We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Location on the Riverwalk” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Riverwalk

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Riverwalk to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Riverwalk
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   217 N St. Mary's St., San Antonio, TX 78205 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #101 of 352 Hotels in San Antonio
Mount Forest, Canada
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Good Location on the Riverwalk”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2014

The hotel is right on the riverwalk. Our room was very modern, spacious and clean.This is a great hotel for families. We did self parking and that worked out really well.They have done a great renovation job. My only complaint was that the walls seemed thin. I could hear someone coughing in another room all night!

Room Tip: Don't bother asking for a room high up for a view of the riverwalk. All you see are the messy ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnRiverwalk, Administrative Assistant at Holiday Inn Riverwalk, responded to this review, May 6, 2014
Dear Alison032,

We appreciate you choosing Holiday Inn Riverwalk for your recent trip to the Alamo City, and that you took the time to convey your recent experience with us. We're so happy to read that you enjoyed our newly renovated guest rooms and that you enjoyed most aspects of your stay. On behalf of the hotel staff and management team, I'd like to express my sincere apologies for the noise issues you encountered during your stay with us. Please trust that this is already being addressed by our maintenance department, and that we greatly appreciate you bringing this to our attention.

We hope you'll give us the change to make this up to you in the future. Please do not hesitate to contact me the next time your plans bring you to San Antonio for booking assistance. I hope to correspond with you soon!

Regards,

Lindsay Carroll- Rodriguez
Administrative Assistant
Lindsay.Carroll@ihg.com
210-224-2500 x 500
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

559 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    171
    149
    116
    62
    61
See reviews for
152
151
21
114
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (136)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Alexandria, Louisiana, USA
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2014

To start our wonderful stay, I noticed that I had booked a 2 queen room instead of a king and called the hotel the week before ... they were pretty booked but "would see what they could do". We arrived early and there weren't any rooms available yet. They kindly stored our luggage and gave us a call when it was ready. At the front desk (I believe it was Ruben) said they had our 'king' room ready. More than a king ... had upgraded us to a suite! So surprised and it was beautiful!! We were celebrating our anniversary and they didn't even know it. I felt spoiled all weekend!! By coincidence it was also Fiesta. ALL the staff were VERY friendly and helpful ... especially valet! The back of the hotel is directly on the Riverwalk ... about a 2 minute stroll from all the restaurants and shops along the river. The bed was very comfortable and of course everything was super clean. Even the fresh ground coffee in the little snack shop was delicious! I can't say enough about how this hotel and its staff made this an extra special anniversary! I would definitely stay here again!!

Room Tip: Its about a 10 minute walk to the Alamo and the same to the Market Square. Try La Margarita's R...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnRiverwalk, Administrative Assistant at Holiday Inn Riverwalk, responded to this review, May 19, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

We appreciate you choosing Holiday Inn Riverwalk for your recent trip to San Antonio, and would like to thank you for taking the share your stay experience on TripAdvisor! It felt great to share these wonderful comments with the staff at our weekly service meeting!

Please feel free to contact me for booking assistance the next time your plans bring you to the Alamo City. We would absolutely love to have you back!

Kindest Regards,

Lindsay Carroll- Rodriguez
Administrative Assistant
Lindsay.Carroll@ihg.com
210-224-2500 x 500
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corpus Christi, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2014

The valet parking manager at this hotel is AMAZING. My 2nd key chain was accidently missplaced and he went above and beyond to find them. He UPS'd my keys overnight and sent a text message to checking to make sure I received them and told me that the next time I stayed there he would personally handle my valet parking! BRIC FRASER THANK YOU FOR YOUR HELP! YOU ROCK!!!!!!!

Room Tip: Make sure that the bathroom is cleaned!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnRiverwalk, Administrative Assistant at Holiday Inn Riverwalk, responded to this review, April 15, 2014
Dear Lauren G,

We thank you for taking the time out to write up such an incredible review of your recent experience here at the Holiday Inn Riverwalk! I was so happy (but not the least bit surprised) to read of the excellent service provided to you by Bric and the valet team, and greatly look forward to sharing your review at our weekly service meeting!

Please do not hesitate to contact me directly for booking assistance. We'd love to have the pleasure of hosting you as our guest again the next time you're in the Alamo City!

Kindest Regards,

Lindsay Carroll- Rodriguez
Administrative Assistant
Lindsay.Carroll@ihg.com
210-224-2500 x 500
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Independence, Missouri
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2014

Our family (2 from Los Angeles, 2 from Denver, and 2 from Independence, MO) met in San Antonio for the weekend of April 4-6, 2014. When we arrived at the Hotel, we advised that the 2 from California would be late arrival, and asked if they could get on the same floor as us. The man at the Reception Desk said he would put us in 1901 and would reserve the room right across the hall, 1902 for them. This was at the end of the hall where we had a view of the Riverwalk and this worked out perfectly for our family weekend reunion. This hotel is just far enough North of the shopping mall to be quiet, but is only a 5 minute walk to the action. The rear entrance is right at the waterfront. Their restaurant, which we used for an evening dinner overlooks the river and had excellent food and service. We asked for late checkout, and they put our bags in a locked room until time for our flight. We were also able to pull up our Southwest Boarding Passes and print them right from their computer center in the lobby . Everyone was very accommodating to our every request. For easy checkout, our receipt had been put under our door, and all we had to do was turn in our keycards. When we needed a taxi to the airport the valet had one that would hold 6 passengers within 5 minutes of our request. In other words, everything was perfect for us at this Hotel

Room Tip: 1901 was very quiet with a view of the Riverwalk. I would imagine 1801 and 1701 etc. would be very...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnRiverwalk, Administrative Assistant at Holiday Inn Riverwalk, responded to this review, April 15, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write such a wonderful, detailed review of your recent experience here at the Holiday Inn Riverwalk! Our ultimate goal here at the Holiday Inn Riverwalk is to provide excellent service, value, and convenience to valued guests such as yourself, and I'm so glad that we were able to provide you with such a great experience!

We hope you'll keep San Antonio, and our hotel in mind the next time your family is able to get together! We'd love to have you back!

Regards,

Lindsay Carroll-Rodriguez
Administrative Assistant
Lindsay.Carroll@ihg.com
210-224-2500 x 500
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2014

We were spending a quick night in San Antonio and wanted to be close to the Riverwalk. The Holiday Inn was a great option as it is close, affordable and their parking was reasonable. I was a bit disappointed in the room quality and cleanliness though. There is no carpet in the room and the laminate floor did not feel very clean in places, there was even something stuck not the floor next to the bed. I let the front desk know and they apologized. The walls and doors are definitely thin, the man in the next room had a cough and it sounded like he was in the same room at times. Also when there were people in the hall it was very loud.
On a good note, the staff was very friendly and helpful. The parking was very affordable and convenient and the hotel was easy to get to.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnRiverwalk, Administrative Assistant at Holiday Inn Riverwalk, responded to this review, April 8, 2014
Dear HarleyGirl61,

Thank you for taking the time out to provide us with details from your recent stay here at the Holiday Inn Riverwalk. I was disappointed to read about your poor room experience and would like to humbly extend my apologies for this. Please trust that feedback such as this is extremely valuable and has been shared with our management staff. In addition to this, we greatly appreciate you pointing our your good experiences with our service professionals and our parking garage. I look forward to sharing these comments with management, as well!

I would love the opportunity to hear more about your stay, as well as discuss a way in which we can make this up to you the next time your plans bring you to San Antonio. Please do not hesitate to call me or email me at your convenience. I look forward to hearing from you soon!

Regards,

Lindsay Carroll- Rodriguez
Administrative Assistant
Lindsay.Carroll@ihg.com
210-224-2500 x 500
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2014

I am currently staying here (6th April) and wanting to use the HI Windows on the River restaurant.I was unable to as it is more economic to seat patrons at the bar due to a slow night.The seating on offer was a stool at the bar or a stool at a bench to the side which may be ok but when 65yo and really just wanting a quiet relaxing meal overlooking the Riverwalk I was very disappointed.
After going to buy a packet of potato chips & a ice cream from lobby for my meal and letting reception know of my disappointment they confirmed it is for costing reasons... after spending nearly $900 on my accomadation I feel jipped.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnRiverwalk, Administrative Assistant at Holiday Inn Riverwalk, responded to this review, April 8, 2014
Dear Jillie0212,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us and bringing these concerns to our attention. Here at the Holiday Inn Riverwalk, we aim to deliver convenience, value, and excellent service to our hotel guests, and we deeply regret falling short of that during your time with us.

Please trust that matters such as these are taken very seriously and have been brought to the attention of management. Again, we greatly appreciate you taking the time to bring this to our attention. I would love the opportunity to discuss this more with you. Please do not hesitate to contact me via email or telephone at your convenience. I hope to have the pleasure of hearing from you soon!

Kindest Regards,

Lindsay Carroll- Rodriguez
Lindsay.Carroll@ihg.com
210-224-2500 x 500
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, GA
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2014

I was attending a workshop and didn't want to stay at the hotel the workshop was at. I wanted a place close to the action of the riverwalk, but not right in it, and I wanted a room with a view and balcony. This place fit the bill. We did arrive a few hours early and told them they could store our luggage and we would walk around and come back at check in time. We were told our room was not ready, but there a another one same type ready. We said sure. It was on the 4th floor, king room with a view of the riverwalk and balcony. The view was great, right at tree top level. We were only steps away from the beginning of the main riverwalk commercial district, but just off the main strip so it was quiet in the evening. Breakfast buffet was ok for what it was. We didn't rent a car as you can walk to most anything there. We did take the Topless Tour, ie, the bus tour where you can hop off and hop on at any point, so we say the art museum, and walked King William District and had lunch at the Blue Star Brewery at the Blue Star Arts Complex. We also did the Segway Tour and was a lot of fun.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnRiverwalk, Administrative Assistant at Holiday Inn Riverwalk, responded to this review, April 4, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay here at the Holiday Inn Riverwalk. We're so happy to read that you had such a nice experience, and that you were able to take in so much of what our beautiful city has to offer!

We hope you'll keep us in mind the next time your plans bring you to San Antonio! It would be a great pleasure to host you as our guest again!

Thank You!

Lindsay Carroll- Rodriguez
Administrative Assistant
Lindsay.Carroll@ihg.com
210-224-2500 x 500
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Riverwalk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Riverwalk

Address: 217 N St. Mary's St., San Antonio, TX 78205
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > San Antonio > Downtown , East Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#43 Romantic Hotel in San Antonio
#88 Business Hotel in San Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Riverwalk 3*
Number of rooms: 313
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Choose this Downtown San Antonio & Riverwalk location as your gateway to the city. Ideally situated in the heart of San Antonio s business, theatre, and nightlife district, this Downtown/Riverwalk destination hotel offers easy walking access to all of the San Antonio Downtown area attractions: the Alamo, El Mercado, the Rivercenter Mall, Henry B. Gonzales San Antonio Convention Center, Alamodome and the Majestic Theater. Every aspect of your stay at this Holiday Inn San Antonio Hotel defines our commitment to comfort and service. This San Antonio Riverwalk hotel features an outdoor heated pool, game room, fitness center and laundry service. Take advantage of our 24 hour Business Center, where you ll find High Speed Internet Access, printer and online services. We offer Complimentary Wireless High Speed Internet Access in all guest rooms, meeting rooms and public spaces. Enjoy Windows on the River, a tri-level restaurant that offers a picturesque view of the Riverwalk. Entice your taste buds and join us for breakfast, lunch and dinner. Make sure to bring the whole family because at the Holiday Inn San Antonio Riverwalk Hotel kids under 12 always eat free (some restrictions apply). The Holiday Inn Riverwalk s central location, grand hospitality, and elegance will insure you have a memorable experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, AAA Travel Services, Orbitz, BookIt.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Riverwalk reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Riverwalk Hotel San Antonio
Riverwalk Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn San Antonio
San Antonio Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Riverwalk, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.