We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun weekend getaway in a clean hotel with nice staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Marriott San Antonio Riverwalk

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Marriott San Antonio Riverwalk to your Saves list
Marriott San Antonio Riverwalk
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   889 East Riverwalk, San Antonio, TX 78205 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
FREE Wi-Fi
Ranked #122 of 352 Hotels in San Antonio
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Fun weekend getaway in a clean hotel with nice staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

-Walking distance to Riverwalk
-Whole building and room quite clean
-Amenities are functional and what is expected from advertisement
-Walls kind of think because I heard the next door TV pretty good in my room and when I walked by their room in the hallway it was only faintly heard.
-I don't much care about appearance but it was very pretty
-Staff was friendly
-Pool was really nice when I went early in the day
-I put terrible on spa because travel advisor made me rate it but I really don't even know if this hotel has a spa, if so I did not go it that one.

Room Tip: Just ask about the view when you check in and base your room choice off of that info.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

701 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    184
    252
    169
    72
    24
See reviews for
112
134
27
326
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (254)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

Other than prime location, not a lot of good things to say about this place. The beds are uncomfortable. The amenities are lacking: no free WiFi (always a slap in the face to customers to make them pay $13 a day for WiFi), no coffee in the room, poor breakfast selection. Also, paper thin walls... At least our neighbors seemed to enjoy themselves. For the rate, I expected better.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

In looking over the reviews, they are quite mixed, from downright poor to excellent. I am a Marriott Gold member, so I have seen my share of Marriotts. For a Marriott, it's below average. The lobby is nicely decorated, and it has a nice central location. Thats the good. Overall, the hotel has seen its day, very outdated once on your way past the lobby. First impression is the dirty, stained, smelly carpets on way to the room. The room itself was small, with a tiny bathroom, less than adequate shower, and old decor. The worst parts however were the bed and the noise. I felt like I was sleeping on an old lumpy carpet, and with every move there was a creek - really, did these beds come from a youth hostel?? The noise was probably the worst on record. Its not because its located in the city (I was also at the Marriott next store with no noise issues), its because it is very poorly constructed with paper thin interior and exterior walls. So, if you love the sound of traffic, and love to hear your neighbors, this might be the place for you (they do provide complimentary ear plugs for those not interested in these sounds at night). There are tons of hotels in the area, I would try something fresh and new!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarioJBass, Guest Relations Manager at Marriott San Antonio Riverwalk, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Thank you for being a member of Marriott Rewards, we appreciate your loyalty. We take all comments such as yours very seriously and we apologize that your stay with us was not what you expected. Hotel room packages and décor are continually changing to stay functional and fashionable. Our parent company, Marriott International is constantly researching new products that will distinguish all our different brands. We will expect to see a new more modern product at the completion of our next room renovation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis, Tennessee
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

Nice Property located on the Riverwalk, convenient to all of downtown San Antonio. Courteous staff. Great for Fiesta week. Higher floors recommended for noise considerations. Many restaurants within convenient walking distance.

Room Tip: Select a room overlooking the Riverwalk!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amman, Jordan
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013 via mobile

Location is great.. Central .. Few steps away from convention center.. There is an amazing mall as well in the hotel.
Customer service.. Room service is really perfect.
Clean.. High standard.. Modern rooms.. Very comfortable.
The whole building is non smoking. If u r a smoker choose a room with balcony.
Highly recommended.

Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

Great location. You are right on the Riverwalk, the best location in San Antonio. The rooms are clean, and comfortable. The front desk clerks are very friendly, and accomodating. This is the only hotel I will stay at everytime I come to San Antonio, for either business or pleasure!

Room Tip: Ask for Enrique. He is very attentive, and customer service oriented.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

OK, so this is the kind of hotel the people will stay at no matter what due to the location (convention center, riverwalk, mall) so here are a couple of things to take note of to make it the best experience possible.

Pros:
* Nice view westward with large balconies (I stayed in room 1606) but I still can’t see the full Riverwalk from balcony, just the extension coming up to the hotels. Also note that only the Westward facing rooms have balconies, Eastward facing rooms appear to not have balconies.

Cons:
* Décor never updated since the 70s
* Older of the two Marriotts in the vicinity
* Balcony doors are not double-paned, very thin and don’t block noise very well. If you are a light sleeper and are on the West side, especially on floor 16 or below, run the fan all the time to help with noise, otherwise you’ll be interrupted by outside bar/pedestrian laughter, train whistles and cars honking. Here’s an obvious indication that this is an overall concern with this hotel; included in the room is two pairs of earplugs with the following note on the nightstand “For a restful sleep, silence the sounds of the city. Ear plugs from the San Antonio Marriott Riverwalk! (Located inside the drawer).” All they need to do is double-pane the balcony sliding door and this wouldn’t be a problem. I’ve stayed at a very busy downtown Marriott in San Francisco which had noise-blocking windows and I couldn’t hear a sound outside.
* Staff and service are at the lower end of what you’d expect for a Marriott
* Shower head not adjustable, only sprays fine sharp streams, not pleasant on the face

Next time, I’ll try to stay at either the Marriott RiverCenter or Grand Hyatt, both are next door to the Marriott Riverwalk. The Riverwalk has slightly better views if your room is facing the West, but it is also much closer to the noise of the outside pedestrian traffic. None of these hotels offer any more convenience to the Riverwalk. The Marriott RiverCenter is obviously located in the mall and the Grand Hyatt is located in the Convention Center but honestly, they are all so close together it doesn’t matter too much.

Also note, the mall is kind of "ratty" and really not worth spending much time at.

For a cheaper alternative try La Quinta it's a block away on the RiverCenter side and still very convenient to everything.

Honestly, what can you say about a hotel that uses deodorizers in the hallways. Usually these are used in bathrooms. Obviously, this hotel is getting kind of old and needs a refresh.

Room Tip: West side rooms appear to all have balconies with a great view of downtown. East side rooms appear t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarioJBass, Guest Relations Manager at Marriott San Antonio Riverwalk, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
I was sorry to hear that you found your recent experience at the San Antonio Marriott Riverwalk disappointing. We appreciate all feedback and I welcome the opportunity to discuss your experience in more detail. Please feel free to get in touch with me at your convenience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Marriott San Antonio Riverwalk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott San Antonio Riverwalk

Address: 889 East Riverwalk, San Antonio, TX 78205
Location: United States > Texas > San Antonio > Downtown , East Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Spa Hotel in San Antonio
#16 Luxury Hotel in San Antonio
#58 Romantic Hotel in San Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Marriott San Antonio Riverwalk 4*
Number of rooms: 512
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelTravel.com, BookIt.com, Marriott, Orbitz, Odigeo, EasyToBook, getaroom.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Marriott San Antonio Riverwalk reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott San Antonio Riverwalk Hotel San Antonio
San Antonio Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marriott San Antonio Riverwalk, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.