We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Everything is always great. That is why I keep coming...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The St. Anthony Hotel

Save Saved
You added The St. Anthony Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
The St. Anthony Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   300 East Travis Street, San Antonio, TX 78205 (Formerly The St. Anthony Riverwalk, A Wyndham Hotel) (East Side)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #156 of 350 hotels in San Antonio
El Paso
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Everything is always great. That is why I keep coming...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

Everything is always great. That is why I keep coming back. The location is perfect. The hotel is elegant. The staff is extremely helpful and very customer service focused. I have recommended this hotel to many people and always bring my family to stay.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel and Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

971 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    245
    291
    205
    151
    79
See reviews for
202
284
25
278
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (165)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Apollo, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

My husband and I booked this hotel via "Name your price" on Priceline. We were "stuck" with this hotel. When we arrived, we could not have been more pleased! The lobby reminds me of a turn of the century mansion, with big artwork and sculptures, very beautiful. For it's antiquated state, the hotel is simply lovely and charming! Our room was HUGE, two queen sized poster beds which were EXTREMELY comfortable. Even the room service was good and better than typical subpar hotel food. The location is quiet but just a few minute walk to the river walk and Alamo. We stumbled into this hotel and could not be more pleased! We would stay here again for sure!!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jared B, General Manager at The St. Anthony Hotel, responded to this review, May 3, 2013
Thank you for the great review and I am happy to see we exceeded your expectations.

Jared Bailey,
Hotel General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

Upon arriving at this hotel, we could see that it was once a beautiful and elegant place. However, it it now needs an overhaul--top to bottom. Starting from the check-in process (there was someone already in our room when we entered) to the day we departed, there were small annoyances. The keys we were given did not work and had to be replaced on a couple of occasions. There was no hot water (I mean none) the first evening we attempted to shower. And when the water was hot, it was barely more than a trickle. The bathroom was tiny. If you were washing your face, you were in constant danger of hitting your head on the shelf just above the sink. The restaurant, though lovely, served a pretty lame breakfast. Pancakes tasted like raw dough, they had no muffins or bagels--coffee did not taste like Starbucks (as advertised). Finally, although close to the Riverwalk, this hotel is a couple of blocks away, on a rather unattractive street. We were expecting to look out of our window and actually be on the Riverwalk. All in all, a disappointing stay.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

I paid additional money for the specific purpose of being able to cancel my reservation. Due to a hospital emergency, I had to postpone my trip. Despite paying the extra money in advance, the hotel refused to cancel my reservation and charged me for a full night. I felt that this was heartless of them, given my circumstances, and the fact that I phoned them hours before 6 p.m. with the cancellation.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Buena Vista, Florida, United States
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

I attended a convention at this hotel and didn't have a choice in selecting this hotel. This was a grand hotel back when it was built in 1909. Today, it's old, tired, and worn out. I received a note upon check-in that the hotel is going through a major mutli-million dollar renovation starting April 15, 2013 and lasting for a year. However, look at the other reviews, this worn out hotel has been under renovation for years and besides a lot of dust and closed off hallways, nothing looks renovated to me. The pool is closed and the decking is torn up due to the renovation. The hotel is 3 blocks from the Riverwalk, where there are several beautiful hotels that are directly on the Riverwalk. The bathroom in my room was all original 1909 except for the toilet. The hot water had no pressure and dribbled out at the sink and tub faucets and the enamel was worn off the tub and sink. There was only one accessible electrical outlet in my room under the desk. The carpeting was dirty and worn thread bare in the traffic patterns around the bed and the glossy cherry finish on the furniture in the room was marred and nicked in many places. I would not recommend staying at this hotel to anyone since there are much nicer hotels in better locations for equal or less money. I will say the hotel staff was exceptionally friendly and the pillow top mattress appeared new and was very comfortable.

Room Tip: Every room in this OLD hotel is a different size and configuration. I wouldn't stay here again...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jared B, General Manager at The St. Anthony Hotel, responded to this review, May 3, 2013
Dear Valued Customer,

I am very sorry for the experience you had at the hotel. I will have my engineering department look into the lack of water pressure and ensure this is fixed immediately. I understand your concern regarding the advertisement of a renovation at the hotel as previous owners have promised prior to our purchase, which did not happen. I want to assure you we have started the renovation, as of April 15 the first section of our rooms were removed which marks the official start of our renovation process. Our ownership group purchased the hotel in late April 2012 and started planning the major renovation around that time, unfortunately, the planning process has taken longer than we expected which has resulted in a later start date and completion date from what we had planned.

Jared Bailey,
Hotel General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The St. Anthony Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The St. Anthony Hotel

Address: 300 East Travis Street, San Antonio, TX 78205 (Formerly The St. Anthony Riverwalk, A Wyndham Hotel)
Location: United States > Texas > San Antonio > East Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#156 Top resorts Hotel in San Antonio
#156 Luxury Hotel in San Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The St. Anthony Hotel 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, BookIt.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Amex, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, HotelsClick, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your The St. Anthony Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The St Anthony Hotel
Wyndham San Antonio
St Anthony Hotel San Antonio
San Antonio Wyndham

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The St. Anthony Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.