We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“With Location Comes a High Price, but why is the Internet so bad?” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Marriott San Antonio Riverwalk

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Marriott San Antonio Riverwalk to your Saves list
Marriott San Antonio Riverwalk
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   889 East Riverwalk, San Antonio, TX 78205 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Up To 25,000 Points
Ranked #116 of 353 Hotels in San Antonio
Houston, Texas
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“With Location Comes a High Price, but why is the Internet so bad?”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

The location good, the property is a bit aged, the rooms functional. Not large, but comfy as one would expect from the top of the line Marriott flag. Internet not free, but connectivity poor! My cell phone had better connection time! When I inquired, I was connected, presumably to a call center where the poor chap lacked the most basic English langauge skills ! At about $200 a night, I would expect Marriott to employ someone on the spot, to "fix, make right, create goodwill, or simply make one's stay more pleasant.

Room Tip: I was here for a seminar on the site. If doing this on my own, I have alway found Courtyard by Marr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

624 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    164
    222
    161
    61
    16
See reviews for
100
115
25
292
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (232)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sellersburg, Indiana
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

Excellent location & top quality service. I was pleasant surprised at the level of quality and the level of professionalism of the staff. The resturants overlooking the riverwalk were spacious and the outside eating areas very clean.

Room Tip: Ask for the river walk view
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plainville, Connecticut
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

Nothing really bad nor good to say about this convention-center hotel except that you really can't do much better location-wise. If they are not hosting a bid convention when you are going, you should be able to get in on Priceline for very little money, in which case it is absolutely the best place to stay. I paid $75 a night (rack rate 4 times as much) for three nights.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

I was at a Conference for the International Facility Managers Association in San Antonio between October 30th and November 2nd and stayed at this hotel. It was really convenient to the Convention Center and the Riverwalk, so the location was great. The front desk staff were professional and very helpful and the lobby looked much as you would expect from a major brand hotel.

The problem hit me when I got off the elevator on a high level of the hotel [ yes I have good status with this brand ] dirty hallways. Although the room was a good size I can honestly say I have never seen carpet in a 4 star hotel so poorly maintained. IT WAS FILTHY. There were at least three very noticeable stains that could have been anything from coffee to soda to – you don’t want to know.

Do yourself a favor – stay at one of the other hotels near the convention center in San Antonio.

Room Tip: Higher levels if you must stay here are better - lots of noise from the Riverwalk
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Top Contributor
141 reviews 141 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012 via mobile

Stayed while attending a conference in the same hotel. It's a nice place and the rooms are nice. It's big and I had trouble in some areas getting phone reception (which is a big deal and several people mentioend it). Overall my stay was nice and I really have no complaints, but... In the conference area, it seems like they skimped on places to sit down and talk to someone. That's part of why you go to a conference is to talk to people, but you either have to go to the lobby or stand... More chairs please...!

Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carrollton, Texas
Top Contributor
210 reviews 210 reviews
58 hotel reviews
Reviews in 77 cities Reviews in 77 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

Great location across the street from the conference center and on the river walk. Our king bed had a trench in the middle of it. Maybe time to replace some of the mattresses? Great view down the river walk on the 7th floor. Bellmen are great. Guy that watches for car services is a does not have any listening skills. I was waiting for a car service and wanted to sit inside until they arrived. Rather than listening to me explain what I wanted him to do (for a tip), as soon as he heard car service, he told me to go to the front desk to order a car. Duh ... I already had one. He didn't get a tip.

Room Tip: Ask for river view. Ask if there is a newer mattress.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Texas
Top Contributor
171 reviews 171 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 88 cities Reviews in 88 cities
107 helpful votes 107 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

I offered my teenaged nephew a weekend driving trip of his choice, He selected San Antonio and wanted to stay at the Riverwalk. So even though I do not stay here I reserved for he and I.
We arrived at a slow time and were greeted warmly. The bell service and checkin were good. Our room was on an upper floor and it seemed the hotel was nearly empty. Yet our request for a balcony room overlooking the river was not honored.
The good things are that the rooms are comfortable, the beds and linens nice, the distance to the Rivercenter Mall with shopping and entertainment is short.
I had forgotten how loud the traffic and people can be in downtown San Antonio. I spent much of the night listening to cars tires squealing and engines being revved.. The next morning (too late), I found the complimentary ear plugs the hotel provides, in the bed stand drawer.
One last thing, Marriott seems to have joined the airlines in nickle and diming you. My one night $169.99 room ended up costing $233+ after the various taxes and the one valet park at $33 before tips.
The stay was OK but for the money my wife and I have found much better nearby.

Room Tip: Rooms on the river side have balconies which are nicer than those on the other side. Look for the ho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Marriott San Antonio Riverwalk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott San Antonio Riverwalk

Address: 889 East Riverwalk, San Antonio, TX 78205
Location: United States > Texas > San Antonio > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Spa Hotel in San Antonio
#16 Luxury Hotel in San Antonio
#61 Romantic Hotel in San Antonio
#86 Business Hotel in San Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Marriott San Antonio Riverwalk 4*
Number of rooms: 512
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, AAA Travel Services, Marriott, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, BookIt.com, Despegar.com, Reservation Counter, Hotels.com and Tingo so you can book your Marriott San Antonio Riverwalk reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott San Antonio Riverwalk Hotel San Antonio
San Antonio Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marriott San Antonio Riverwalk, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.