We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Location” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Riverwalk

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Riverwalk to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Riverwalk
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   217 N St. Mary's St., San Antonio, TX 78205 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #82 of 352 Hotels in San Antonio
Lake Charles, Louisiana
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Nice Location”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2014

we stayed for 2 nights with my husband and our 2 children , Feb 27,14 - March 01,14
Room is clean and modern minimalist, the front desk clerk is so friendly n helpful
but the parking building is kinda dirty so many bottle of water and dirty tissue ,the tunnel to go to the riverwalk need more lights
My daughter went breakfast and it was not too many choices since we do not eat pork at all
but overall is good , we will be back

Room Tip: lower floor is better venue
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Riverwalk, responded to this review, March 20, 2014
Dear MrsMorelli,

Thank you for taking the time to communicate your concerns via Tripadvisor. We apologize for any inconvenience you have experienced.

We are glad to hear you did enjoy your stay in our hotel. We have taken note and wish to thank you for all your comments. These are of great importance to us and allow us to monitor and improve our service continually.

Thank you again for your comments. Your business is valued and we hope your future travel plans will continue to include IHG properties.

Regards,

Brenda J.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

630 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    201
    184
    121
    63
    61
See reviews for
168
169
23
132
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (150)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014

We stayed there for 2 nights, room was nice , my son is 2 years old and the bed is just too high, he felt 2 times but he's ok, the housekeeper need to Clean up the sofa underneath the cushion kind a dirty , breakfast wasn't good and short of staff but overall was good , friendly staff at the front desk

Stayed March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Riverwalk, responded to this review, March 18, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your review regarding your recent visit at our hotel and for providing us with your valuable feedback. I appreciate and wish to thank you for the kind words intended for the front desk staff. On the other hand, we are sincerely sorry to read about your negative experience over the height of the bed and cleanliness of the room. Your comments are being shared with the hotel management and appropriate action will be taken. We take all comments into consideration and welcome any opportunity to improve. If there is anything you need next time you stay with us, please do not hesitate to let us know.

Sincerely,

Karen G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fulton, Missouri
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014

As Platinum IHG reward members, we see a number of hotels throughout our travels. We would rank this an one of the top hotels we have been guests . We had a two room suite on the river side of the hotel. When you walk out on the balcony you can see the Riverwalk far below you.We liked the location of the hotel on the Riverwalk. While it was not in the middle of all the action, we could be in the heart of the Riverwalk within a few minutes. The room seemed to be recently renovated. I appreciated the non-carpeted floors and great shower. One evening we wanted a something "sweet" to end the evening. The restaurant staff was great, even though they knew we were only ordering coffee and dessert.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnRiverwalk, Administrative Assistant at Holiday Inn Riverwalk, responded to this review, March 3, 2014
Dear Tbirdmom,

It is so great to read such an incredible review from one of our IHG Rewards Platinum Elite members! Thank you for taking the time to provide us with details from your recent experience here at the Holiday Inn San Antonio Riverwalk. We're so glad that you loved our newly renovated rooms, excellent location, and that you found our staff to be helpful. I greatly look forward to sharing these kind comments with them during our weekly service meeting!

Please keep the Holiday Inn Riverwalk in mind the next time your plans bring you to the Alamo City! We would absolutely love to have the pleasure of hosting you as our guest again!

Kindest Regards,

Lindsay Carroll- Rodriguez
Administrative Assistant
Lindsay.Carroll@ihg.com
210-224-2500 x 500
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corpus Christi, Texas
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014

My husband and I had a very nice stay at the Holiday Inn Riverwalk. We started out with a very friendly and helpful young lady at check-in. The room was nice and spacious, with a great view of the riverwalk. We will stay there again.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnRiverwalk, Administrative Assistant at Holiday Inn Riverwalk, responded to this review, March 3, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time out to review your recent Holiday Inn Riverwalk experience! We're so happy to read that you enjoyed your time with us, and greatly look forward to hosting you as our guest again the next time your plans include our beautiful city. Please do not hesitate to email me directly for booking assistance.

Kindest Regards,

Lindsay Carroll- Rodriguez
Administrative Assistant
Lindsay.Carroll@ihg.com
210-224-2500 x 500
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Streator, Illinois
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2014

I stayed here a while back while travelling with an extended family member, a great uncle. We were just passing through and we are both partial to Holiday Inn. This is everything you expect from a Holiday Inn. Great staff, great room, great service in general. Cannot say enough about this stay even though it was only a one night stay. Would gladly stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnRiverwalk, Administrative Assistant at Holiday Inn Riverwalk, responded to this review, March 3, 2014
Dear 1roadwarrior10,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay here with us at the Holiday Inn Riverwalk. I was so elated to read that you had such a great experience, and greatly look forward to sharing these wonderful comments with our staff! We hope to have the pleasure of hosting you as our guest again the next time you are able to make it down to the Alamo City!

Regards,

Lindsay Carroll- Rodriguez
Administrative Assistant
Lindsay.Carroll@ihg.com
210-224-2500 x 500
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, BC
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2014

This is on a great part of the river walk. It's quiet but not far from anything. Rooms were clean although our suite had wood floors instead of carpet which I am not a fan if. Also decor is a bit too Ikea minimalistic cold for me. Bed was also too firm but I'm pregnant so that might just not be my taste right now. Showers great and pretty much everything else!. Friendly staff and great breakfast and views at the hotel restaurant. Oh we set room to 67 at night but no way did it get colder than 72. Typical hotel AC I guess.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnRiverwalk, Administrative Assistant at Holiday Inn Riverwalk, responded to this review, February 28, 2014
Dear TiffyKat44,

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with details from your recent experience here at the Holiday Inn San Antonio Riverwalk! I was happy to read about your positive experiences at the hotel restaurant and with our staff, and will be sure to share these kind comments with them! We appreciate your honesty and feedback about the room temperature, flooring and beds. We deeply regret falling short of your expectations in those areas of your stay and would love the opportunity to make it up to you the next time you make it down to the Alamo City! Please do not hesitate to contact me so that we can discuss this a bit further. I would love to have the pleasure of your reply!

Thanks again for your time and feedback-- and congratulations on your pregnancy!

Regards,

Lindsay Carroll- Rodriguez
Administrative Assistant
Lindsay.Carroll@ihg.com
210-224-2500 x 500.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntsville, Alabama
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014

This hotel is at the end of the riverwalk so to speak. Everything is off in one direction. That is actually kind of a plus because it's quieter, yet convenient. On the surface streets it is close to all the downtown stuff, drug stores, etc. The rooms were clean and seem to have been recently renovated. Daily maid service was thorough. Refrigerator was large and quiet, but no freezer compartment. Which meant I had to eat the entire pint of ice cream in one sitting (darn). I had a 15th floor "Riverview" room, but you needed binoculars to see that far down. Convenient entry/exit right on the river accessible with room key.

Room Tip: If you want an actual view of the river stay below floor 8
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Riverwalk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Riverwalk

Address: 217 N St. Mary's St., San Antonio, TX 78205
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > San Antonio > Downtown , East Side
Amenities:
Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#39 Romantic Hotel in San Antonio
#72 Business Hotel in San Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Riverwalk 3*
Number of rooms: 313
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Choose this Downtown San Antonio & Riverwalk location as your gateway to the city. Ideally situated in the heart of San Antonio s business, theatre, and nightlife district, this Downtown/Riverwalk destination hotel offers easy walking access to all of the San Antonio Downtown area attractions: the Alamo, El Mercado, the Rivercenter Mall, Henry B. Gonzales San Antonio Convention Center, Alamodome and the Majestic Theater. Every aspect of your stay at this Holiday Inn San Antonio Hotel defines our commitment to comfort and service. This San Antonio Riverwalk hotel features an outdoor heated pool, game room, fitness center and laundry service. Take advantage of our 24 hour Business Center, where you ll find High Speed Internet Access, printer and online services. We offer Complimentary Wireless High Speed Internet Access in all guest rooms, meeting rooms and public spaces. Enjoy Windows on the River, a tri-level restaurant that offers a picturesque view of the Riverwalk. Entice your taste buds and join us for breakfast, lunch and dinner. Make sure to bring the whole family because at the Holiday Inn San Antonio Riverwalk Hotel kids under 12 always eat free (some restrictions apply). The Holiday Inn Riverwalk s central location, grand hospitality, and elegance will insure you have a memorable experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, BookIt.com, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Riverwalk reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Riverwalk Hotel San Antonio
Riverwalk Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn San Antonio
San Antonio Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Riverwalk, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.