We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dirty, damp, smells not worth $100 stay elswehere” 1 of 5 stars
Review of La Quinta Inn San Antonio Market Square

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added La Quinta Inn San Antonio Market Square to your Saves list
La Quinta Inn San Antonio Market Square
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   900 Dolorosa St, San Antonio, TX 78207-4540   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #107 of 352 Hotels in San Antonio
andrews,tx
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Dirty, damp, smells not worth $100 stay elswehere”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2010

Wow what a disappointment, the room was old with warn carpets and a run down bathroom. Although I could of put up with that if it wasn't so damp and smelly. Everything in the room was damp and all our clothes in the wardrobe became damp and smellt. The gap under the door was a couple of inches so the room had cockroaches coming into it. I've stayed in some better hostels than this. The breakfast was okay and the location is close to the riverwalk. I'm amazed that they charge $100+ per night for it - trust me it's poor.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

258 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    101
    74
    44
    21
    18
See reviews for
107
50
14
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
austin
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2009

We have stayed at all three LQs near the River Walk and this location is our favorite. It was looking well worn but it has been refurbished. Our room was updated with new beds and furnishings. This location is right across the street from the Market, but you will have to walk at least four or five blocks to the RiverWalk (it is an easy walk). The doors to the rooms open to the outside. It has always felt safe, although I have never stayed on the "backside". Pet friendly.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, TX
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2009

My family and I stayed at this hotel for 3 nights. We had 3 rooms booked, so I can say that my review is consistent for all 3 rooms. In fairness, there were a few positive points:
* very good location; right across the street from the Market Square and within walking distance (although it is probably a good mile) to the Riverwalk. It is also on the bus/trolley route to the River Walk if walking that distance is a problem.
* the parking is free
* the free breakfast was not great - but it was free food to start your day
* the free internet service, and it worked by the pool area too

Here are the negatives:
-The rooms are small and the furnishings very dated and dirty.
-The bathroom is so tiny that you almost have to stand on the toilet or in the tub in order to close the door. Definitely not for the claustrophobic!
-The rooms are the dirtiest, filthiest rooms I have EVER stayed in. The floors/carpets were so dirty that if you walked 5 steps in socks or barefoot, the bottom of your feet were literally black.
-The sink and tub were never wiped out or cleaned the entire 3 nights we stayed there.
-The coffee products were never restocked once used on the first morning.
-The amount of hair in the bathroom was absolutely disgusting!

For $100 per night, it is absolutely NO value. The only thing you are paying for is the location to the market square, which isn't that spectacular. Bottom line: This hotel is definitely NOT up to La Quinta standards.

Oh, and one other tip: if you decide to order pizza to be delivered from your hotel room, don't order from Chicago. Horrible service, messed up order, and double the delivery time quoted!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington TX
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
196 helpful votes 196 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2009

Short 6 day getaway with my 8 yr old daughter over Christmas break. We live in Arlington TX. We went down to do the Riverwalk. I've stayed at other hotels there and none are as surprisingly great as this one! This one is right on the Market Square. Fantastic shopping and great food. Entertainment and portrait painting. Desserts and souvenirs. I didn't realize it was a hop and skip next to Market Square. And then two hops and skips next to beautiful red antique trolley stop that you take 3 blocks (3 minutes) to Downtown Riverwalk. I've paid $300 night to stay right on riverwalk and I wasn't impressed. I paid less than $90 a night at this La Quinta and had a blast.

We brought our two cats with us and were allowed to stay per La Quinta's pet policy. We rose every morning to free coffee in our room and free coffee and hot waffles and breakfast in the lobby. Great parking. FREE Wi-Fi. Awesome customer service. Clean rooms.

All in all, I will absolutely be staying here again when we come to SATX!

  • Stayed December 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pasadena, Texas
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2009

My husband and i stayed here for sping break w- our 3 kids. We originally booked for 2 nights, but checked out after the first. We would have left as soon as seeing the room, but every hotel in the downtown area was booked. The rooms smell like mildew. There was pubic hair on the toilet and in the bath tub. The carpet turns your socks black. There was a strange looking beetle type bug in the bed ( we found in the morning) .that's the picture. Everyone was sick the next morning after breathing in the moldy ac air. The trees all around the propety were filled with birds which pooped all over everyone's cars and the parking lot. this place was disgusting. I think all the "cleaning people" do is take out the trash and make up the beds.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2009

WE stayed here 5 nights including a weekend. Breakfast was busy on the weekends but overall this was very good value stay. Walked to Riverwalk area several times and felt quite safe, particularly if you get onto the riverside walk as soon as possible. Easy to get to and easy to get to Missions by car.

  • Stayed February 2009
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, CA
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2008

BEWARE the location of your specific La Quinta!
There are 4 other La Quinta Inns in like a 6-block radius.

There's nothing impressive about the hotel or the rooms. Since I stayed by myself in the hotel room, I was given the handicap room. (2 doors away from the lobby, wheelchair ramp in front of the room, HUGE bathroom [but no bathtub], and plenty of walking space in the room itself). Employees were pretty friendly and accomodating, decent service.

The room wasn't impeccably clean, but I felt comfortable staying in it. The bed was a queen size and was fairly comfortable. I slept well and was consoled by the gazillion pillows on the bed. I liked the channels the tv received, a marathon of CSI, NCIS, and Friends kept me pretty entertained late at night. No microwave or refrigerator in the room. The bathroom was pretty large -to accomodate wheelchairs- however, the because of the handicap room, the shower only had a small ramp to separate the bathroom floor from the shower floor (which eventually flooded my bathroom every shower I took). I used my towels to dry the floor and still had enough towels to dry myself. Housekeeping did come in to dry up the flood and restock my towels.

The continental breakfast is served from 6-9am. Boiled eggs, juice, cereals, and individually wrapped muffins.. make your own judgment. A plus was the waffle maker, you can make yourself yummy, fluffy waffles in the shape of Texas!

A bigger plus was the fact that Market Square was literally across the street. My boyfriend and I had dinner at La Tierra which was absolutely delicious. Also, just a 10 minute walk to the Riverwalk and the Alamo.

Overall, okay service, okay room, okay stay. It satisfied what I needed, which was simply a clean place to sleep at night.

  • Liked — Location
  • Stayed October 2008
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to La Quinta Inn San Antonio Market Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Quinta Inn San Antonio Market Square

Address: 900 Dolorosa St, San Antonio, TX 78207-4540
Location: United States > Texas > San Antonio
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#44 Family Hotel in San Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — La Quinta Inn San Antonio Market Square 2.5*
Number of rooms: 122
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, LaQuinta, Hotels.com, AAA Travel Services, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your La Quinta Inn San Antonio Market Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Quinta Inn Market Square Hotel San Antonio
La Quinta Market Square
La Quinta San Antonio
San Antonio La Quinta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Quinta Inn San Antonio Market Square, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.