We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great time with the kids” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hyatt Regency Hill Country Resort and Spa

Save Saved
You added Hyatt Regency Hill Country Resort and Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Hill Country Resort and Spa
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   9800 Hyatt Resort Drive, San Antonio, TX 78251 (Far West Side)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Bed and Breakfast Package
Ranked #37 of 351 hotels in San Antonio
GreenLeadersBronze level
Lagos, Nigeria
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Great time with the kids”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

The kids (Girl 10yrs, boy 7 yrs) and I drove down from Houston looking to have a change of scenery for a few days...the welcome was very warm and room was well appointed...

The food was really good with lots of variety on the buffet especially breakfast...an evening marshmallow toast was good fun for the kids...

The activities were very good with the surfing simulator an absolute must!!!...there is a small water park and lots of garden activities...the spa is an absolute delight (the kids had a spa adventure also).

We wanted to stay an extra day or 2 but the resort was fully booked and we had to settle for the other Hyatt down the road after 2 nights at this delightful place
We'll be back!!!

Room Tip: higher floors are less noisy especially when the resort is full and there are kids running around.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

804 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    375
    279
    81
    48
    21
See reviews for
354
111
13
140
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (179)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ridgewood, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

The Hill Country Hyatt is good for conventions because it is large, spread out and has lots of indoor conference rooms space. I would suggest to the hotel to put out more outdoor tables where people can meet and talk as the weather is nice most of the year. However, if I were a tourist visiting San Antonio, I would not stay here because it is far from downtown and the River Walk (main attraction) and is a $50 taxi ride way. The hotel does not have many restaurants (only one gourmet and two coffee shops) or much to do durning the day except maybe play golf. The hotel employees were very nice and helpful but the rooms were not as clean as they should have been. Also the air conditioning system was weird in that every once in awhile as you were walking down a hallway you would feel blasts of cold air being shot at you. I probably wouldn't stay here again unless I had to.

Room Tip: As for a room which does not overlook the parking lot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

Very nice. Huge. Arrived Sunday afternoon. Elizabeth checked me in, a great start to my stay. Went to sports bar to watch some football, plenty of snacks and a peanut barrel! Staff super nice. Next morning special buffet in adjoining conference center. Great coffee! Make reservations before lunch is my advice!! We were ok. There are so many attractions here: golf and tube floating. I'm stuck in meetings!

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

If you are looking for a resort in San Antonio, this is the property to go. You will find lots of places for a comfortable stroll and a fun waterpark. Nice conference space, which makes it a good location for business offsite meetings. The rooms are decent, but nothing out of the ordinary.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enid, Oklahoma
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

My wife and I traveled to San Antonio for a conference. It was held at Hyatt Regency Hill Country Resort and Spa. We were there for 3 nights. The staff is very friendly and very helpful and attentive to a person's needs. The room we were in was large and it also had access to the outdoor courtyard. On the small patio, there were chairs for our convenience. The entire facility is adorned with very interesting pictures explaining the history of the location. The location had 3 different golf courses and a huge spa. There were lots of activities for families with young children. There are two places to eat and also a "snack shop" for lattes, burgers and breakfast type items. Parking was free and there was lots of it. It did not feel like it was as large as it was.

Room Tip: We just took the room that was the least money and it was excellent.
See more room tips
Green Features: The place is kept spotless both inside and out. I did not see a piece of trash anywhere.
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hyattlover, Public Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Hill Country Resort and Spa, responded to this review, January 10, 2014
Thank you for your wonderful 5 star review! We appreciate you taking the time to share your experince with other tripadvisor travelers. I was thrilled to read that our staff took such good care of you and that you enjoyed all the resort has to offer!

I look forward to welcoming you back very soon.


Melody Goeken, director of public relations
melody.goeken@hyatt.com
210-520-4022
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingwood, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

As a family tradition we used to visit the hotel for a long weekend just before starts again. We skipped some years and this year we went back. Still super experience. We booked the concierge level as usual and we still love going there.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013 via mobile

We have a 3 1/2 and 5 yr old - they had a blast! The grounds were well kept and clean, room was well kept and clean.
I almost did not book here due to some of the reviews and pictures of rooms on trip advisor, but so glad we did. We did not find any disrepair of rooms or anything outdated etc like some reviews indicated.
The hotel was wonderfully relaxing and well equipped for the kids.
It definitely seems family oriented which is very nice. There were also young people enjoying the resort. If you one of those cranky people that can't stand kids you should probably keep looking.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hyattlover, Public Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Hill Country Resort and Spa, responded to this review, January 10, 2014
Thank you for your wonderful 5 star review! We appreciate you taking the time to share your experince with other tripadvisor travelers. Kids do love it here, but I am more thrilled when the parents like it here! Thank you for your wonderful comments about our facility, we have spent $35 million to ungrade and enhance our property and we appreciate your noticing.

We hope to welcome you again very soon.

Melody Goeken, director of public relations
melody.goeken@hyatt.com
210-520-4022
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Travelers also viewed these San Antonio hotels
Free Parking, M...
Show More
Far West Side
Hyatt Wild Oak Ranch
Hyatt Wild Oak Ranch
#9 of 351 in San Antonio
4.5 of 5 stars 415 reviews
Quiet, Free Par...
Show More
Far West Side
Hilton San Antonio Hill Country Hotel & Spa
Charming, Bouti...
Show More
Downtown
Mokara Hotel and Spa
Mokara Hotel and Spa
#1 of 351 in San Antonio
4.5 of 5 stars 618 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pool, Free inte...
Show More
Far West Side
Courtyard San Antonio SeaWorld/Westover Hills
Pool, Free inte...
Show More
Northwest Side
Omni San Antonio Hotel
Omni San Antonio Hotel
#6 of 351 in San Antonio
4.5 of 5 stars 685 reviews
Quiet, Pool, Ro...
Show More
East Side
Omni La Mansion del Rio
Omni La Mansion del Rio
#12 of 351 in San Antonio
4.5 of 5 stars 1,485 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Regency Hill Country Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Hill Country Resort and Spa

Address: 9800 Hyatt Resort Drive, San Antonio, TX 78251
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > San Antonio > Far West Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in San Antonio
#6 Green Hotel in San Antonio
#8 Spa Hotel in San Antonio
#10 Luxury Hotel in San Antonio
#25 Family Hotel in San Antonio
#30 Business Hotel in San Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Regency Hill Country Resort and Spa 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on 300 wooded acres, only 20-minutes from downtown San Antonio, this 500-room resort features 27-holes of championship golf, tennis, five themed restaurants, fitness center, four swimming pools, Windflower-The Hill Country Spa,950-foot Ramblin' River and Camp Hyatt children's program. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Tingo, Travelocity, Otel, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Hyatt Regency Hill Country Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Hill Country Hotel San Antonio
Hyatt San Antonio
Hyatt Hill Country Resort San Antonio
Hyatt Regency Hill Country Resort
Hyatt Regency San Antonio
Hyatt Hill Country San Antonio
Hilton Hill Country

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hyatt Regency Hill Country Resort and Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.