We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Served the purpose.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of La Quinta Inn San Antonio Lackland

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added La Quinta Inn San Antonio Lackland to your Saves list
La Quinta Inn San Antonio Lackland
2.5 of 5 Motel   |   6511 Military Dr West, San Antonio, TX 78227-3615 (Far West Side)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #86 of 352 Hotels in San Antonio
Gautier, Mississippi
Top Contributor
233 reviews 233 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
106 helpful votes 106 helpful votes
“Served the purpose.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

I stayed here to be close to the base for my son's graduation. The lady at the counter was a charm and very helpful. Leaving the hotel for dinner was interesting due to the crazy traffic on Military Dr. A little illegal manuever is necessary. Worse the next morning with all the families headed to the base. Ten minute traffic jam just to get out of the parking lot. Heads up... the gate on this road closes at 5 p.m. so you have to find another route back to your room. The outside was a little dirty but probably because of some of the clientele. The coffee in my room was all decaf. I dealt with it the first morning but got some regular coffee from the desk. The light over the sink started flickering and wouldn't work all the way but they fixed that. Breakfast is a joke. I walked back and forth in the lobby in disbelief for a few minutes before grabbing a cold bagel and heading back to the room. The coffee in the lobby? Yuk. Instant? Checking out Sunday at 4 a.m. was interesting. A security guard and a policeman hanging out in the parking lot told me that if I didn't need a receipt I could leave the key cards on the desk. San Antonio, see ya!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

313 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    128
    103
    38
    21
    23
See reviews for
214
27
18
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Publeo West
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

Stayed there for 5 days for our daughters Air Force basic training graduation. It is just down the street from the base. Staff were friendly and everyday our room was nicely cleaned. The breakfast gets a little crowded in the mornings on Thursdays and Fridays with the AF events going on those days. The only complaint that I would have is the Wi-Fi it's not very fast and doesn't work alot of the time.

Room Tip: Book early if you are going to an AF basic training graduation rooms fill up fast.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Navarre, Florida
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

First off I will tell you that the staff here goes out of there way to accommodate you! We visited San Antonio for my son's BMT grad and I had stayed here before. My last visit I was not as impressed. This time they had redone the rooms and bathroom was fresh and clean. Bed's were very comfortable. Don't forget to ask for a military discount if your active duty or retired! This hotel is located very close to the base so it is great for BMT grad stays and upon your arrival they even give you a grad schedule!

Room Tip: try to get a room around back and if your a light sleeper away from the ice machine!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

staff was always offering to help. even when I was working on my truck I was twice offered tools by two different workers. great location and clean rooms . Asked about local restaurants and was given several to choose from. Was able to get a couple extra hours after check out to get things together, before our trip back.

Room Tip: lol....don't try to make left turn out of parking lot in morning rush hour. It ain't gonna h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lubbock, Texas, United States
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

While the front desk staff was absolutely wonderful, the rest of our La Quinta experience was NOT impressive. The cleaning staff did not take out all of the trash or replenish the cups or the bag in the ice container. The bathrooms were very small, poorly ventilated, and smelled of mold and mildew. The double with fold out couch was spacious and the beds were comfortable, but the lack of cleanliness was a guaratee that I would not recommend this hotel to anyone. Yes, it's within walking distance of Lackland AFB, but it's not that close to the entry gete - doubtful many would have walked that. It is a close drive, but for the price, I would have preferred a slightly longer drive for a cleaner, less run down hotel. Additionally, you would think that a hotel who predominantly caters to the Air Force base graduations would have a much larger lobby for the Continental Breakfast. Sad because I usually have great experiences at La Quinta.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

Traveled to Lackland AFB for Basic Training Graduation. Hotel was very close to the base and had everything we needed. There were seven adults and three children in our party. The staff did everything to make our stay pleasant. The rooms were neat and clean and we enjoyed having the breakfast at the hotel so we were not late for the events.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with La Quinta

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to La Quinta Inn San Antonio Lackland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Quinta Inn San Antonio Lackland

Address: 6511 Military Dr West, San Antonio, TX 78227-3615
Location: United States > Texas > San Antonio > Far West Side
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#40 Family Hotel in San Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — La Quinta Inn San Antonio Lackland 2.5*
Number of rooms: 176
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, LaQuinta, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, AAA Travel Services, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your La Quinta Inn San Antonio Lackland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Quinta Inn Lackland Hotel San Antonio
La Quinta Lackland
La Quinta San Antonio
San Antonio La Quinta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Quinta Inn San Antonio Lackland, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.