We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“HORRIBLE!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn San Antonio Downtown

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn San Antonio Downtown to your Saves list
Holiday Inn San Antonio Downtown
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   318 West Cesar Chavez, San Antonio, TX 78204 (Avenida Guadalupe)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #154 of 352 Hotels in San Antonio
1 review
“HORRIBLE!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2014

checked in after midnight after a long drive. Carried all our stuff in and then were told we had to go back out and put a parking ticket in the window of the car! Hotel room was filthy! It looks like the have never dusted or cleaned the bathroom. It was so nasty I cleaned it myself! Lazy maids. Then in the morning my boyfriend had some stuff he had to send to kinkos for an early morning business meeting and pressed for time and the internet in the room was so slow it wouldn't load, he was told to call a 1800 #. Breakfast, do we even wanna go there? The $11 dollar buffet was disgusting! Then two differnt servers and the manager bugged us every 2 minutes asking if we needed oj or if everything was ok. We couldn't get through a full conversation without being interrupted. I would never stay at this hotel again. Oh and the bonus... there was a disgusting pubic hair on the clean towels! !!

Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerBBaker, Manager at Holiday Inn San Antonio Downtown, responded to this review, April 18, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your comments, I just wish your experience would have been better. Please accept my apology on behalf of my team. It sounds like we may have been too attentive for your liking in our restaurant. I will share your comments with my staff so we can continue to improve in all areas going forward. Safe Travels! Ben, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

381 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    110
    112
    90
    36
    33
See reviews for
111
95
27
77
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
North Dakota
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2014

The San Antonio Riverwalk has exceptionally expensive motel rooms. Traveling alone I wanted to save money so I booked this by using Hotwire and choose 3-star hotels within the map zone of the Riverwalk. I was very happy with the rate saving 75% of the rates on the river. If you're traveling alone, want to save money and have safety stay here in a clean, air-conditioned hotel with a balcony, and there is a pool and hot-tub in the courtyard closes. Could use a lot of updates as it's not upscale like other Holiday Inn's but it saved me a lot of money. (Restaurant and bar downstairs no continental breakfast.) Front desk friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: Eat at The Texas Cattle and Company Restaurant on the Riverwalk. Lunch special, smoked 6 oz smoked s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerBBaker, General Manager at Holiday Inn San Antonio Downtown, responded to this review, April 16, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to comment on your stay with us. Safe Travels! Ben, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2014

We were on a motor bike tour from the East to West coasts and San Antonio was one of our stop overs. We had planned two nights at this hotel, but unfortunately left after only one night. The hotel itself is in a fairly good location, a bit of a walk to the riverwalk area and the Alamo, but not too far. The room was comfortable and spacious, although it was starting to look a little tired.

Mostly I was unhappy with this hotel for two reasons. The first (which really put us off) was the concierge (or the guy you ask for help with taxis etc). We wanted to go out for dinner and had a restaurant in mind that we really wanted to go to in one of the suburbs (amazing true mexican) ... we asked the concierge to order us a taxi. After he had phoned for the taxi, he commenced to ask us about how often we "vacation" ... I should have realised immediately what this was about, but fell into the trap. He then starts in on "would we like to win a holiday" ... and mentions Wyndham. Well now I realise we are about to get the time share talk - I nip this in the bud quickly by telling him we had only been to a presentation back home in Australia six months previously and I know you are not eligible to "get another free prize" for 12 months. And honestly we told him we were only there for a day, and we were from Oz - why would we want to "win" seven nights we would never be able to use and give up half a day for their hard sell???

Anyway that was fine and we went outside to wait for our cab. 30 minutes later it still hasn't turned up so hubby goes back in and asks the guy about our taxi. He then makes another call and it is at this point that my hubby realises that the guy has phoned a "friend" rather than just a cab company - and calls him on this. We then figure out that the "friend cab driver" is likely going to rip us off and that the "concierge" gets some sort of kick back on all this. That was it for us - we decided then and there we would only stay one night.

So we headed for riverwalk only to find it dead as a doornail at 8.30pm at night (and somewhat scary to be honest). We finally found a cab, got to the place we had wanted to go to at 7pm and luckily they were still opened.

The second reason I am giving this hotel a poor rating is an issue we had with our washing. Hubby had put a load of washing on and then into the dryer - it was right at the back of the hotel up on the 4th floor, and he felt it would be unlikely that someone would come up there, let alone take anything. So he left it in the dryer while he popped back to the room for 10 minutes. When he went back he discovered that the dryer had "stopped with 7 minutes still remaining" so got the stuff out and brought it back to the room. At this point we realised that things had been stolen - not everything - just selected items. My jeans (I was on a bike with only 3 pairs of jeans, to have one stolen did not make me happy) along with a few pairs of his underwear and a couple of odd socks. Yet they left my t-shirts and underwear. Very strange.

Anyway we complained to Tonya who was on the front desk - she was appalled and comped the room for us for the night. I was very impressed with her understanding and surprised that we had our room comped (it was after all our fault for leaving the washing). So how the situation was handled was beyond expectations - and big thanks to Tonya, it was really appreciated.

But unfortunately that along with the concierge situation left us with a bad taste in our mouth for this hotel. Which is a shame.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerBBaker, General Manager at Holiday Inn San Antonio Downtown, responded to this review, April 11, 2014
Thank you for sharing you stay and comments with us. I know Tonya did her best to take care of you and help you out. I will make sure the concierge team sees your comments too. Safe Travels! Ben, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2014

The hotel staff was very kind. We found two small roaches in our bathtub when we woke up in the morning. Gross. I didn't tell my travelmate until we left the hotel - she would have freaked out. The beds were comfortable. They need to add iced tea to the breakfast offerings.


  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerBBaker, General Manager at Holiday Inn San Antonio Downtown, responded to this review, April 8, 2014
Thank you for telling us about your stay. I appreciate the info and suggestions. Safe Travels! Ben, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2014

The buffet was well prepared and presented and our host polite and pleasant.
We ate more than enough.

Our server, Brandi, was excellent...Great service, well attended table and very courteous. We will be back!!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerBBaker, General Manager at Holiday Inn San Antonio Downtown, responded to this review, April 1, 2014
Thank you for sharing your comments with us. I know Brandi will get a kick out of it too! Safe Travels Ben, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2014

It was little bit of a walk to the main section of the River Walk, but I like to walk. At check in, the first person (a woman) was rude and giving me a hard time when I wanted to change rooms. the manager stepped in and took care of it, like a front desk person is supposed to do. Despite it being Texas, the pool was very cold, and I mean "very" cold, as was the whirlpool. Not a bad stay, and as a bonus, they had great Motown and 60's music playing in the lobby.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerBBaker, General Manager at Holiday Inn San Antonio Downtown, responded to this review, March 20, 2014
Thank you for choosing to stay at our Hotel and passing on your thoughts. I am glad you things worked out for you. Safe Travels! Ben, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2014

Beds were a little firm but very clean and comfortable. The patio opening to the pool was very nice. Shower head was a little low (being 6'5" might be the issue). Parking was tight and full at times. Great customer service.

Room Tip: Poolside first floor was great
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerBBaker, General Manager at Holiday Inn San Antonio Downtown, responded to this review, March 20, 2014
Thank you for choosing to stay at our Hotel. I am glad you had a nice visit and enjoyed our staff. Safe Travels! Ben, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn San Antonio Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn San Antonio Downtown

Address: 318 West Cesar Chavez, San Antonio, TX 78204
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > San Antonio > Avenida Guadalupe , Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #154 of 352 Hotels in San Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn San Antonio Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 313
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Downtown-Market Square is located just 2 blocks to Market Square, 6 blocks to the River Walk area, 8 blocks to Convention Center, 10 blocks to the Alamodome. We have beautifully renovated all of the guest rooms, lobby, fitness center, and pool area! We offer interior corridors, complimentary parking and wi-fi. Madera Restaurant & Bar. Large outdoor pool with spa and sundeck. Business center and sundry shop. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn San Antonio Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn San Antonio Downtown Hotel San Antonio
San Antonio Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn San Antonio Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.