We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“NOT a 3 star, more like a 1 star if that!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Quality Inn & Suites Near Fort Sam Houston

Save Saved
You added Quality Inn & Suites Near Fort Sam Houston to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Quality Inn & Suites Near Fort Sam Houston
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3855 IH-35 North, San Antonio, TX 78219   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #132 of 350 hotels in San Antonio
Forney
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“NOT a 3 star, more like a 1 star if that!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2009

We will never, i repeat NEVER stay at The Clarion again. I booked this hotel thru Hotwire and was very dissapointed with this hotel chain and Hotwire for scamming me out of my money. The location of this hotel was in a bad area, abondoned warehouse area of San Antonio. The hotel its self was very old and looked like it needed to be torn down and rebuilt. As soon as we walked into our room, it smelled like moldy, musty, dirty carpet and sewage. It smelled like people had smoked in the room before, even though we were in a non-smoking section. The carpet was old and smelled nasty,had stains and needed to be replaced, matter of fact the entire room needed to be replaced! The bathroom smelled like sewage and had stains on the toilet and tub. Overall, this hotel stay sucked and we were ripped off. Didnt get a 3 star hotel more like 1 star or even 1/2 a star if that! I will NEVER book thru Hotwire ever again, they rip you off after you book and promise you something and you end up with nothing. I will never stay at the Clarion or hotel chains by Choice Hotels.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    17
    9
    6
    7
    7
See reviews for
19
9
3
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2009

I booked this one through Hotwire and was very disappointed when I entered the lobby. Most of the lights were out and the place had the overall vibe of a hotel about to either be stripped of its brand-name, or flat-out condemned. The lobby decor can best be described as "we've given up!" This was probably at one time a very nice property, but time and the unforgiving Texas sun has taken its toll on it, and the overall vibe of the exterior and interior is worn-out, dated, and frankly, depressing. My room was in decent condition but not particularly clean...there were hairs in the shower; greasy finger smudges on the doors and window; food bits on the carpet. Nothing too shocking, but it felt more like a Travelodge than a Clarion. On the positive side, the pool is quite large, and the bed was quite comfortable.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PMGM, General Manager at Quality Inn & Suites Near Fort Sam Houston, responded to this review, July 30, 2009
Thank you for the review. Our lobby is generally well lit during the day our dining room joins the lobby and you are correct that when dining area is closed and lights are off it does look dim. Since your review I have asked for the front lights in the dining area be left on thank you for the tip. We just received our new brand name in April and we are currently under a transition from Holiday Inn to Clarion. With any transition we are in the process of painting, upgrading, and purchasing our computer systems along with new bedding packages with this of course with any transition takes time to complete. Thank you for the compliments as well. I hope in the future you give us another chance to welcome you back to our beautiful Clarion Inn & Suites at Fort Sam Houston.

Best Regards,
Paul Martinez/General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sealy tx
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2009

very nice & friendly staff. They fixed any problems immediately! clean rooms and didn't mess with our things that we left while we were out. They're rates were awesome too. The very BEST hotel I've stayed in. A big pool! I am staying here every time I come to San Antonio TX. thanks for eveything paul!!!!

deborah wilson

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PMGM, General Manager at Quality Inn & Suites Near Fort Sam Houston, responded to this review, July 30, 2009
Thank you very much for your stay with us. I am pleased that none of our maintenance and transition work caused you any inconvenience. Your compliments are appreciated during this transition from Holiday Inn to Clarion Inn & Suites at Fort Sam Houston.

Best Regards,
Paul Martinez/General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Quality Inn & Suites Near Fort Sam Houston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Inn & Suites Near Fort Sam Houston

Address: 3855 IH-35 North, San Antonio, TX 78219
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > San Antonio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Best Value Hotel in San Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Quality Inn & Suites Near Fort Sam Houston 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Clarion Inn and Suites is Northeast San Antonio's only full-service hotel. The hotel is near to Fort Sam Houston, Brook Army Medical, and only five minutes from downtown San Antonio and the River Walk. Our guests experience clean, comfortable rooms, terrific food and a friendly staff. Enjoy our courtyard pool! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Choice Hotels and Venere so you can book your Quality Inn & Suites Near Fort Sam Houston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn And Suites Near Fort Sam Houston
Quality Inn & Suites Near Fort Sam Houston Hotel San Antonio
Clarion San Antonio
San Antonio Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn San Antonio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Quality Inn & Suites Near Fort Sam Houston, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.