We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stayed three nights” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Riverwalk

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Riverwalk to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Riverwalk
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   217 N St. Mary's St., San Antonio, TX 78205 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #82 of 352 Hotels in San Antonio
Washington, DC
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Stayed three nights”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2012

Stayed here while attending a conference in town. Wanted a place near the Riverwalk, but not at the hefty prices of some of the higher end hotels. The stay was very comfortable. The rooms were very clean. I had a room at the far end of the hotel, so it was quiet. I think being on the end also affected the shower because I never really got any hot water, just luke warm. The fitness room was nice, but it was dead-bolt locked early in the morning when I needed to use it (0545), even though it required a room key for entry.
Finally, the breakfast was not complimentary as in the Holiday Inn Express' and was nearly $13 for the buffet. I did not eat breakfast there. Overall, I would stay there again. I would rate this better than average...just not 'very good'.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Riverwalk, responded to this review, May 23, 2012
Dear Joe L,

Thank you for your feedback. We are glad you enjoyed your room accommodations. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. We’re sorry you experienced only luke warm water and for any inconvenience the hours of our fitness room may have caused you. We hope you give us a chance in the future to show you how great our hotel is.

If there is anything we can do to make your next stay more comfortable, please do not hesitate to ask.

Sincerely,
Jaime W
Case Manager
IHGCare
Reference # 27710299
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

630 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    201
    184
    121
    63
    61
See reviews for
168
169
23
132
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (150)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mabank, Texas
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2012

We stayed in this hotel for 3 nights in March. It was ok, we weren't very impressed with the quality of the maid service to start with. They took care of the bare minimum. We had an empty kleenex box that was never replaced, the plastic cups used were never replaced and the couple that were used that we had left sitting on the counter were just left there and not thrown away(which is not a huge deal because we can throw them away ourselves but I've stayed in Motel 6's that would take care of that type of thing). The liner for the ice bucket was never replaced, she left the water from the previous night's ice in it and twisted the top shut, I've never seen that done before. Overall cleanliness of the room not good. Our biggest complaint was the girl we dealt with at check-in. She was definiely not worried about customer
satisfaction, just getting through her shift.
On the positive side they had free wi-fi and the parking attendent was very helpful and informative when we first arrived although the parking rates were a bit high in our opinion.
We were expecting much better for the prices at this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Riverwalk, responded to this review, May 14, 2012
kozzer1,

Thank you for your feedback. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. We’re sorry you received service (or quality) which was unacceptable. We hope that you give us a chance in the future to show you how great our hotel is.

Ben J
IHG Care
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Strathmore, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2012

We had prebooked and paid for in full a king delux room through a travel agent before we left on our holiday. We arrived at theHoliday Inn Riverwalk the front desk told us we would be staying in a double room. We immediately told them that is not what we paid for and the front desk went on to lie to us by telling us it was our travel agents fault and she did not book the right room and maybe there might be a bigger room come avaible in the morning but it was going to cost us. We went to the the double room and the beds were no bigger than twins! We immediately phoned our travel agent who comfirmed we booked the king and that the front desk was lying. Jacob Newhimmeny the manager was rude our travel agent and her boss, when they were trying to get us moved to another hotel so we could get a king bed. He refused, it was not until the travel agent threaten to go to corporate did he find another room for us.But when first checked in according the front desk there was no extra rooms available. But the room we did get was a handicap room , it was only a queen bed and there was no counter space in the washroom.The room constantly smells of mildew. The food is terrible in the restaurant. Dont stay at this hotel!!!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnRiverwalk, Manager at Holiday Inn Riverwalk, responded to this review, April 12, 2012
We are so sorry that your experience at the Holiday Inn San Antonio Riverwalk was less than satisfactory.

We try so hard to accommodate all travel agency requests. Unfortunately, many times, a travel agent books a "run of the house" room, which indicates any room type available at the time of check in. We are so sorry that they did not communicate that to you at the time of booking.

We are so glad that we were able to move you from a room with two standard double beds to a room with one queen bed during this very busy time.

In the future please be sure our website to book your reservation. Rooms are reserved according to your specifications to avoid unfortunate surprises like the one above.

Room types include: King Bed, King Bed Riverview, 2 Double Bed, 2 Double Bed Riverview and Executive Suites.

We hope to see you again soon. Until then take care and safe travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Pete Beach, Fl
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2012

Got here on a Thursday and stayed until Monday. The only time that the maid came to officially clean the room was the very next day after check in at 830 am! We were still sleeping. And we had not even been the 24 hours! How messy could it be? The next day they only maderhe beds. We had to call for towels, coffee and TOILET PAPER! Really?!?! Sunday by noon they never came I had to call. When I called I was informed that they 315 guest and would be there when they get there! How is having 315 guest to clean for MY problem? I am a paying guest here. Beside the location this place is horrible. Oh and did I mention I am priority club member? It gets u NOTHING!!!

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Riverwalk, responded to this review, May 3, 2012
Dear meganmichelle1968,

Thank you for staying with us. Our hotel is very proud of its level of service, cleanliness and quality of its product and for this reason your comments are very troubling and will certainly be looked into. While we understand that your stay was not 100% satisfactory, we would hope that you would give us another chance to make your stay as best as it can be.

Katie J
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central Jersey
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2012

Hotel is looking a little rundown. No hot water in the first room. Had to wait about 20 minutes just to get the front desk on the line. Then they told me to come down for a new room key, since it would take about an hour for someone to bring a key up to me. Had to wait 20 minutes in line at the front desk to get the key. Anyway, if you're going to San Antonio Riverwalk, there are a bunch of hotels to stay in, I wouldn't stay in the Holiday Inn again with all of the competition.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Riverwalk, responded to this review, May 4, 2012
Dear TimCentralJersey,

Thank you for your review. I certainly apologize for the hot water issue and for any inconvenience or negative impression this might have caused you. I understand why you are disappointed, let me assure you that this is not our usual level of service. Our management has taken note of this and proper action has been taken to ensure that situations of this nature will not reoccur in the future.

Sincerely,
Brenda J.
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitesboro, Texas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2012

This hotel was great. The rooms were clean, the bedding was comfortable, the staff was very friendly and helpful. Our original room we were put in, the patio door would not open, called the front desk and we were moved within 5 minutes, great service!!!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2012

My wife and I visited this hotel for our anniversary and even though we live in San Antonio we never stayed in a hotel at the riverwalk. It was a nicer view than I expected and the rooms were very clean. The service was excellent, I called the front a couple of times for a corkscrew and toothpaste that we didnt bring and they had someone bring it up immediately. The price was a little high but your mostly paying for the location. Overall we enjoyed our little getaway.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Riverwalk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Riverwalk

Address: 217 N St. Mary's St., San Antonio, TX 78205
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > San Antonio > Downtown , East Side
Amenities:
Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#39 Romantic Hotel in San Antonio
#72 Business Hotel in San Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Riverwalk 3*
Number of rooms: 313
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Choose this Downtown San Antonio & Riverwalk location as your gateway to the city. Ideally situated in the heart of San Antonio s business, theatre, and nightlife district, this Downtown/Riverwalk destination hotel offers easy walking access to all of the San Antonio Downtown area attractions: the Alamo, El Mercado, the Rivercenter Mall, Henry B. Gonzales San Antonio Convention Center, Alamodome and the Majestic Theater. Every aspect of your stay at this Holiday Inn San Antonio Hotel defines our commitment to comfort and service. This San Antonio Riverwalk hotel features an outdoor heated pool, game room, fitness center and laundry service. Take advantage of our 24 hour Business Center, where you ll find High Speed Internet Access, printer and online services. We offer Complimentary Wireless High Speed Internet Access in all guest rooms, meeting rooms and public spaces. Enjoy Windows on the River, a tri-level restaurant that offers a picturesque view of the Riverwalk. Entice your taste buds and join us for breakfast, lunch and dinner. Make sure to bring the whole family because at the Holiday Inn San Antonio Riverwalk Hotel kids under 12 always eat free (some restrictions apply). The Holiday Inn Riverwalk s central location, grand hospitality, and elegance will insure you have a memorable experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, BookIt.com, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Riverwalk reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Riverwalk Hotel San Antonio
Riverwalk Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn San Antonio
San Antonio Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Riverwalk, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.