We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“San Antonio weekend” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Omni La Mansion del Rio

Best prices from these 10 sites
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Omni La Mansion del Rio to your Saves list
Omni La Mansion del Rio
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   112 College St, San Antonio, TX 78205 (East Side)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
12% Off! Book Now & Save!
Ranked #15 of 353 Hotels in San Antonio
Houston, Texas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“San Antonio weekend”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Once checked in, we arrived to a room much larger than expected (with a balcony). The service was exceptional during the entire time of our stay. Also, the restaurant downstairs was delicious for dinner and breakfast the next day!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,609 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    923
    400
    143
    90
    53
See reviews for
317
640
49
313
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (278)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Victoria, Texas
Top Contributor
147 reviews 147 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Needed a room after my husband had surgery in San Antonio, the Omni was right across the street from the hospital and was the perfect refuge. Even though my stay was short, everything was perfect for a good night's rest.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John W, General Manager at Omni La Mansion del Rio, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Thank you for letting us be your "port in the storm". We hope the surgery went well and your husband is well on his way to a full recovery.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

Loved the rooms and location of this hotel. Probably the most comfortable bed and pillows you will find anywhere! My wife and I both noticed that the first night. Right on river walk with many restaurants to choose from - Joe's Crab Shack, Rainforest Cafe, Lone Star Steakhouse, and lots of others. Walking distance to the conference center. Very accommodating staff too.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Florida
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
94 helpful votes 94 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

I recently had a (5) night stay at this hotel for a conference. I arrived on a Sunday and was greeted by a very nice front desk clerk. He gave me a room overlooking the River Front on the third floor. Upon entering the room I discovered the room was a bit on the small side, but quaint. There was a balcony overlooking the River Front, but it was a shared balcony with other rooms. I had to make sure the door and shades were always closed

The bed was very comfortable, and I slept very well all nights. When using the sink in the bathroom the water backed up and would not drain properly. Within 10 minutes, a maintenance person arrived to fix the problem, and he was very courteous. The conference facilities were good and the staff always attentative to everyones needs and requests.

The River Front was nice with a good array of restaurants, and shops. Its a nice walk in the morning and evenings. The food was "just ok." I have had better Mexican food this was not so good. The restaurant in the hotel was very good but pricey, along with the food served at the conference.

I would return to the hotel should I travel to the San Antonio area in the future.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lb,il
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
70 hotel reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

We had a wonderful stay at the Mansion del Rio. The decor in the common areas perfectly reflects the uniqueness of San Antonio as does the evening turndown service.The concierges , bell staff , wait staff, maintenance and front desk personnel were uniformly helpful. This is a very well run hotel. When we called for a maintenance issue late on a Saturday night it was resolved efficiently and within minutes. We had a room with a shared balcony (which was not a problem at all) overlooking the Riverwalk which was the ideal spot from which to view "Coffins on Parade". The food in Las Canarias was excellent and the bar tenders in the bar were very accommodating of special requests as well. The hotel is very convenietly situated and many attractions are just minutes away on foot. Our room was a bit on the small side.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hanvoertodisney
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

The Omni La Mansion del Rio is a beautiful hotel with an exceptional staff. The rooms were very clean and the service was top notch. The hotel is centrally located on the river walk and convenient to many great restaurants and attractions. You can't go wrong. The reason I rated this property 4/5 was due to the fact that the room I had faced the parking garage and street, opposite of the river walk, and was very loud throughout the night. You could hear car alarms and horns (3-4 am 2 nights) and there was a steady hum coming from the wall nearest the ice machine, and it wasn't the a/c unit. Bottom line, make sure not to have a room street side and near the ice machine and you'll probably have a fantastic stay!!

Room Tip: Rooms near the River Walk should be much quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southwest P
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

We just enjoyed our first stay at this wonderful hotel last week. We spent three nights in a Deluxe Room with King Bed, with balcony overlooking the Riverwalk. I had read in some other reviews some negative remarks from other travels prior to our arrival, so I was a bit nervous. My husband and I literally spent our trip chuckling over the things that people had said versus what we actually encountered when we got there. I can't imagine how anyone could find anything bad to say about this place or the wonderful staff, except that I know there are just people who can't be happy ANYWHERE. The decor of the facility and the rooms is perfect for the location. Charming, charming, charming! Not to mention totally comfortable and extremely well appointed. One negative I'd read was that some people didn't like that many of the Riverview balconies were shared with neighbors. Ours was, and it didn't bother us in the least. The balconies are very long, spanning three sets of french doors with room in between each, in our case, so it's far from like being side by side with strangers. In fact, only one morning did we end up on the balcony at the same time as neighbors, and without the desire to socialize at that time, simply angling the chairs toward our french doors rather than theirs was all it took to forget they were even there. We have stayed in Oceanfront hotels, etc., with only a railing separating us from neighbors, and other than maybe mentally for some, this set up was of no difference. We have stayed in many 5-star resorts, and as such, go in expecting a 5-star experience. This hotel did not disappoint in a single way, and in fact ended up exceeding our expectations through little touches like random call from the concierge on our second full day just making sure we were happy. Every memory we made here is a fond one, and we can't wait to return.

Room Tip: River view is wonderful! Always something to look at, and noise was never an issue for us.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Omni La Mansion del Rio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Omni La Mansion del Rio

Address: 112 College St, San Antonio, TX 78205
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > San Antonio > East Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in San Antonio
#5 Spa Hotel in San Antonio
#7 Luxury Hotel in San Antonio
#15 Family Hotel in San Antonio
#15 Business Hotel in San Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Omni La Mansion del Rio 4*
Number of rooms: 337
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of the top hotels in the city, and filled with Spanish charm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Amex, Priceline, BookIt.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Omni La Mansion del Rio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Omni La Mansion Del Rio Hotel San Antonio
Omni San Antonio
Omni Hotel San Antonio
San Antonio Omni
La Mansion Del Rio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Omni La Mansion del Rio, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.