We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little disappointed ” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hyatt Regency Hill Country Resort and Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hyatt Regency Hill Country Resort and Spa to your Saves list
Hyatt Regency Hill Country Resort and Spa
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   9800 Hyatt Resort Drive, San Antonio, TX 78251 (Far West Side)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Shopping Package
Ranked #18 of 352 Hotels in San Antonio
GreenLeadersBronze level
Greenbrier, AR
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“A little disappointed ”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

The resort is very nice. We loved the landscape & pools. A little disappointed that there is no shuttle to Seaworld. We didn't get a good night sleep any of the 4 nights we stayed. Prices for everything seemed a little high. Then the morning we checked out we get hit with $110 charge for "Resort Fee" that we were never told about. Basically for 2 bottles of water each day that we never drank.

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicole G, Marketing Manager at Hyatt Regency Hill Country Resort and Spa, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
We are so sorry to hear that you were not 100% satisfied with your recent stay with us. We apologize for any confusion regarding our daily $26 resort fee, as we try to make this prominent when making a reservation on our website. We appreciate your suggestion regarding shuttle service to SeaWorld, and are glad that you enjoyed the hotel's landscaping and pools. Thank you for your feedback, and please let us know if there is anything we can do to rectify the situation and have you back as our guests again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

999 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    503
    324
    100
    51
    21
See reviews for
448
137
16
194
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (201)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rowlett, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

My daughter and I take her two children on a short trip every summer. This was one of our best! This place is awesome! So much fun and so well designed for children! The rooms are beautiful! My four year old grandson cried when we had to leave. We will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hyatt Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicole G, Marketing Manager at Hyatt Regency Hill Country Resort and Spa, responded to this review, August 4, 2014
That is so great to hear! We are glad that you and your family enjoyed your time with us. Thanks for letting us know, and we look forward to welcoming you back again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

I have had wonderful visits to this hotel over the years, and think it's a lovely property and a fun place, especially for families. However, we are here right now and I wish I could check out. They have air "fresheners" that are so strong I have started having breathing issues, which I haven't had in years. It is impossible for me to enjoy any of the inside areas because the smell is so strong. I am writing this with the hope that someone at the property will read it and do something about it. The lobby is so horrible that I am sitting outside with my computer in the sweltering heat trying to get some work done. I have talked to two people at the concierge desk about this, and nice as they were they didn't seem to think there was anything they could do. Hyatt, help!

Green Features: They must not care for fresh air, as they are choking their guests with artificial air fresheners.
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicole G, Marketing Manager at Hyatt Regency Hill Country Resort and Spa, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
We are truly sorry to hear about any inconvenience that our air fresheners caused you during your stay with us. This is obviously not our intention, and we appreciate you letting us know. I will make sure to share your concern with proper hotel management to consider making adjustments based on your feedback. Thank you again, and please let us know if there is anything else we can do.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lewisville, United States
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

We had a previous poor experience at this hotel but was asked to come back and experience the greatness of the hotel. Sadly, it was not a good experience. The service was poor, room service was awful (my husband even got ill from the food). The hotel and other activities etc are way overpriced too for what is offered. The noise level in our room was terrible. We couldn't even relax.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hyatt Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicole G, Marketing Manager at Hyatt Regency Hill Country Resort and Spa, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
We are truly very sorry to hear that you were not pleased with your recent stay with us. This is obviously not the type of feedback that we like to hear, or the experience that we hope our guests have when they choose our resort. We strive to provide the utmost in customer service, accommodations and value at our resort, and are sorry we fell short of that mark with you. Please let us know if there is anything that we can do to rectify the situation and earn back your business.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sugar Land, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

Amenities and staff absolutely wonderful. At no time when we needed anything, were we lacking. There are more than enough activities to keep a whole family entertained and on the go 24/7. For an excellent dining experience, the Antler's lodge is a must. The staff at the Antler's Lodge and resort as a whole is exceptional.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hyatt Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicole G, Marketing Manager at Hyatt Regency Hill Country Resort and Spa, responded to this review, August 4, 2014
Thank you so much for the wonderful review! We are so glad that you and your family enjoyed your stay, including the resort's staff, family activities, and Antlers Lodge. Thank you for letting us know and for recommending us to others. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

I attended a business meeting at this property but have been to several similar properties in the same and nearby areas. It is a large property but does a nice job of making things personal. Rooms were large, clean, quiet and well decorated. Food was suprisingly good for our size group. On site amenities for kids and adults make this a place you can spend your time at and not get bored. I was told this property had declined but has been through a major upgrade. Everything I saw was up to date, functional, and designed for a comfortable stay. At times I thought I was at the Hyatt Lost Pines property east of Austin. Same layout of the lobby and resort; good golf, lazy river, s'mores, restaurant choices, bar with games, etc. They have a good formula for catering to families needing a getaway and business meetings.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicole G, Marketing Manager at Hyatt Regency Hill Country Resort and Spa, responded to this review, August 4, 2014
Thank you so much for your review! We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed the resort, including our guestrooms, food and family-friendly amenities and activities. Thanks for letting us know, and we hope you will visit us again soon - whether for business or pleasure!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FLOWER MOUND, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

We have been here many times in the past, yet, and surprisingly, it get better and better each time!!! The wave pool and surfing captured my son's attention and he just fell in love with it!!! The customer service here at this resort is unparalleled!!! We love this place!!!!!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hyatt Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicole G, Marketing Manager at Hyatt Regency Hill Country Resort and Spa, responded to this review, August 4, 2014
Thank you so much for the wonderful review, and for continuing to come back and stay with us. We are happy to hear that you love the hotel's customer service and that your son enjoyed our FlowRider wave machine. Thanks for letting us know, and we hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hyatt Regency Hill Country Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Hill Country Resort and Spa

Address: 9800 Hyatt Resort Drive, San Antonio, TX 78251
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > San Antonio > Far West Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in San Antonio
#4 Green Hotel in San Antonio
#6 Spa Hotel in San Antonio
#8 Luxury Hotel in San Antonio
#11 Business Hotel in San Antonio
#15 Family Hotel in San Antonio
#27 Romantic Hotel in San Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Regency Hill Country Resort and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 500
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Revel in the experience of true Texan hospitality at Hyatt Regency Hill Country Resort and Spa. This charming San Antonio luxury hotel indulges every sense with outstanding amenities for relaxing, playing, meeting, dining and enjoying the beautiful Texas Hill Country. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Expedia, AAA Travel Services, Despegar.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your Hyatt Regency Hill Country Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Hill Country Hotel San Antonio
Hyatt San Antonio
Hyatt Hill Country Resort San Antonio
Hyatt Regency Hill Country Resort
Hyatt Regency San Antonio
Hyatt Hill Country San Antonio
Hilton Hill Country

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hyatt Regency Hill Country Resort and Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.