We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Market Sq” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Quinta Inn San Antonio Market Square

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added La Quinta Inn San Antonio Market Square to your Saves list
La Quinta Inn San Antonio Market Square
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   900 Dolorosa St, San Antonio, TX 78207-4540   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #103 of 352 Hotels in San Antonio
A TripAdvisor Member
“Market Sq”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

I hv stayed at this location numberous times and each time I hv been treated with kindness and respect. The staff is excellent from days to nights. My last stay was business and stayed there for 1 month during there busy time with SA rodeo. I had 3 rooms and they took care of my company ( evergreen) with the ultmost precessional courtesy . Thank you market sq location.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with La Quinta

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

258 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    101
    74
    44
    21
    18
See reviews for
107
50
14
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Ignacio, Belize
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

My three-night stay in this hotel was disappointing because I lost confidence in what I thought was a chain of hotels offering acceptable and economical accommodations. Everything was fairly unremarkable until I turned on the hot water and discovered it required a 15-minute wait before the ice cold water began to warm. I was probably too impatient to wait for truly hot water, but when I stepped out of the shower I immediately turned on the heat. Big mistake. How or why I don't know, and don't care to know, but someone had urinated in the unit and when the heat was turned up the odor was sickening. I don't think it was fresh, and what followed convinced me it wasn't a new problem.
When I reported the problem to the front desk clerk he appeared unfazed and somewhat indifferent despite the inconvenience of my repacking and physically changing rooms. In the tortured course of events I was given non-functional room keys four times yet still no offer to help. This fellow is about a third my age and I had flown up for medical reasons, so I can't say I appreciated him lecturing me about room keys. I noticed he didn't write anything down about the foul smelling heater, either.
The next morning I asked to speak with the general manager, Rick Flores. He was unaware of any problem. Apparently a foul-smelling health hazard wasn't worthy of mention, but I certainly brought it to his attention. To me, he didn't appear very alarmed either. I noted the inconvenience and discomfort of changing rooms, and playing musical chairs with non-functional room keys, lack of hot water, and all-but-inedible breakfast, plus the blast of nasty air in my face. His response? "What would you like me to do about it?"
I suppose it's a rhetorical question because it involves what I would have liked him to do, which would have been to be more responsible and professional.
My recommendation is to pay a little more and find a nicer hotel in a much more convenient location. This place is off the beaten path - especially at night - and a long way from any decent food.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Texas
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

An older "original" La Quinta but well maintained; friendly staff, clean room, awesome bed! Very convenient location, streets around it a little confusing but that's not their fault. Finally learned my way around after three nights. Would recommend!

Room Tip: I liked my room location, Bldg. C, facing the front entrance and 'Mi Tierra.'
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dodge City, Kansas
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

Okay, the hotel has seen better days, some of the furnishings are worn, scratched and the building is showing its age. But look beyond these flaws for a good, economical stay in San Antonio. We had a problem with one of the rooms we booked. Some in our party didn't arrive until later in the day, and the only room available for them in the class they booked was a smoking room. This wasn't acceptable, and I pointed out that I had checked in and pre-paid for both rooms much earlier in the day, asking at that time that the second room be assigned. The front desk offered a solution...a free upgrade to a studio suite! We very much appreciated the gesture, and the rest of our three day stay went on without hitch. Staff were all pleasant, and the continental breakfast is what you'd expect each morning.

Head across the street to Market Square, the Mexican market for food and shopping. You'll easily spend two to three hours, or perhaps a whole day here!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

Even though it is located by a hospital it was a very peaceful night. The staff was very friendly and the rooms were very clean I would definatly reccomend to stay here. I will definately be returning.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with La Quinta

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

I flew into San Antonio about to stay a the residents inn put forgot my credit card home so at the airport I made a phone call to this hotel and from the time the person answered my call it was a pleasure the price was below my budget and the hotel and the staff was awesome I plan to be back in feb. THANKS SO MUCH!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with La Quinta

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to La Quinta Inn San Antonio Market Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Quinta Inn San Antonio Market Square

Address: 900 Dolorosa St, San Antonio, TX 78207-4540
Location: United States > Texas > San Antonio
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#39 Family Hotel in San Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — La Quinta Inn San Antonio Market Square 2.5*
Number of rooms: 122
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, LaQuinta, Hotels.com, AAA Travel Services, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your La Quinta Inn San Antonio Market Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Quinta Inn Market Square Hotel San Antonio
La Quinta Market Square
La Quinta San Antonio
San Antonio La Quinta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Quinta Inn San Antonio Market Square, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.