We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Experience!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The St. Anthony Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added The St. Anthony Hotel to your Saves list
The St. Anthony Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   300 East Travis Street, San Antonio, TX 78205 (Formerly The St. Anthony Riverwalk, A Wyndham Hotel) (East Side)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #159 of 352 Hotels in San Antonio
Write a Review

984 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    246
    297
    207
    148
    86
See reviews for
207
291
25
280
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (171)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

My boyfriend and I visited the St. Anthony for his 31st bday. WE LOVED IT - of course I read my fellow yelper's, and Trip Advisor reviews, inquired directly with a hotel agent, and did a bit of research. We chose a historical hotel as used our excursion to take a beautiful stroll into San Antonio’s past and enjoy its romantic charm. The hotel is a lovely antique, rumored to have some guests that never left :) built in 1909, we were fortunate enough to get a mini-tour from an insightful employee who confirmed the most of the 'peculiar activity' occurs on the 5th and 6th floors. We decided to engage in a late night exploration and check 'em out, it was really fun! Nothing suspicious to report, however, the energy is much 'thicker' on the referenced floors.The hallways reminded me of the 'red rum' scene form The Shining. The rooms were a bit small, but I expected that after the reviews - I enjoyed the bath tub. CVS is on the corner which is great for late night snacks. If an old, historic, beautiful hotel, just off the river hotel tickles your fancy then this might just be the place for you!

Room Tip: I wouldn't choose this hotel if I planned to spend a lot of time in the room, they are small.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corsicana, Texas
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

The carpet in the hallways and room was old and nasty. The room was very small and the furniture was cracked,scratched and looked like it came from a garage sale. Parking on site was not available for my vehicle so the valet took it somewhere and didnt see it untill I checked out a day early. Several blocks to the river and walking past dirty dark alleys is a little scary.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

I usually stay at very modern-designed hotels and so was quite excited to stay at a historic place in the San Antonio Riverwalk area. I was immediately disappointed by its location - it is not on the actual Riverwalk as its name suggests (and other hotels called "Riverwalk" are), just close to it. Also, though the lobby is very beautiful and you can tell it was once a luxury destination, the rooms seem as if nothing has been done to keep its reputation up since the days of Grace Kelly's visits...

Good location and good price for what it is - but don't expect too much.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CORPUS CHRISTI
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

I enjoyed walking around the hotel and looking at all the beatiful paints, furniture, and architure.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel and Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The St. Anthony Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The St. Anthony Hotel

Address: 300 East Travis Street, San Antonio, TX 78205 (Formerly The St. Anthony Riverwalk, A Wyndham Hotel)
Location: United States > Texas > San Antonio > East Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in San Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The St. Anthony Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 352
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The St. Anthony Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The St Anthony Hotel
Wyndham San Antonio
St Anthony Hotel San Antonio
San Antonio Wyndham

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The St. Anthony Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.