shabby with worn carpet. That wouldn't have bothered me so much, but there was no refrigerator and the ice machine on my floor was not working. The food here is priced beyond believability.The restaurant is not open in the evening, and the desk clerk suggested that to find a restaurant I would have to walk to the Mariott Rivercenter. Never mind that it was pouring rain.I finally settled on a vegetarian pizza from room service which cost $25 with the service charge and delivery fee. Wifi should be free in the rooms. I would not stay here again. There are several other hotels much better within walking distance of the convention center.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick M, Manager at Marriott San Antonio Riverwalk, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
Thank you for posting your review. I’m sorry to hear you did not enjoy your recent stay. We will be undergoing a rooms renovation in the near future which will feature a more modern product. I hope you will give us another opportunity to be of service to you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013 via mobile

Very nice room, clean and fresh. Room service was fast and the food was hot, restaurant was wonderful - great service and food, beautiful view of the Riverwalk. Elevators are slow if you stay on the upper floors but overall outstanding.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick M, Manager at Marriott San Antonio Riverwalk, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
Thank you for your lovely review. Glad you were able to stay in one of our balcony rooms with the fabulous views of the River Walk. And thank you for sharing with everyone the great service you received. All the best.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reno, Nevada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

My husband and I were in San Antonio in August for a convention. Luckily the host hotel was the Marriott Riverwalk. Very convenient to everything on the River, a short walk to the convention center and attached to the Mall! I could shop and relax while my husband went to meetings. In the evening we tried several restaurants on the river but actually enjoyed the Mexican food at Rosario's which is on Alamo Street. Of course we had a ball at Durty Nellies on the River. The Marriott is a great place to stay if you want to be in the center of things. Very helpful employees, great service, good food and fantastic beds.

Room Tip: We had a room off to the side with a view of the Riverwalk. Very nice and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick M, Manager at Marriott San Antonio Riverwalk, responded to this review, September 27, 2013
Oh so many choices to eat on the River Walk, Rosario’s is definitely a favorite of the locals as well. I’m glad to know we offered great service during your stay. I hope you will give us another opportunity in the near future to be of service to you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Euless, Texas
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

We have stayed here previously and are big Marriott fans. The hotel is nice and, as always, Marriott beds are the most comfortable ever! The bathroom vanity definitely needs more lighting but overall everything was very clean and comfortable.

The location is great. We had a room on the 23rd floor overlooking the Riverwalk. Across the street is the Rivercenter Mall and the Marriott Rivercenter. If you have a choice, stay at the Riverwalk. A quick elevator ride and a few steps down and you're strolling the Riverwalk. It's especially fun around Christmas with lights everywhere and carolers on the barges.

We ate at Rita's which was disappointing. The food wasn't passable but the service was definitely not good. We got our food and didn't see the server again until we found someone to track her down. Missing food, no drink refills, no smiles....until we were presented with the bill. We saw our first smile then.

What makes this Marriott stand out is the staff. Everyone is so friendly and works so hard to accommodate everyone's wants and needs. They will remedy any issue, minor or major, with a smile and a quick resolution. It is so rare these days to see this type of service and it is much appreciated. We will return!!!

Room Tip: Ask for a room on a high floor facing the Riverwalk.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick M, Manager at Marriott San Antonio Riverwalk, responded to this review, September 27, 2013
Thank you so much for your lovely review. Our staff indeed works hard to accommodate everyone’s needs and wants, it’s our way of hosting you brilliantly. It will be our pleasure to host you brilliantly on your next visit, so please come again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Old Bridge, New Jersey
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
74 hotel reviews
Reviews in 73 cities Reviews in 73 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

+ coffee maker in room
+ room seems well cared for
+ real glasses
+ toilet has two flush levels
+ iron and board
+ rooms made up promptly
. free wifi in lobby ~0.3 Mbps
- big swings in room temperature, gets very hot then blasts with cold air
- cable TV but poor selection of stations
- no grab bar in shower- friend put in three rooms before he found one in which the plumbing was not broken
- wi-fi $15/day in rooms- no fridge
- no microwave
- small cramped rooms
- very little drawer space
- thin walls, voices from other rooms surprsiingly loud in room
- note says earplugs in drawer but none
- skimpy coffee fixings
- neighbor taking shower sounds like in your bathroom
- no breakfast
- prices very high

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pflugerville, Texas
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

Beds are comfortable and the room was exceptionally clean. There are two separate buildings, even though they are both the same Marriott. I recommend the Riverwalk even though it's an older building. I just bought a brand new truck and was concerned about letting valet park my vehicle, but I was more concerned about theft in a public parking lot. The valet took great care of my truck, gave me directions to get around downtown, and called taxis for my friends who didn't have a car. Great place to stay.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RobertRam, Director of Sales at Marriott San Antonio Riverwalk, responded to this review, September 20, 2013
Thank you for your review. I’m glad that we put your anxiety at ease with your new truck. Our valet staff is very professional and always ready to be of service. We hope we have the pleasure of serving as your host again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Marriott San Antonio Riverwalk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott San Antonio Riverwalk

Address: 889 East Riverwalk, San Antonio, TX 78205
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > San Antonio > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Spa Hotel in San Antonio
#16 Luxury Hotel in San Antonio
#58 Romantic Hotel in San Antonio
#80 Business Hotel in San Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Marriott San Antonio Riverwalk 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, BookIt.com, Tingo, Otel, Hotels.com, Reservation Counter, Marriott, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Priceline so you can book your Marriott San Antonio Riverwalk reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott San Antonio Riverwalk Hotel San Antonio
San Antonio Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marriott San Antonio Riverwalk, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.