We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This is your hotel for attending BMT graduation at Lackland AFB!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Quinta Inn San Antonio Lackland

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added La Quinta Inn San Antonio Lackland to your Saves list
La Quinta Inn San Antonio Lackland
2.5 of 5 Motel   |   6511 Military Dr West, San Antonio, TX 78227-3615 (Far West Side)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #86 of 352 Hotels in San Antonio
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“This is your hotel for attending BMT graduation at Lackland AFB!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2011

Stayed 5 nights at La Quinta on Military Drive for attending BMT graduation Sept. 7th. Room looked clean and smelled clean. It was kept up every day, we had plenty of towels, never lacked anything. Free breakfast every morning beginning at 5:00 a.m. which was very convenient as we were on the go by 5:30 a.m. to head over to the base. Staff was very friendly and courteous. I would stay here again in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

313 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    128
    103
    38
    21
    23
See reviews for
214
27
18
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Anchorage, Alaska
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2011

If you are not big on dogs, request a upstairs unit. Pool and the area around it needs some cleaning and TLC. Rooms are not bad, you get what you pay for. The maid never replenished our coffee or cups our whole 5 day stay. Breakfast is good. Perfect for going to BMT graduation, very convenient location and you can hear Taps playing on the bugle speaker at 9pm every night.

Room Tip: Request upstairs unit if traveling without a dog.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
neverneverland
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2011

This place was more of a motel than a hotel! It smelled like pee and the carpet and restroom was NASTY! We had already made a reservation and had to stay for 2 days! We all kept our shoes on the entire time we were inside the hotel room and didn't DARE look out the window at what might have been going on around us. Would NOT recommend this place at all!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2011

I stayed at this hotel for 5 nights, from 7/27/11 to 7/31/11. My son just graduated from BMT and I was looking for a place that was affordable and close. This hotel met and exceeded my expectations. I requested a room close to the office and everything was perfect. I am not a small woman and I had plenty of room in the shower/bathroom area. You take a right out of the hotel on Military Dr and you are literally 1 minute from the first Lackland gate. I suggest going to the 2nd gate on the left to access the base for graduation on Friday, since it's the closest one to the parade grounds. You are literally right there once you enter the gate...parade grounds are on the right where all of the planes are. The breakfast was good, but it gets very crowded, early. The hotel staff start breakfast early on Thursday and Friday mornings, so you can get there a little after 5am and they will have it ready for you. They are very accomodating to the guests who have loved ones graduating. Other parents stayed at hotels downtown, which were more posh, but they had to fight traffic and I don't think it's worth it. La Quinta has a pool, as well, so I highly recommend it for everyone who is going to BMT graduation. Enjoy!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2011

La Quinta was a great deal and did an exceptional job for the 5 nights (7/28-8/1) we stayed during my boyfriend's graduation from the Air Force. The base is literally a 5 min drive from the hotel or a 10 minute walk, whichever you prefer. The front desk was especially accommodating from checking us in at 2am to giving us phone numbers to cab companies and shuttle services. My king bed was very comfortable and the A/C stayed cold in the hot San Antonio heat. The breakfast is good, although I only had it once. I can't have waffles for breakfast every morning. Also, there's a local watering hole right next door in case you ever need a stiff drink at the end of you day.

La Quinta really exceeded my expectations. Great job!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riverside, California
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2011

I read all the good and bad reviews of every hotel within 20 miles of Lackland AFB and decided to stay at La Quinta Lackland for my son's Air Force Graduation. I must say I was very impressed. The room was clean, the beds were very comfortable, the A/C worked great, and the location is awesome. Just take a right out of the parking lot and your a block from the gate to enter the base! Very convenient for the few days your going to spend with your loved one! Plus- there is a contenintal breakfast and the staff is very friendly and helpful. They even walked around the dining room with a coffee pot re-filling peoples coffee. You don't see that very often. Nice stay for the money!!!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CT
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2011

My family & I stayed at La Quinta from 6/15 - 6/20/11. Although it is not the nicest hotel we've stayed in, or located in the nicest area, it is perfect for the Air Force Graduation at Lackland. The hotel is located right down the street so you don't have to worry about traffic. It is clean enough and the staff is awesome. Every person I dealt with was friendly and helpful. Best place to be if you are visiting Lackland.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to La Quinta Inn San Antonio Lackland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Quinta Inn San Antonio Lackland

Address: 6511 Military Dr West, San Antonio, TX 78227-3615
Location: United States > Texas > San Antonio > Far West Side
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#40 Family Hotel in San Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — La Quinta Inn San Antonio Lackland 2.5*
Number of rooms: 176
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, LaQuinta, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, AAA Travel Services, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your La Quinta Inn San Antonio Lackland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Quinta Inn Lackland Hotel San Antonio
La Quinta Lackland
La Quinta San Antonio
San Antonio La Quinta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Quinta Inn San Antonio Lackland, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.