We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Disappointing!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Marriott San Antonio Riverwalk

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Marriott San Antonio Riverwalk to your Saves list
Marriott San Antonio Riverwalk
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   889 East Riverwalk, San Antonio, TX 78205 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save up to 25% in Texas
Ranked #117 of 352 Hotels in San Antonio
Level Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Very Disappointing!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

This hotel is by far not deserving of the marriott name! It is old, outdated, and has mold growing on ceilings in bathroom. I was very disappointed in the amount we paid to stay in such an old drab room. The service was great, food in hotel was good. Room service was excellent. There are better places to stay for location and price on the river walk.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

756 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    205
    276
    176
    74
    25
See reviews for
121
148
28
352
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (270)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
28 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

A few blocks from the RiverWalk and you have a lovely place to stay. The arbor is beautiful - get a room that overlooks it. The pool is clean and not run of the mill, grounds well cared for and beacon you to go outside and enjoy the air! The staff is great and the rooms are clean- beds comfy. We are Hilton people, for the most part, but the Marriott's seem to be more consistently well run hotels.
The downside of this hotel is that the parking fee is outrageous.

Room Tip: Lots of nice local restaurants around- first Friday of the month you can view local artists work at...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

This past March i traveled to San Antonio for the first time to attend a wedding on the San Antonio Riverwalk. I had booked the Marriott Riverwalk two months in advance and was assigned a room on the 30th floor adjacent to the elevator bank. And the 4 elevators never stopped transporting guests from floor to floor all night long. I should have known I was in trouble when I spotted a set of ear plugs on my night stand with the following card: "For a restful sleep, silence the sounds of the city. Ear plugs from the San Antonio Marriott Riverwalk!" Being on the 30th floor - no sounds could be heard from the city - only the constant noise generated by the elevator pulley mechanisms. The staff who responded to my request for a room change rudely suggested that I use the ear plugs provided. She insisted that there were no other Marriott rooms in the entire city of San Antonio. Only when I escalated the problem to the Manager was a room located in the Marriott across the street. So at 2:00 AM I packed up and moved to a new hotel. Needless to say, this was my worst Marriott experience in a very long time. As a gold card member, I stay in a lot of Marriotts for business throughout the year. Clearly management knows that the elevator noise is a problem and I should have been given a choice. Luckily the city of San Antonio and an awesome wedding made up for the poor Marriott experience.

Room Tip: Stay as far away from the elevator bank as possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrenton
Level Contributor
80 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

The rooms were clean, well maintained, and spacious. The hotel is convenient to the convention center (across the street) and the Riverwalk and mall are literally right outside the doors. For the price and for business, my only complaints were the limited internet access (only 24 hours are complimentary) and the lack of a coffee maker in the room.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canandaigua, New York, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Made a reservation 6 months in advance but when I arrived March 29th I was given the wrong room. I moved to a different room, but still not right. Saturday morning Alex took care of everything and gave me free breakfast every morning and more Marriott points. The room she gave me was great. Floor 16, balcony, view of the city and Riverwalk. It started out rocky but she completely diffused the situation and made me a happy camper. It's nice to know someone knows how to turn a sad situation into a happy one.

Room Tip: Go high with a city view, otherwise you're looking at the buiding next door.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013 via mobile

What a great location to stay! It is right on the Riverwalk, but removed from the hustle & bustle. The staff were phenomenal, especially James in the concierge lounge! My only "complaint" would be the size of the room, especially the bathroom. But, I didn't go to San Antonio to spend my time in a hotel room.

Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
28 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013 via mobile

The hotel provided outstanding customer service throughout my entire stay over Easter weekend. This hotel is perfect for those attending events at the Henry B Gonzalez Convention Center, Lila Cockrell Theatre, and the Alamodome. Our king size room was a bit tight, however the balcony with view overlooking the Riverwalk and the San Antonio Skyline made up for it. There are plenty of places dine nearby as well as a Starbucks coffee shop in the lobby. I'm really glad we stayed here and will be back.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Marriott San Antonio Riverwalk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott San Antonio Riverwalk

Address: 889 East Riverwalk, San Antonio, TX 78205
Location: United States > Texas > San Antonio > Downtown , East Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Spa Hotel in San Antonio
#16 Luxury Hotel in San Antonio
#54 Romantic Hotel in San Antonio
#99 Business Hotel in San Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Marriott San Antonio Riverwalk 4*
Number of rooms: 512
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Odigeo, EasyToBook, Hotels.com and Marriott so you can book your Marriott San Antonio Riverwalk reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott San Antonio Riverwalk Hotel San Antonio
San Antonio Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marriott San Antonio Riverwalk, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.