We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Maybe, maybe not” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Omni La Mansion del Rio

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Omni La Mansion del Rio to your Saves list
Omni La Mansion del Rio
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   112 College St, San Antonio, TX 78205 (East Side)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
12% Off! Book Now & Save!
Ranked #16 of 352 Hotels in San Antonio
Calabasas, California
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Maybe, maybe not”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

First time to San Antonio and chose Omni Riverwalk - Le Mansion - from what I read - and its' perfect location on the Riverwalk. I did feel that hotel was disappointing. Many small issues that added up to general disappointment. Hard to rate the hotel since the location is superb but for the price of the room - upwards of $350 a night - this place fell short. The service was not fantastic although the concierge desk people were very nice and helpful. Location of a hotel is very important to me so this was best part. Upon arrival, no one even asked if they could help with luggage! Requested magazine re: the Riverwalk didn't come to room in a timely manner and had to call again about it. Service in small cafe - Morsels - was not friendly and didn't go out of way to accommodate a request. The room was okay - nothing great - a little dismal and in need of some touch up painting! No fridge or safe in room which is disappointing. Email communication from hotel and concierge excellent BEFORE we arrived. Appreciated the online check in service and help from concierge re: restaurant reservations and itinerary. San Antonio is a great place to visit. Don't hesitate to go - just know that you will have a superbe view of the Riverwalk if you select this hotel but may encounter some minor frustrations - just too many for us! Read up on the area and you will get more out of your trip!

Room Tip: Don't accept your room if not to your satisfaction. We were originally given 7th floor and a cor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DanielDelk, Manager at Omni La Mansion del Rio, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
While we are happy to hear that you found our concierge staff to be excellent and the location of our property so ideal, we are very disappointed to learn of the other service lapses you encountered during your stay. We sincerely apologize for this experience as it is certainly not indicative of the level of service we typically provide and expect from all levels of our staff. Your feedback has been forwarded to our management team to review and we do hope this experience does not deter you from considering the Omni La Mansion del Rio for any future stays in our area. Thank you for providing us with this feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,727 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    997
    422
    160
    93
    55
See reviews for
336
688
50
342
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (295)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

The husband and I were in San Antonio for three nights, combining business and pleasure. I loved just about everything here. If you are looking for luxury and opulence, go somewhere else. If you are looking for high-end comfort and charm, this is your place. The room was large with an exposed brick wall and wooden beams along the ceiling. We had a king bed, which was very comfortable. The room included a desk and a love seat, and yet there was plenty of room left to walk around. I especially liked the vanity area outside of the bathroom. The bathroom is a bit on the small side, but with the vanity, I could do my hair and makeup outside of the bathroom while my husband showered. I love a place with turn-down service at night. It's a little added bonus that makes guests feel special, in my opinion. No chocolate on the pillow, however :( I was a bit disappointed with the location of our room, but it really didn't spoil our stay. The room had French doors that opened onto a covered, outdoor walkway. Knowing the history of the building, I could picture students going from class to class. However, I didn't want to leave the door open for safety reasons, but if I wanted a bit of fresh air, I had no other choice. While other reviewers were unhappy with the noise from the Riverwalk or from the pool, our view was of the narrow street behind the hotel. In reality, there was no view. As a few others have mentioned, the elevators are slow, especially the one elevator that we needed to use in order to access our room. I commented that I could bake bread in the time it took to get down from the seventh or sixth floor. It really wasn't a big deal--the building is old. The staff at the Omni are all outstanding. Whenever I saw someone, they always asked if I was enjoying my/our stay and if everything was to my/our satisfaction. One gentleman actually said something about expecting us to return. It was not pushy or obnoxious in any way. I felt that he truly cared about his job and wanted our stay to be so problem-free that we would want to return. We do and we will!

Room Tip: I would ask about the view while checking in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DanielDelk, Manager at Omni La Mansion del Rio, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Thank you for your review! There are many unique attributes of our property due to its historical designation such as room layout and the "laid back" pace of our elevators. We are glad that overall these were not major detractors from the overall enjoyment of your stay and that your interaction with our staff was such a highlight. We hope to see you again when your travels bring you back to San Antonio.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013 via mobile

A historic hotel built in 1854. Spent a couple of nights at this hotel during a business meeting. The location is perfect with convenient access to the beautiful Riverwalk and hundreds of great restaurants. The room is nice and clean, great bed with large pillows, and the staff is extremely nice. Make sure you sign up for Select Guest member to get free wifi. Highly recommended for a nice family vacation.

Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DanielDelk, Manager at Omni La Mansion del Rio, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
We are very pleased to hear your experience at our property was so positive. We're glad you were able to enjoy the beautiful views and history of our city and that the staff provided such wonderful service. We look forward to you joining us again when your travels bring you back to our area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claremore, Oklahoma
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

My son was graduating from AirForce Basic Training, and decided to stay on the Riverwalk. Convenient location, in the center of the historic district. Very clean and accomodating. Service was excellent. Our room faced the courtyard, but was still nice. The staff were excellent. Very friendly and helpful if needed. The building being as old as it is has been very nicely modernized and kept up. We had a King room and was very pleasant. Would highly recommend staying here while in San Antonio.

Room Tip: Rooms on the Riverwalk side would probably be nicer, but will cost extra
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DanielDelk, Manager at Omni La Mansion del Rio, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Thank you for choosing the Omni La Mansion del Rio for your recent visit to San Antonio and congratulations to your son! We appreciate the kind words regarding our location, accommodations, and especially the excellent service you received from our staff and we look forward to seeing you and your family back very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

Great visit. Room was very good. A love seat in the room was a nice touch as my wife and I could sit next to each other. The real winner here is the staff. Every member of the staff was smiling, friendly and helpful. They went out of their way to assist, even walking across the way to get doors.Location is very good and the decor is very fitting. Downside is that elevators are slow.

Overall and excellent hotel and stay.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DanielDelk, Manager at Omni La Mansion del Rio, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
We are very pleased to hear your stay at the Omni La Mansion del Rio Hotel was so enjoyable and that our service left such a lasting impression. Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback and we look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

Attended a conference at the Omni and totally enjoyed my stay. My king room was located on the 4th floor with a private balcony overlooking the pool and courtyard. While this room is smaller than some, it was very comfortable with a desk and desk chair, overstuffed chair and ottoman, flat screen TV, mini-bar and fridge, amble storage drawers, coffee maker with coffee and tea, a nice size closet, iron and ironing board, extra linen, and a well-stocked bathroom. By joining the Omni Select Guest Program (free) a large bottle of water and extra pillow were delivered to my door within minutes of check-in; I was given a choice of free morning beverage and newspaper delivered to my door; turn-down service; and free wifi which worked well. The room was very quiet during the day and night. The direct access to Riverwalk was a plus and it's located near many restaurants, shops, and 2 drug stores. The conference rooms were comfortable and well located to prevent noise from one conference interfering with another. The conference continental breakfasts and lunches were very good and well staffed. I enjoyed many things about this hotel - but the best is the staff. Every staff member I met was pleasant and efficient. And they genuinely seemed to enjoy their jobs rather than just putting on a show for the guests. Great job Omni - keep it up!

Room Tip: The views of the Riverwalk are great but can be noisy especially at night. The views of the pool/co...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DanielDelk, Manager at Omni La Mansion del Rio, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Thank you for your review. We love hearing positive feedback about our staff and are very pleased to hear their genuine hospitality added to an already wonderful stay. Welcome to the Omni Select Guest loyalty program and we look forward to seeing you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

We stayed here at the recommendation of tour books. It used to be a convent, then a college, renovated into a four-star omni. The building is over 100 years old, so the room sizes and hallways are small. You have to expect that the physical structure is old. They are nicely decorated, and the lobby is beautiful. The best part is that you walk right out of the hotel onto San Antonio's Riverwalk. We had a room with wrought-iron balcony overlooking the river. These balconies are tiny and reminded me of New Orleans' French Quarter. The hotel is about a 10 minute walk from the Alamo, and is centrally located. The Omni has a latte coffee shop in the lobby, but there is a 24-hour Mexican restaurant on the riverwalk about 100 yards away. The hotel has a fancy restaurant on site that looks like it is good and popular but a little pricey. There is also a CVS on the Riverwalk. The service is excellent, and it has all the accoutrements of the Omni hotel chain. I would stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for a river view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DanielDelk, Manager at Omni La Mansion del Rio, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Thank you for your review and your loyalty to Omni Hotels & Resorts! We love hearing positive feedback and thank you for taking the time to submit yours. We look forward to seeing you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Omni La Mansion del Rio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Omni La Mansion del Rio

Address: 112 College St, San Antonio, TX 78205
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > San Antonio > East Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in San Antonio
#5 Romantic Hotel in San Antonio
#7 Luxury Hotel in San Antonio
#16 Business Hotel in San Antonio
#21 Family Hotel in San Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Omni La Mansion del Rio 4*
Number of rooms: 337
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of the top hotels in the city, and filled with Spanish charm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Omni Hotels & Resorts, AAA Travel Services, Expedia, Amex, Orbitz, Priceline, BookIt.com, Despegar.com, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Omni La Mansion del Rio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Omni La Mansion Del Rio Hotel San Antonio
Omni San Antonio
Omni Hotel San Antonio
San Antonio Omni
La Mansion Del Rio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Omni La Mansion del Rio, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.