We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Historical & Relaxing” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Omni La Mansion del Rio

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Omni La Mansion del Rio to your Saves list
Omni La Mansion del Rio
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   112 College St, San Antonio, TX 78205 (East Side)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
12% Off! Book Now & Save!
Ranked #17 of 353 Hotels in San Antonio
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Historical & Relaxing”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

This hotel is located right on the Riverwalk. The property's exterior is Spanish in design and holds a great bit of history (formally a boys school). The interior is quaint and has an open court yard area for the ground guest sleeping rooms. The room decor is contemporary with a touch of vintage. You will find exposed brick and beams on the ceiling. You can hear the church bells ringing from St. Mary's church next door. I found that sound very comforting. They do not have a gym or spa but offer a beautiful outdoor swimming pool. The staff is friendly and helpful with suggestions on places to see while visiting this beautiful, fun city. They also own Mokara Hotel across the Riverwalk. Another beautiful property to consider. San Antonio is a great place to vacation..lots of things to see and do!

Room Tip: Try to get a lower level room that allows you access to the court yard/pool area. Or, request a room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DanielDelk, Manager at Omni La Mansion del Rio, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Thank you for your review and we are delighted your stay was so enjoyable. We are glad you were able to soak up so much of the history our property and our city has to offer. While our property does not have a spa or gym on site, our sister hotel that you referenced, the Mokara, does have an award winning spa as well as a large, state of the art fitness center. They are located directly across the river and these amenities are available to all of our La Mansion guests as well. Once again, thank you for your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,628 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    934
    402
    149
    90
    53
See reviews for
319
646
49
323
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (281)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

Had a romantic get-a-way here and it was quite cozy. Good view of the riverwalk within walking distance to The Esquire Tavern (a must do). Great Sunday brunch at the Omni too. We didn't use the pool as it was too cold, but it was adequate, yet small in a beautiful courtyard.

If you are new in town...please note that the Riverwalk is pretty but unfortunately it is overrun with chains. Luke and the Esquire Tavern are good places to stop if you want something good. Much of the rest are just tourist traps.

Great food is everywhere in San Antonio and much of it is close by. The CIA Bakery, not more than 5 minutes from the hotel, is a MUST DO. Incredible breakfast and lunch. The Granary is another hot-spot and very good. La Gloria is a ton of fun. All of these are next to each other at The Pearl.

We did the Jester King tour outside of Austin and visited Franklin Barbeque that Saturday and I can't think of a better gastronomic exercise. (See other reviews)

Room Tip: Too much over the 4th floor and you won't have a good view of the Riverwalk. The first floor mig...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DanielDelk, Manager at Omni La Mansion del Rio, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
We are glad you had a great romantic get-away at the Omni La Mansion del Rio and were able to enjoy some of the local eateries the Riverwalk has to offer as well. Thank you for reviewing us on TripAdvisor and we hope you will return soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annapolis, Maryland
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

Since this hotel is right on the Riverwalk, in the thick of the action, it's great to walk out to restaurants and evening activities, as well as to the local attractions like the Alamo. Do get an upper floor if noise would be an issue for you on the balcony.( But was only bothersome on Saturday night. )

The staff is quite friendly, and adds to the atmosphere. The food - La Canarias -- is excellent - and that's what you get for room service as well as in the restaurant.

The rooms are comfy, and although others have called them small, they are certainly an OK size, particularly for an older property. Liked having the coffee shop as an option for a Starbucks and small breakfast snack before heading out. I'll be heading back later this year for my next San Antonio visit - much prefer this over the cookie cutter newer hotels.

Room Tip: The Riverwalk can be busy and noisy - ask for an upper floor. Be sure to spring for a Riverwalk room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DanielDelk, Manager at Omni La Mansion del Rio, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Thank you for your review! We are very pleased to hear you were able to enjoy the location, dining, and history of the Omni La Mansion del Rio Hotel during your recent stay and we hope to see you again when your travels bring you back to San Antonio.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Top Contributor
201 reviews 201 reviews
63 hotel reviews
Reviews in 78 cities Reviews in 78 cities
216 helpful votes 216 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

I stayed here for business a few weeks ago and had a wonderful experience. The staff was so friendly and helpful, it was a pleasure working our event with them. The hotel has an intriguing history and is full of charm and character. The rooms are nice and clean as are the hotel public areas. There is a quaint pool albeit it was much too cold to swim during my stay. The fitness center at the sister property (Mokara) is wonderful, I really enjoyed it. The location of the Omni right on the Riverwalk is ideal. You are steps away from dining, entertainment and strolling the riverwalk. The Alamo is about a 7 minute walk as is the Main Plaza and Market Square. There is also a Walgreens very near which is convenient. I would definitely stay here again for leisure or business! I recommend signing up for the Omni loyalty club also, with it you receive free internet in your guestroom.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DanielDelk, Manager at Omni La Mansion del Rio, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
Thank you for your review of the Omni La Mansion del Rio Hotel and for your loyalty to Omni Hotels & Resorts through our Select Guest Program. We are very pleased that all aspects of your stay were so enjoyable and we look forward to seeing you again soon when the weather gets warmer to enjoy our pool as well!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Texas
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

Two days on the Riverwalk in this fantastic hotel equals five days of vacation anywhere else. The staff is top-notch, the facilities are incredibly beautiful, and the Riverwalk is right outside the hotel if you feel the need for excitement, entertainment, or tourism. Otherwise, you can watch the world go by from your balcony overlooking the Riverwalk. It's also well-located for attending a weekend farmer's market or visiting the Alamo.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DanielDelk, Manager at Omni La Mansion del Rio, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
Thank you so much for your review! We are honored you found two days at our property equal to a five day retreat elsewhere and that you had such a wonderful get-away. We definitely look forward to welcoming you back for a little more R&R very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oshkosh, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

Girls weekend in January. We had a balcony room overlooking the Riverwalk. The view and the atmosphere were great. This hotel has great character. The staff is excellent and understand the meaning of servicing customers. The restaurant, Las Canarias, has great margaritas and the braised beef short rib was superb.

Room Tip: We paid extra to have a balcony overlooking the Riverwalk, it was worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DanielDelk, Manager at Omni La Mansion del Rio, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
Thank you for your review. We are very happy to hear the Girls Weekend at the Omni La Mansion del Rio was such a success and that your dining experience in Las Canarias was enjoyable as well. We hope to see you again the next time you need a little get-away!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristow, Virginia
Top Contributor
370 reviews 370 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 137 cities Reviews in 137 cities
154 helpful votes 154 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

This hotel is a historical building located right on the River Walk. I had a balcony with chairs overlooking the River Walk (see picture). It is near several good restaurants and a 10 -15 minute walk from the Convention Center. The rooms are quaint with brick walls and beams -- although a bit small. Very clean! They come with bath robes! The bathroom has ample counter space and a nice flat screen TV. The bed is comfy but has only two king size pillows -- I asked for more. The towels are plush and soft. Be sure to join Omni's Select Guest Program for free pressing and free morning beverages. The room still has a mini bar instead of an empty refrigerator. I had a great view of the River Walk but being only on the second floor you could hear people late at night so either bring ear plugs or ask for a higher floor. There is a Walgreens a 1/2 block away for beverages and other necessities. The gym is sharred with the hotel across the river walk but it is very nice! Will definately stay here again. The staff make you feel so welcome.

Room Tip: Higher floor if overlooking the River Walk if noise bothers you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DanielDelk, Manager at Omni La Mansion del Rio, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
We are delighted to hear that you had such an enjoyable experience during your recent stay at the Omni La Mansion del Rio and that our staff made you feel so welcome. Thank you for taking a moment to provide us with your feedback and we looking forward to welcoming you back upon your next visit to San Antonio.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Omni La Mansion del Rio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Omni La Mansion del Rio

Address: 112 College St, San Antonio, TX 78205
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > San Antonio > East Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in San Antonio
#5 Spa Hotel in San Antonio
#7 Luxury Hotel in San Antonio
#14 Business Hotel in San Antonio
#15 Family Hotel in San Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Omni La Mansion del Rio 4*
Number of rooms: 337
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of the top hotels in the city, and filled with Spanish charm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, AAA Travel Services, Orbitz, Expedia, Amex, Priceline, BookIt.com, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Omni La Mansion del Rio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Omni La Mansion Del Rio Hotel San Antonio
Omni San Antonio
Omni Hotel San Antonio
San Antonio Omni
La Mansion Del Rio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Omni La Mansion del Rio, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.