We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great quiet place....” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Crowne Plaza Airport

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Crowne Plaza Airport to your Saves list
Crowne Plaza Airport
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1111 Northeast Loop 410, San Antonio, TX 78209 (Formerly Radisson Hotel San Antonio Airport) (Northeast San Antonio)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #197 of 352 Hotels in San Antonio
Houston, Texas
1 review
“Great quiet place....”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

I was so hesitant to stay at this hotel because of all the reviews but once I arrived I was relieved to see that the hotel was not what everyone kept complaining about. The lobby was a little hot but they were working on it while we were there so that was fine. When we went up to our room it was a little warm but I didn't notice the thermostat was on the wall and not the one by the window. Once we adjusted it, it was perfect! It is a little outdated but overall I thought it was good. It was very quiet and tranquil.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike B, Front Office Manager at Crowne Plaza Airport, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Perres100,

Thank you so much for providing valuable feedback regarding your stay at the Crowne Plaza San Antonio Airport. Rest assured that your comments have been shared not only with the management staff of the hotel, but its associates as well. Please do not hesitate to contact me regarding any future reservations. Thank you for your time and business.

Mike Benavides
Guest Service Manager
210-828-9031 ext. 2153
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

183 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    58
    38
    30
    18
See reviews for
46
27
11
74
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013 via mobile

The Crown Plaza brand brings some expectation....not in this hotel's case. While convenient location bring value everything else is simply bad. Rooms are filthy, cleaning may not take a place until afternoon ( cleaning crew is loud a 8 a.m. sought..). Maintenance is bad - room had a lots of dings and damaged spots.
Pool....this pool can actually win competition for one if the most filthy pools I ever seen...
Planes are roaring overhead - this is expected.
Air conditioner in the lobby palmist non existent and in room unit is loud like a disel generator.
I guess it is upgraded version of Motel - 8....
Breakfast - this is mediocre...holiday inn breakfasts are better in our days.
I will keep out of this dump in future.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Airport, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
Dear road_warrior_1970,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of our property. Please accept our deepest apology for the over-all issues you had and any inconvenience you may have experienced during your stay. It is regrettable that we fell below your expectations. We have sent you a private message in an effort to obtain some additional details. Thank you for staying and we look forward to hearing from you soon.

Sincerely,

Anthony M
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tulsa
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

I was hesitant after reading the other reviews, but went with an open mind. The hotel is nice, the pool area is nice and the restaurant was nice. Granted the air conditioning was a little loud, but it drown out the aircraft flying over. It is an airport hotel. I stayed for 4 nights and honestly was going to give it a good review until the last morning. I found a bed bug on my pillow. To make sure I googled it and it was a bed bug. I even had bites. I have to give this hotel a low rating.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Airport, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Dear Cindy S,

First of all, thank you very much for your recent stay at our hotel. I am so sorry to see you did not enjoy your overall experience with us. We’d like to obtain some additional detail regarding your experience so we have sent you a private message. We hope to have the honor of serving you again should your travels bring you back to San Antonio, TX

Sincerely,

Orlando A.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

I have to say that the back to back weekend trips to San Antonio,Texas and stay at the Crowne Plaza airport location was comfortable and hospitable. The rooms were clean without odor. The linens were clean and additional items available upon request. The staff were inviting and courteous (Ms. Felicia and Ms. Giselle). The only minimal issue was that the walls were thin and could hear the neighboring resident. Overall, I would stay again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike B, Front Office Manager at Crowne Plaza Airport, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Smiley3939,

Thank you so much for the feedback you provided regarding your most recent stay at the Crowne Plaza San Antonio Airport. I've shared your review with the associates you mentioned. I hope that if your travels bring you back to San Antonio area that you will consider the Crowne Plaza San Antonio Airport for your accommodations. Again, thank you for your feedback, time and business. Please do not hesitate to contact for future reservations.

Mike Benavides
Guest Service Manager
210-828-9031
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alabama
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Stayed for 1 night while on a road trip. The facility is quite old. Wall paper was peeling and the room was musty. The beds were clean, but the lack of any recent room updates made the room feel much dirtier than it actually was. The halls a few nasty used roll away beds waiting to be picked up that remained untouched for 12 hrs during out stay.

The hotel had a 3.5 star rating, but was only deserving of a 2 star rating at best. Expected more, and got far less. Booked via Priceline and got a good deal but would not stay there again for less money.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike B, Front Office Manager at Crowne Plaza Airport, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
the_annual_trip,

I would like to thank you for providing valuable feedback regarding your most recent stay. I apologize that your stay was not successful. I would like to speak to you further with you regarding your stay. Thank you for your time and buisness. My contact information is below. I look forward to hearing from you.

Mike Benavides
Guest Service Manager
Crowne Plaza San Antonio Airport
210-828-9031 ext 2153
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

Wow, I was very disappointed with this Crowne Plaza. My impression is they are trying to save money by having fewer workers. Our room was on the 9th floor - it was clean when we arrived. We stayed here for four days because my husband had training. On our first full day, our room was never cleaned, the second day - around 4:00 in the afternoon - I went down to let them know that our room had not been cleaned. The swimming pool needed cleaning - leaves in the pool, by the third day some had cleaned the pool and watered the plants. This should be a daily job. It is the little things. The fitness room was a pleasant surprise - many choices, two televisions and it is open 24 hours. The restaurant was adequate - reasonable prices for breakfast(the only meal we ate at the hotel). One problem with our room is the blue light that is emitted from the ac/heat control - it was very bright and filled the room - making it difficult to fall asleep. When I think of Crowne Plaza - I think luxury - this was not the case with this one.
The a/c in the lobby and restaurant did not seem to be working very well. Our room connected with another and the first night, the occupants had left their room with the tv on - noise was distracting in our room. Rooms are not very sound proof. A plus to our room was the microwave/refrigerator combination.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike B, Front Office Manager at Crowne Plaza Airport, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Cacullom,

First thank you for the feedback you provided during your most recent stay. I apologize that your stay was not up to your expectations. I would love to discuss this with you at your earliest convenience. Your feedback has shared throughout the hotel. Thank you for your time and business. I look forward to hearing from you. My contact information is below.

Mike Benavides
Guest Service Manager
Crowne Plaza San Antonio
210-828-9031 ext.2153
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

Stayed on the 5th floor. Fast elevators and smoking was allowed by the pool under the cabana. Room was very large. Carpet somewhat worn but clean. Only complaint was the AC made too much noise. Probably needed the filter cleaned. Air quality poor. Room had kitchen with electric range, micro and fridge. Kitchen equipped with pots and pans and utensils. I usually stay in San Antonio for a week at a time but this was just for one night. My next trip to San Antonio I will be booking this place for a week. Restaurant had very good hamburgers.

Room Tip: Park in the covered parking and go in the side door. You can get rooms pool side. Have two floors by...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike B, Front Office Manager at Crowne Plaza Airport, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
49nadholding,

I would like to thank you for the great feedback you provided regarding your most recent stay at the Crowne Plaza San Antonio Airport. It’s reassuring to know that our associates made your stay a successful one. I hope that if your travels bring you to the San Antonio area again, you will consider the Crowne Plaza San Antonio Airport for your accommodations. Thank you for your time and business.

Mike Benavides
Guest Service Manager
210-828-9031 ext. 2153
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Crowne Plaza Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Airport

Address: 1111 Northeast Loop 410, San Antonio, TX 78209 (Formerly Radisson Hotel San Antonio Airport)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > San Antonio > Northeast San Antonio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #197 of 352 Hotels in San Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crowne Plaza Airport 3.5*
Number of rooms: 224
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Take a video tour of this hotel!Serving as the gateway to all that San Antonio has to offer, Crowne Plaza San Antonio Airport is not your typical airport hotel. Offering affordable luxury, the Crowne Plaza provides guests with all the amenities and services expected at a first class full service hotel. Removing stress from the minute you arrive, our 24 hour complimentary shuttle service to San Antonio Intl Airport-SAT will also transport you to your destination within a 3 mile radius of the hotel between the hours of 6 AM - midnight. The hotel offers a prime location in the heart of San Antonio, whether your travels bring you to San Antonio on business, pleasure or a mix of both. The hotel is accessible to all San Antonio area attractions, including the historic Alamo, Sea World and Six Flags Fiesta Texas, upscale shopping at North Star Mall and Shops at La Cantera, the Quarry Market and Golf Club, Market Square and of course, the world famous Riverwalk and Rivercenter. From the minute you enter our doors experience southern hospitality in modern elegance. Our lobby offers an intimate library with fireplace coupled with the soothing sounds of an indoor water feature making it the perfect place to surf the web on our complimentary wireless high-speed Internet or take your laptop poolside to our outdoor heated pool and enjoy the outdoors. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, IHG, Booking.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Crowne Plaza Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Airport Hotel San Antonio
Crowne Plaza San Antonio
Crowne Plaza Hotel Airport

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crowne Plaza Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.