We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel! Great location!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Omni La Mansion del Rio

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Omni La Mansion del Rio to your Saves list
Omni La Mansion del Rio
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   112 College St, San Antonio, TX 78205 (East Side)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
12% Off! Book Now & Save!
Ranked #16 of 352 Hotels in San Antonio
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Great hotel! Great location!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2014 via mobile

Reasonable price for a great location. Walkable to great restaurants on the river walk; the Alamo; Tower of Americas; etc. didnt need a car. We stayed in a Riverview Room, very well appointed and spacious. Only negative is bathtub is not handicapped friendly.

Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,976 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,150
    478
    184
    104
    60
See reviews for
404
776
50
407
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (335)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Montgomery, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2014

Outstanding Hotel! Fantastic location on the river walk! The charm and elegance of the hotel is unmatched as well as the service, room amenities and spa; except the spa is a short walk across the river and located in another hotel.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, Virginia, United States
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2014 via mobile

We love staying at the Omni's. Our room looked out to the pool area, the room was very clean and comfortable bed. We have no complaints there. This one did not seem on the same level as the two previous that we stayed in. The carpet in the hallways was dirty and needs replaced. The bell staff seemed confused at times. It was a very busy morning so maybe they were not used to that but getting our car seemed to be a difficult task for them that morning. Front desk staff was very professional. We would stay here again for the convenience and comfortable clean room.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lucie A, Manager at Omni La Mansion del Rio, responded to this review, October 23, 2014
Dear KC58SB

We appreciate the feedback regarding this stay in our home.
The carpet hallways are a consistent challenge being exposed to the parking garage, nonetheless, we are doing everything in our power to keep them shampooed and extracted on a regular basis.

In the valet area, we can have some challenging situations due to the rather small entrance / exit to the hotel. If you checked out on a Sunday, which it appears you might have, you will encounter congestion between the hours of 10AM to 12:00 noon.

We apologize for any inconvenience and thank you for the positive comments.
We look forward to serving you again in our home on the Riverwalk.

Sincerely,

Lucie A.
Rooms Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2014

I had mentioned in the comments section when I booked the room that the stay was in celebration of my 20th wedding anniversary and then thought nothing of it until returning to the room to find a bottle of champagne and chocolate covered strawberries (including a card signed by the staff). This certainly exceeded my expectations and thrilled my wife. That alone would have made this a great stay but the room was also very nice, just what you would expect of an Omni although it does retain a historical motif which we enjoyed but could be off-putting to some who prefer something more modern. The location is fantastic; we had a room overlooking the river with a small balcony. We spent quite a bit of time people watching while sipping wine and enjoying the beautiful weather. Due to the close proximity to all of the restaurants and pubs we wanted to go to, we found ourselves walking everywhere which was an added bonus. I highly recommend this hotel and would encourage you to book a room with a view of the river, it’s well worth it.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here 3 nights, finding it to be a great location on the riverwalk. The walk to the convention center was easy, and the walk to dinner and night life was perfect.
There is no breakfast included, but the restaurant here is rated #3 in the city(Las canaritas)
The room was not huge, but had a couple of chairs and a desk. It was immaculately clean. The last historic hotel I stayed at was the Menger, and this is much cleaner and nicer. The beds are very comfortable. You can get free wifi if you join the rewards program, which is fast and easy to do online.
Our favorite hangout became Waxy O'Connors across the bridge over the river. Great food, drinks, and atmosphere. Awesome gelato and coffee place in the Aztec building nearby, too- Rio De Gelato. Loved this location!

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2014

Stayed here in January as part of a business trip. Was excited because it was on the River Walk and the River Walk held special memories for me so was excited to be back. The room was a little small, but so what I didn't go there to live in the room. I was on the front end of the hotel (across from the Planet Hollywood) so it was a bit noisy for the first day I was there but nothing bad enough to make me want to change rooms. Had I been in a room higher than my 2nd floor room it would have not been an issue at all.

I found the hotel very charming (and the history of its origin was interesting if you care to read about it--there was a nice card on room's desk).

The resturant in the hotel was fantastic and the customer services was over the top. I checked in late and didn't really want to brave the cold weather (Jan 20-24th it was unusually cold for Texas) so I opted to dine in. The wait staff were some of the best in the business. What makes me rate them over the top is my new acquired friend and I were just chatting it up when I suddenly realized how quiet it had become...it was after hours but instead of rushing us out the staff just continued to function like they'd just opened the doors. I feel horrible that I didn't realize that they were closed. They were courteous and professional at all times never once asking us to eat up and get out. Of course we apologized and asked for the check so that they could close up, I'm still embarrassed by it did happen.

I was there for a big Pharma clinical trial roll out so experienced multiple meals each day...the food was always great and the staff were friendly and professional. I definately plan to stay there on my own dime when I go back for a visit later this summer.

Room Tip: ask for a higher up room, something with a view of the river walk.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2014

We had a wonderful stay at the hotel. Everyone was very helpful and friendly. We went to a concert at the Majestic and the hotel was very convient to the event. Lovely room location overooking the beautiful San Antonio River. Great place that is centrally located to a number of places to visit and enjoy. Thank you.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Omni La Mansion del Rio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Omni La Mansion del Rio

Address: 112 College St, San Antonio, TX 78205
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > San Antonio > East Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in San Antonio
#5 Romantic Hotel in San Antonio
#9 Luxury Hotel in San Antonio
#14 Business Hotel in San Antonio
#21 Family Hotel in San Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Omni La Mansion del Rio 4*
Number of rooms: 337
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of the top hotels in the city, a historic hotel and Spanish hacienda style hotel, filled with charm & located on the renown River Walk. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Amex, Booking.com, Expedia, Omni Hotels & Resorts, Priceline, BookIt.com, Otel, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Omni La Mansion del Rio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Omni La Mansion Del Rio Hotel San Antonio
Omni San Antonio
Omni Hotel San Antonio
San Antonio Omni
La Mansion Del Rio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Omni La Mansion del Rio, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.