We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable, near Riverwalk” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The St. Anthony Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added The St. Anthony Hotel to your Saves list
The St. Anthony Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   300 East Travis Street, San Antonio, TX 78205 (Formerly The St. Anthony Riverwalk, A Wyndham Hotel)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #159 of 352 Hotels in San Antonio
Twin Cities, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Comfortable, near Riverwalk”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

We stayed here for two nights, one at the beginning of a 10-day stay in San Antonio and one night at the end. We found the hotel comfortable, with a beautiful lobby and a nice restaurant for breakfast. The rooms were comfortable, though the bathroom could have used some updating, a coat of paint and maybe a patch or two on the wall. The outdoor pool was a great place to relax and cool off in the evening. There was a valet-service parking garage in the hotel that we used, though i don't recall the price of that service. The hotel is only a block and a half from Riverwalk and just a few blocks from the Alamo and other downtown sites. The room rate was about $76 a night.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

985 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    246
    297
    207
    148
    87
See reviews for
208
291
25
280
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (171)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Canberra, Australia
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

We stayed at the St Anthony for two nights as our first stop on a short US trip. We'd read both good and not-so-good reviews here so I think we were prepared for a mixed experience.

On the positive side the building really is a grand old charmer. The architectural details in the formal lobby area really make this building a photogenic standout. Our room, a standard, also had some charming period details such as classic black and white bathroom tiling and four poster bed. The bed itself was very comfortable and I assume relatively new. Bath towels and toiletries were fine, but nothing exceptional, and the room overall was quite clean. We didn’t use the bar or dining options, but the bar looked welcoming enough. The business centre was pretty basic, consisting of a couple of computers and printers on desks – but that was all we needed to check in for our onward flights without a fuss. The staff were polite and professional and always able to answer our questions.

On the not so positive side, our standard room seemed pretty crowded. The carpet looked old and worn, and was almost threadbare on the heavy traffic areas. New carpeting would spruce the rooms up instantly. Unfortunately, sound seemed to carry through the walls, so if you happen to have a room near some rowdy folk (as we did the first night) you will be hearing conversations quite clearly late at night. While visually stunning, the lobby area does smell of heavily scented deodoriser or similar, which is curious at least.

One of the St Anthony’s strengths is location. The hotel fronts Travis Park, and there are handy bus options almost at the door. We saved money on airport transfers by taking the no. 5 bus route to the airport on Navarro St for $1.10. Very close by there is a Walgreen’s, as well as restaurants and a few choices for breakfast. Sites such as the San Antonio Riverwalk and the Alamo are also within easy walking distance.

Room Tip: High rooms facing Travis Park have lovely views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
spring, tx
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

this hotel was once visited by such people as john wayne, princess grace kelly, arnold schwarznagger and others. dates back to 1906 when luxury was the keynote word. very ornate, rooms are simple but king size beds beyond belief. located within two blocks of the river walk and close to local highways. you can walk to most down town attractions via the river walk or upper streets. could be a little pricey but okay to splurge once in awhile. had a nice two night stay.

Room Tip: they charge to park in their facilities. breakfast items are individually priced, makes it a little...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

Loved the lobby and other areas in the hotel. Staff was wonderful. The rooms are just to dark, bathrooms in bad shape, tubs look dirty and creepy, carpet nasty looking, no electrical outlets, old TV's.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel and Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

My boyfriend and I visited the St. Anthony for his 31st bday. WE LOVED IT - of course I read my fellow yelper's, and Trip Advisor reviews, inquired directly with a hotel agent, and did a bit of research. We chose a historical hotel as used our excursion to take a beautiful stroll into San Antonio’s past and enjoy its romantic charm. The hotel is a lovely antique, rumored to have some guests that never left :) built in 1909, we were fortunate enough to get a mini-tour from an insightful employee who confirmed the most of the 'peculiar activity' occurs on the 5th and 6th floors. We decided to engage in a late night exploration and check 'em out, it was really fun! Nothing suspicious to report, however, the energy is much 'thicker' on the referenced floors.The hallways reminded me of the 'red rum' scene form The Shining. The rooms were a bit small, but I expected that after the reviews - I enjoyed the bath tub. CVS is on the corner which is great for late night snacks. If an old, historic, beautiful hotel, just off the river hotel tickles your fancy then this might just be the place for you!

Room Tip: I wouldn't choose this hotel if I planned to spend a lot of time in the room, they are small.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The St. Anthony Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The St. Anthony Hotel

Address: 300 East Travis Street, San Antonio, TX 78205 (Formerly The St. Anthony Riverwalk, A Wyndham Hotel)
Location: United States > Texas > San Antonio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in San Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The St. Anthony Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 352
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The St. Anthony Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The St Anthony Hotel
Wyndham San Antonio
St Anthony Hotel San Antonio
San Antonio Wyndham

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The St. Anthony Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.