We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Large resort type property great for golf or Sea World. 20 mins from River walk / Alamo.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hyatt Regency Hill Country Resort and Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hyatt Regency Hill Country Resort and Spa to your Saves list
Hyatt Regency Hill Country Resort and Spa
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   9800 Hyatt Resort Drive, San Antonio, TX 78251 (Far West Side)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Shopping Package
Ranked #19 of 352 Hotels in San Antonio
GreenLeadersBronze level
Idaho Falls
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Large resort type property great for golf or Sea World. 20 mins from River walk / Alamo.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

Very nice hotel. It is really long from one end to the other so if ur headed out of ur room don't forget anything. The food is good at both the nice steakhouse and kids eat free at the more casual restaurant at the dinner buffet( avail m-f). Really nice golf course 27 extremely nice holes. They also, have a large pool area/water park w lazy river and several pools. Overall this is a good one.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hyattlover, Public Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Hill Country Resort and Spa, responded to this review, December 5, 2012
Thank you for the review of your recent visit. Your tip about taking everything you need when leaving your room is a great one. Should you wish a room closer to the lobby please be sure to request one at check-in and our team will do everything possible to accommodate you.

I do hope you will return again next year to see all of the $35 million enhancements we are adding! By October 2013 we will have updated all guest rooms with new flooring, beds, updated furniture and fresh tile in the bathrooms, added a FlowRider®, 22' tower slide restaurant and bar to our 4-acre water playground and added a 20,000 square foot ballroom as well as 11,000 square feet of outdoor event lawns and gardens. Our outdoors will be enhanced with additional lighting and landscaping as well.

We look forward to welcoming you again.

Melody Goeken, director of public relations
melody.goeken@hyatt.com
210-520-4022
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,002 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    505
    325
    100
    51
    21
See reviews for
449
138
16
195
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (201)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Antonio, Texas
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

I am a local who had this hotel's Thanksgiving buffett. It was fabulous in quality and variety. If you left unsatisfied, it was your fault. The hotel grounds and hotel itself are beautiful as well. This is a well run property.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hyattlover, Public Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Hill Country Resort and Spa, responded to this review, December 5, 2012
WOW! Thanks so very much for your wonderful review of our annual Thanksgiving Brunch, I was thrilled to read how much you enjoyed your visit. I hope you will join us for our Christmas Brunch as well.

We look forward to welcoming you again.

Melody Goeken, director of public relations
melody.goeken@hyatt.com
210-520-4022
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
houston
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

We have stayed here several times and this past long weekend we stayed in one of the "hill country suites". This time, while the usual pros were as good as they always are (proximity to Sea World, the movies on the lawn, the 'smores, the hotel's lobby with holiday decorations, Antlers restaurant, (we ended up going 2 x @$380 per bill for 4 of us, but the elk and antelope were incredible and worth every penny!!).. there were a a couple of things which made me less excited about the resort this time.

The bedroom: when we got into bed, we noticed an odd odor from the bed. We checked and the sheets were clean but when we pulled back the sheets and mattress cover, the smell from the bed was as if someone had had an "accident" and it had indeed been cleaned up but they couldn't remove all of the smell. The mattress and mattress cover were clean so unless you have a very acute sense of smell and actually smelled the mattress (yep, we did to try and figure it out), it may go unnoticed by housekeeping staff who dutifully changes the sheets etc.

We have young kids but we have taught them to be conscientious of others in hotels and for this reason we can take them anywhere without ever worrying that they will be obnoxious and ruin any one else's' vacation. Many parents however, do not seem to care and in a hotel that is dedicated to families with children mostly going to Sea World, that can be a bit overwhelming. One suggestion is perhaps a note at check in reminding families, that there are other people in the hotel and to try to help keep their children a little less rowdy between 11pm - 9am. The family next to us on our right (living room side) had two young children that would begin fighting and screaming at about 7:30am and the parents didn't seem to care, they just let it continue on and on. Then the room on our left (on the bedroom side) had a baby and what sounded like two young kids, they also were very loud starting at about 7am. So basically despite getting one of the best suites, there was no hope at all of ever sleeping past 7am.

While this is not the hotel's fault but rather due to poor parenting, perhaps a reminder to checking in families that it is a hotel with other guests and thus kids being quiet and considerate, would be appreciated.

Basically unless you have kids and are planning to do SeaWorld, I would not suggest staying here as a couple!! It is unlikely to be romantic or quiet. As a family however, it is a very good spot to use as a base for Sea World. The lazy river pool is nice at night in the Fall/Winter as it is heated and un crowded but in the summer it is WAY too small for the amount of hotel guests on property.

We spent $1700 for two nights, was it worth it? Probably due to proximity to Sea World but to us, the rooms felt a little less clean somehow this time.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hyattlover, Public Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Hill Country Resort and Spa, responded to this review, December 5, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback regarding your most recent stay. On behalf of the Hyatt Regency Hill Country Resort and Spa, please accept my sincerest apologies for the inconveniences you experienced. We strive to provide each guest with a pristine and clean guestroom, and it is clear to me that we did not deliver this to you. I have passed on your detailed comments to our housekeeping department to ensure that these issues are addressed. Please know that we take your feedback seriously. I have shared your concerns about the early morning noise with our front office teams so that they can come up with some possible solutions so that type of interruption can be reduced.

I do hope you will visit us next year when we complete our $35 million renovation and enhancement project. By October, 2013 we will have updated all guest rooms with new flooring, Grand beds, updated furniture and fresh tile in the bathrooms. We will have expanded our 4-acre water playground to 5 acres with the addition of a FlowRider®, 22' tower slide, and restaurant and bar as well as additional bathrooms. We are building an additional 20,000 square foot ballroom as well as 11,000 square feet of outdoor event lawns and gardens. Our outdoors will be enhanced with additional lighting and landscaping.

I hope you will plan to visit us next fall to see all of the amazing upgrades and enhancements to the property!

Melody Goeken, director of public relations
melody.goeken@hyatt.com
210-520-4022
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shreveport, Louisiana
Top Contributor
126 reviews 126 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

Was here for a conference. Food was good but prices a little high but I guess one should expect that at a resort. A little far out of the way from everything if that is what you are looking for. Rooms are nice size and I enjoyed being able to open my balcony door and let the cool breeze come into the room.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hyattlover, Public Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Hill Country Resort and Spa, responded to this review, December 5, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post a review on your recent visit to the Hyatt Hill Country. I hope your meeting was a tremendous success.

I do hope you will visit us next year when we complete our $35 million renovation and enhancement project. By October, 2013 we will have updated all guest rooms with new flooring, beds, updated furniture and fresh tile in the bathrooms, added a FlowRider®, 22' tower slide restaurant and bar to our 4-acre water playground and added a 20,000 square foot ballroom as well as 11,000 square feet of outdoor event lawns and gardens. Our outdoors will be enhanced with additional lighting and landscaping.

I hope you will plan to visit us next fall to see all of the amazing upgrades and enhancements to the property!

Melody Goeken, director of public relations
melody.goeken@hyatt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

We stayed here because it looked like a great resort, however when we got there that is when the stay turned crappy. The Pool was completely dirty, filthy, like never maintained. The grounds smelled due to all the mulch they had just laid down. Why don't you try to use rubber mulch next time, it pays for itself in just two years and lasts forever. The bed was AWFUL!!!! It was not comfy at all. The rooms were small for the price, and I know I have stayed at a La Quinta with better rooms. As a Hyatt Gold member, I found it to be completely unacceptable. The manager was rude as well, completely unaccommodating.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hyattlover, Public Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Hill Country Resort and Spa, responded to this review, November 23, 2012
Thank you so much for your feedback regarding your experience as a Gold Passport member. Please accept my apology on behalf of the resort that we did not deliver the experience or recognition that you deserve as a loyal Hyatt traveler. We strive to provide special recognition and appreciation to all of our GP members and we clearly did not deliver this to you.

I apologize for the experience you had with one of our managers, and would welcome the opportunity to speak to you regarding the specifics of your interaction.

The our pools are tinted to give the illusion of Hill Country rivers, so they do not sparkle like a pool that has a stark white or pale blue tinting. Our chemical levels are continuously checked throughout the day to maintain a clean and safe water experience for our guests. I apologize for the odor of the freshly laid mulch, this is part of our enhancement project and will help to maintain the ground moisture and reduce the need for watering in those areas.

I do hope you will visit us next year when we complete our $35 million renovation and enhancement project. By October, 2013 we will have updated all guest rooms with new wall-coverings, flooring, Grand beds, updated furniture and fresh tile in the bathrooms, added a FlowRider®, 22' tower slide restaurant and bar to our 4-acre water playground and added a 20,000 square foot ballroom as well as 11,000 square feet of outdoor event lawns and gardens.

Your loyalty as a Hyatt guest is truly appreciated.

Melody Goeken, director of public relations
melody.goeken@hyatt.com
210-520-4022
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Key West
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

I stayed here for a conference and was not in my room much. However, if I had been, I would have been very upset. There was a jackhammer being used right below my room during the day! Imagine if I had planned on sleeping in or relaxing in the room? I think I would have been pretty disappointed.

The hotel does say it is under construction on the web site, but you would think they would close off the areas with the noisiest work and sacrifice some room revenue to assure happy customers.

The room was a bit dated, but they are being renovated. Everything was clean and comfortable. The staff was very nice and perhaps if I had asked to be moved, I could have had a quieter room. As I said, I was at a conference so it did not matter too much. Just be sure you ask about noise at check in.

The food and bars we went to were very good. I imagine once the renovations are complete, this will be a great place to stay. However, I don't think I would stay there in the meantime.

Finally, the rooms are very different. Some of my colleagues had larger rooms with patios or terraces. My room had no outdoor space. Be sure to call reservations to get the amenities you want.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hyattlover, Public Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Hill Country Resort and Spa, responded to this review, November 23, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post comments from your recent Hill Country visit. Allow me to apologize on behalf of the resort for the inconvenience you experienced due to our enhancement project. We have taken many of our rooms out of service to have a buffer between guestrooms and the activity of the construction, which obviously did not work in this instance. I have shared your comments with our construction manager to see what else can be done to reduce the impact. We strive to provide an exceptional experience to each and every guest and it is clear to me that we did not deliver that to you.

Once the various projects are completed we will have updated all guest rooms with new flooring, beds, updated furniture and fresh tile in the bathrooms, added a FlowRider®, 22' tower slide, poolside restaurant and bar to our 5-acre water playground and added a 20,000 square foot ballroom as well as 11,000 square feet of outdoor event lawns and gardens. Our outdoors will be enhanced with additional lighting and landscaping.

I hope you will plan to visit us next fall to see all of the amazing upgrades and enhancements to the property!

Melody Goeken, director of public relations
melody.goeken@hyatt.com
210-520-4022
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmond, Oklahoma
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

I recently helped host a day and a half business meeting at the Hyatt Regency Hill Country Resort & Spa. Whether traveling on business or leisure, the property is fantastic and the team is world-class.

One element of note is that the property is undergoing a significant enhancement, including updates to some of the guest rooms, pool area, addition of a larger ballroom and landscaping. Though this did not impact our experience, it may have minor impacts (i.e. closed pools) for anyone traveling on holiday.

From a meeting perspective, the only flaw was the expansiveness of the resort - plenty of signage is needed to ensure attendees find their way and rest assured, everyone will get their 10,000 steps / day in.

All of the food was FANTASTIC! We did a welcome reception, breakfast and lunch and none of them let us down. Of note was beef carving and avocado action stations at the reception. The tenderloin was some of the best I have ever had and the uniqueness of the avocado station added conversation to the evening.

Though the facility and food were top-notch, it truly was the Hyatt team who shined. The below Hyatt associates deserved to be recognized and if you have the pleasure of working with them, will ensure you have a world-class experience in San Antonio:

Convention and Meeting Services: Jaime, Anthony, Matthew and Val
Front Desk: Bhumi and Alexis
Valet: David
Bell Desk: Gilbert

Overall, the Hyatt offers some unique San Antonio charm and the team ensures that Texas hospitality is extended to all guests!

Room Tip: If traveling on business or meetings in the Hyatt Regency event space, be sure to request a room nea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hyattlover, Public Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Hill Country Resort and Spa, responded to this review, November 23, 2012
Thank you so very much for your wonderful 5 star review. I so appreciate you taking the time to mention specific associates that provided excellent service to you. I will make sure that a copy of your kind review is placed into their respective HR employee files. I will also make sure they see your wonderful comments.

Our Hill Country family works very hard to ensure that each attendee has a memorable meeting experience, and I am thrilled that we delivered that to your group.

I did take note of your suggestion for groups to have additional signage and will discuss this with our director of catering and convention services to see what we may be able to implement to better direct attendees. I have taken the liberty of sharing your stellar comments with our culinary team, they will be so proud of your generous comments.

By October 2013 we will have updated all guest rooms with new flooring, beds, updated furniture and fresh tile in the bathrooms, added a FlowRider®( am seeing a group tem building surf competitiion!) 22' tower slide, restaurant and bar to our 5-acre water playground and added a 20,000 square foot ballroom as well as 11,000 square feet of outdoor event lawns and gardens.

We truly appreciate your business and sincerely hope to welcome you and your group back again very soon.

Melody Goeken, director of public relations
melody.goeken@hyatt.com
210-520-4022
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hyatt Regency Hill Country Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Hill Country Resort and Spa

Address: 9800 Hyatt Resort Drive, San Antonio, TX 78251
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > San Antonio > Far West Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in San Antonio
#4 Green Hotel in San Antonio
#6 Spa Hotel in San Antonio
#9 Luxury Hotel in San Antonio
#11 Business Hotel in San Antonio
#14 Family Hotel in San Antonio
#27 Romantic Hotel in San Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Regency Hill Country Resort and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 500
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Revel in the experience of true Texan hospitality at Hyatt Regency Hill Country Resort and Spa. This charming San Antonio luxury hotel indulges every sense with outstanding amenities for relaxing, playing, meeting, dining and enjoying the beautiful Texas Hill Country. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Expedia, Hotels.com, AAA Travel Services, Despegar.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your Hyatt Regency Hill Country Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Hill Country Hotel San Antonio
Hyatt San Antonio
Hyatt Hill Country Resort San Antonio
Hyatt Regency Hill Country Resort
Hyatt Regency San Antonio
Hyatt Hill Country San Antonio
Hilton Hill Country

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hyatt Regency Hill Country Resort and Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.