We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old hotel near Riverwalk. Great value!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The St. Anthony Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added The St. Anthony Hotel to your Saves list
The St. Anthony Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   300 East Travis Street, San Antonio, TX 78205 (Formerly The St. Anthony Riverwalk, A Wyndham Hotel)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #161 of 352 Hotels in San Antonio
Phoenix, Arizona
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Old hotel near Riverwalk. Great value!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2011 via mobile

I stayed at the Wyndham in Easter weekend while attending a conference held around the corner at the Hyatt. I love the charm of an older hotel so the Wyndham was right up my alley. The lobby is gorgeous! My room was fine. Some of the fixtures were a little haggard, but the room was spacious and the bed comfortable. I loved the older style bathroom fixtures but if you are a clean freak you may mistake the age for uncleanliness. My one real complaint is that the doors adjoining rooms are regular doors and let in a lot of noise from your neighbor.

  • Stayed April 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

985 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    246
    297
    207
    148
    87
See reviews for
208
291
25
280
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (171)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nashville, Tennessee
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2011

The accommodations were excellent. The meeting room was a perfect size and self contained. All of the refreshments were served inside the room and the restrooms were up the stairs in the same room. They pulled together a buffet lunch for each day in their small restaurant for $9.99 per day. You didn’t have to leave the building. Our sleeping rooms were very nice as well. Great location for evening dinning and shopping and great attractions nearby.

A team of employees – Rebecca, the AV equipment team and the catering team met with us on Monday for a walk through and to set up the equipment to make sure of the placement and functionality. Everything from that point on worked perfectly.

Thank you for recommending the facility and many thanks to Rebecca and her team.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2011 via mobile

Hotel is two blocks from the riverwalk and just a few blocks from the Alamo. Beautiful scenery and very comfortable beds! Parking is a little expensive ($19/day) but in a secure lot right across the street. Only disappointment was a very small pool and no hot tub. Would definately stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Muncie, IN
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2011

If you love historical properties this may be the perfect hotel for you. This was not the case for me.

After checking out hotels near the Riverwalk online I narrowed it down between the Omni and the St. Anthony. We were planning a trip for our 25th Anniversary and I wanted it to be a fun romantic trip. After bouncing back between the beautiful Omni photos and the St. Anthony's with the 4 poster beds that stood out from the standard hotel room, we booked the St. Anthony. Three months later our Anniversary arrived and we flew to San Antonio.

Upon entering the hotel you are immediately aware this is a very old hotel. The smell is musty and our disappointment set in immediately. We went ahead and checked in then headed up to our room which they had upgraded to a Superior King Suite I was told to help us celebrate our Anniversary. The customer service we received at check in and checkout was friendly. After opening the door to our room, I wanted to turn around and leave. The room was stifling-very warm, again we were greeted by that musty smell. The room was run down. At a glance my husband pointed out it looked like the photos online, but as you looked closer touch up paint was slapped on, light switches and wall edges were grimy and dirty and the furnishings were very well worn. In the bathroom the ceiling paint was peeling, tiles were old and the coffee was on probably the original vanity. It even looked like they recycled their coasters. Lying in the bed I felt confined as the ceiling dropped down low with two large vents directly above your head. The water pipes were running around the drop down ceiling. We stayed that night did check out the very next morning.

I decided to post a review so that you may know this hotel does not look as good in person as the online photos represent. There are many people who enjoy old historical buildings and would not mind the neglected condition.

Hopefully this helps you make an informed decision. Perhaps they actually have renovated rooms which are obviously depicted online.

Room Tip: Ask for a renovated room as pictured online
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2011

They have done a wonderful job in the retoration of the hotel. It is full of history and stories. Location is close enough to the riverwalk to be very convenient and you are not overwhelmed by the riverwalk crowd. Staff was courteous and exceptionally attentive.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Odessa, Texas
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2011

Very nice 101 year old hotel. Remember that cause it is still much like it was, plus modern conveniences. Comfy bed! Very small tub, but great rain type shower head! WIFI is free in the lobby. Short walk to riverwalk. Definately will stay again!

Try "Twin Sisters Cafe" two blocks away.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern California
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2011

I read all the reviews on t.a., so I knew what to expect. I hate giving bad reviews, but this property earns it. It is VERY worn, and in need of som tender loving care! In the room, some of the drawers are missing handles, making using them a challenge. We had Luke warm water for our shower for 2 days. They did fix that promptly. The bed was very soft, very comfortable, hard to get in because it is so high. The resturants are good with very good service. The valet was wonderful, helpful, and happy. Front desk staff was also good. You get what you pay for, 100.00 a nite & 24.50 parking, if you pay more than that, stay somewhere else, it would not be worth it.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The St. Anthony Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The St. Anthony Hotel

Address: 300 East Travis Street, San Antonio, TX 78205 (Formerly The St. Anthony Riverwalk, A Wyndham Hotel)
Location: United States > Texas > San Antonio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #161 of 352 Hotels in San Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The St. Anthony Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 352
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The St. Anthony Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The St Anthony Hotel
Wyndham San Antonio
St Anthony Hotel San Antonio
San Antonio Wyndham

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The St. Anthony Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.