We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Riverwalk view” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hyatt Regency San Antonio

Save Saved
You added Hyatt Regency San Antonio to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hyatt Regency San Antonio
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   123 Losoya Street, San Antonio, TX 78205 (East Side)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Bed & Breakfast Package
Ranked #37 of 352 hotels in San Antonio
GreenLeadersSilver level
Pompano Beach, Florida
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Riverwalk view”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

Great location. I was in town for the San Antonio rodeo and we stayed there. Staff was nice, rooms were extra noisy as the atrium style lobby echoed all the way to the rafters!!!! If you don't need sleep it's fine. The food in the main lounge stops at 11, so I didn't get a chance to try it, may even be earlier. The service in the bar was incredibly slow and inefficient but the servers were perfectly nice. Room is outdated but clean and comfortable.

Room Tip: Don't pick a room on the inside!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,032 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    473
    361
    123
    40
    35
See reviews for
217
257
34
334
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (277)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

We liked this hotel a lot due to it's central location and the fact that it had ice cream and chocolate in the little shops area at the bottom level- didn't have to go far for my late night sweet tooth!

When we arrived they upgraded us to river view which was gorgeous at night. The room was not as quiet as the Grand Hyatt a few streets over because of the 'open' atrium design of the building, but as parents we were too exhausted to be bothered by the muffled sounds once we fell asleep!

The breakfast was awesome- lots of variety of fresh fruit, cereal, delicious fresh pastries, and the omlet line was superb!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
283 reviews 283 reviews
174 hotel reviews
Reviews in 95 cities Reviews in 95 cities
317 helpful votes 317 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

We travel to San Antonio a few couple of times a year and always enjoy staying on the riverwalk to be near nightlife and dining. We have stayed at multiple hotels all around the river. This was our third stay at this Hyatt Regency.We feel that the Hyatt has the absolute best location smack in the middle of the riverwalk and across the street from the Alamo.

Knowing San Antonio well, we knew that there were better options for parking. Knowing that the hotel does not have a self park option, and the fact that their valet is $33 per night, and self park across the street is $25 we choose to use the convenient city garage two blocks away (E Houston) for $9 per 24 hours. (No in and out though...but we rarely leave once on the river)

The lobby is in great condition and the staff was very welcoming and appears to have been recently remodeled. We skipped the silly automated check in kiosks. We were checking in early and they were able to accommodate us which was nice but okay if they could not have. It might have helped that we have platinum status. They assigned us a nice King room on a high floor so we had no unexpected noise from city traffic. We heard that the rooms facing the interior of the atrium can be noisy so we requested city view, plus who wants people in the lobby / elevator looking into your room when the curtains are open. They also have nice river view rooms, but since they do not have balconies, we did not feel it was worth the extra money.

We were here over Easter weekend. One annoyance, we were told that the breakfast included in our room rate was stopping at 9:30am Easter Sunday. Not exactly stellar given we wanted to sleep in. After pushing the issue a bit they were able to verify - the breakfast buffet was stopping at 9:30, but we would be able to order off the menu till 11. Okay, that's fine.....if they had their facts straight in the first place that would have been so much easier!

There is also a nice outdoor swimming pool and nice sized fitness center. We spent the better part of two days at the pool. On Saturday they had a bartender and light food service. Prices were reasonable and the service was great. (Kudos to Brenda!)

The ground level lobby is small but does have some comfortable seating. One thing the hotel lacks is common space to hang out with friends, other than the bar. Utilizing the open space on the second floor for some lobby seating would be nice. The elevators are speedy.

The restaurant and bar is located on the main lobby floor and has a wonderful view of downtown the riverwalk from the bar. The main lobby level exits to the street. There is a lower lobby level with some shops, and a neat feature, that I remember as a kid....there is a (clorinated) river from the walkway to the Alamo,through the lower lobby, and out to the riverwalk. The lower lobby level exits directly to the river.

As with most Hyatt’s, the breakfast was very well done and the staff was very friendly. Though there is usually a fee for the breakfast, our AAA rate included breakfast, and it was very enjoyable. I do not recall the exact price, but if was not included in the room rate, we might have checked out other options we know well on the riverwalk. Other than breakfast we did not eat at the hotel because we have so many favorite options in San Antonio, for both dining and cocktails.

The room we had was a typical King room with a nice work desk, chair, and desk. The rooms have nice HDTV’s. The room also had a cabinet for a refrigerator but sadly no fridge. The AC blower can be left on for white noise. The rooms were spotless, smelled fresh and had nice pillows. (Both foam and feather). The curtains do an nice job of blocking out light, and the rooms have a nice view with the floor to ceiling windows. There is a fee for wifi (per device) but it was waived since we were platinum. There is also free wifi for everyone in the lobby.

The bathroom was an okay size given this an older hotel. It was well appointed with plenty of fluffy towels and nice bath products.


All of the staff at the Hyatt was very welcoming and made for a pleasant stay!

The area has every type of dining and entertainment option you could ask for all within easy walking distance. We would absolutely recommend this location and would stay here again if the room rate was comparable too to other nearby options. We have stayed at a full range of 3.5 – 4.5 star hotels in the area, and this one is one of the best, but can get pricy compared to many, but when a great price comes up, jump on it! The riverwalk area has many very nice options that are similar in their offerings and the prices seem to vary wildly from day to day.

Room Tip: High Floor, non atrium.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waco, Texas
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

This hotel is right on the river and the Alamo is across the street. The rooms are spacious. The service in the restaurant, bar, housekeeping check in/out (everything) was perfection. Breakfast was amazing. Everyone was so friendly and helpful. Beautiful lobby area looking over the river, which runs through the hotel. I will stay here again!

Room Tip: Get a room overlooking he Alamo. Fun to watch the people.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013 via mobile

Hotel is right across street from Alamo! City walk is directly behind hotel. Great location for a night out on the town. If you want to go cheap there is also a subway and McDonalds within walking distance. If you enjoy night life there are many choices to choose from. The front desk was very helpful is answering all my questions. Unfortunately not a complimentary business center, however FedEx station on property. Breakfast buffet was a great value as well many food options and an omelette station. Server Sylvia was very attentive and friendly. Definitely worth the stay, great location and friendly staff!!!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
74 hotel reviews
Reviews in 70 cities Reviews in 70 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

This hotel has a Great location and access to river walk extremely small bathroom. Like tiny! The hotel overlooks the Alamo and the river walk is a pleasure to take a walk on and has lots of pubs and restaurants.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
94 helpful votes 94 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

This hotel was pretty typical of any business hotel.

Our check in took a long time with the person leaving us suddenly to disappear to the back for several minutes before finally returning without explanation to finish our check-in. Due to the confusion they did comp us parking for our rental car which was nice considering parking prices (as others mention).

Overall, I think their staff could use a customer service training update since none seemed overly friendly. We do understand that all businesses get busy and try to be patient, but we are usually travel weary after long days of travel and touristing too. So, extra effort toward kindness is always appreciated.

The hotel has a nice, open and airy lobby area with a bar. We brought our computers down each morning before the bar opened up to check our emails with free wifi in the lobby.

The room was average, again like any business hotel. The refrigerator in our room did not seem to work. We were on one of the top floors in a small king room that they needed to add a roll-away bed to. The view out the giant window in the room fine. As for their pool area on the roof outside, it was really nice. Had one warm day while traveling and teen swam a bit in the non-heated pool while we lounged on the sunny deck. It was pretty peaceful up there when we visited.

Easy access to the Riverwalk and Alamo. Would stay here again, but probably would look around at some of the other options first.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hyatt Regency San Antonio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency San Antonio

Address: 123 Losoya Street, San Antonio, TX 78205
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > San Antonio > East Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in San Antonio
#8 Spa Hotel in San Antonio
#25 Romantic Hotel in San Antonio
#32 Family Hotel in San Antonio
#37 Business Hotel in San Antonio
#37 Top resorts Hotel in San Antonio
#37 Luxury Hotel in San Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Regency San Antonio 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the heart of the Riverwalk at Hyatt Regency San Antonio. We are the only San Antonio Riverwalk hotel directly overlooking the historic Alamo and on the Riverwalk, connecting two of San Antonio's top destinations through our 16 story atrium lobby. Be the center of our attention while you are in the center of the action taking advantage of our unequaled location in the heart of dining and entertainment venues surrounding our Riverwalk hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, BookIt.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Tingo, Travelocity, Otel, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Hyatt Regency San Antonio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency San Antonio Hotel San Antonio
San Antonio Hyatt Regency
Hyatt San Antonio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hyatt Regency San Antonio, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.