We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Have stayed here at least three times and keep coming back...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The St. Anthony Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added The St. Anthony Hotel to your Saves list
The St. Anthony Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   300 East Travis Street, San Antonio, TX 78205 (Formerly The St. Anthony Riverwalk, A Wyndham Hotel)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #159 of 352 Hotels in San Antonio
SUGAR LAND
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Have stayed here at least three times and keep coming back...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

Have stayed here at least three times and keep coming back. The double/double rooms are grand size and the historic essence is so well preserved. Beds are super comfy and it is so nice a quiet that you wake up so refreshed!
Really sorry to hear they are making it into a luxury brand with a multi-million dollar renovation this next year ---- because I am sure the room rental rates will no longer for affordable! It is so nice now ---- the environment and the price.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel and Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

985 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    246
    297
    207
    148
    87
See reviews for
208
291
25
280
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (171)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

This is a wonderfully stylish hotel just minutes from the river walk in San Antonio. Our bedroom was large although the bathroom was a little on the small side with a sink tap that dripped permanently. The public areas were beautifully decorated for Christmas and there were areas to sit - useful if trying to access the free wifi. The downsides were that breakfast was not included and there was no free wifi in the bedrooms. Parking was also expensive and across the street so if you self parked you had a short walk to check in. We had room service one night but only one set of cutlery was delivered which we shared!We would however stay here again if we returned to San Antonio.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, TX
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

I attended a conference here this month and the experience was very, very nice! The staff was extremely polite and courteous. The hotel is beautiful and full of awesome memorabilia. This was a very nice place that I would stay at again if downtown San Antonio, TX.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
King's Lynn
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

This was the most expensive hotel that I stayed in on my trip to the US, but the hotel had lots of character as it is very historic and thus is not very new in terms of the furnishings and decorations. The hotel is required to maintain it's historic appearance, which is perfectly acceptable (in fact I encourage it) however this is no excuse for the early 1990s TVs and the poor wifi signal.

While the connection speed was around a megabit, which was better than average for what I experienced in the hotels I stayed at in the US, given the price of the hotel (and the fact that wireless technology by it's very nature is hidden from view so does not impact on the requirements for maintaining its historic appearance) there is no excuse for not having a more reliable service. I appreciate that it is a 10 storey historic hotel (and I was staying on the top floor) however given the prices charges for the rooms in this day and age it is no excuse.

My sister stayed in an adjacent room and her room was missing a hairdryer so we ended up giving her the one from our room.

Another point to raise was the laundry service seemed very expensive, it quoted $3.00 per pair of underwear, for that money it was cheaper to just go to a supermarket and buy new underwear... which is what we did!

However, apart from these minor gripes, the rooms were excellent, they were clean, full of character and the hotel was in a great central location, a short walk from the Alamo and the Riverwalk.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The St. Anthony Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The St. Anthony Hotel

Address: 300 East Travis Street, San Antonio, TX 78205 (Formerly The St. Anthony Riverwalk, A Wyndham Hotel)
Location: United States > Texas > San Antonio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in San Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The St. Anthony Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 352
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The St. Anthony Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The St Anthony Hotel
Wyndham San Antonio
St Anthony Hotel San Antonio
San Antonio Wyndham

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The St. Anthony Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.