We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good food at reasonable price” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Thai Topaz Restaurant

Thai Topaz Restaurant
9386 Huebner Rd #101, San Antonio, TX 78240 (Northwest Side)
(210) 690-6000
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #556 of 4,140 Restaurants in San Antonio
Price range: $7 - $15
Cuisines: Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Delivery
Neighborhood: Northwest Side
Havre MT
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Very good food at reasonable price”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

Very small with no real ambiance but food is good and reasonable priced. My wife liked the Pad Thai here as it was less sweet than in some places. I really enjoyed the food and the service was curt but adequate. One reviewer said that it was the best in San Antonio and I cannot dispute that, but I have had Thai food I liked more in Portland (Oregon) and other places.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    6
    2
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
jonesboro, arkansas
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
102 helpful votes 102 helpful votes
“I wish I lived here”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

I went to this restaurant based on reviews on Tripadvisor and am glad I did. For lunch everything was around $7. Both items I ordered(green curry and spicy noodles) were delicious and freshly made. Service was friendly and in spite of being busy they cheerfully accommodated a special request. I wish I had a place like this in my hometown. Highly recommended.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Excellent Thai Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

This place us delicious and gives you enough food to splita meal. The lunch specials are good deals. The staff could be friendlier.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great little Thai restaurant!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

A friend brought my wife and I here to try out something new for dinner.

The service was good, though they were 100% full when we stopped (a Friday night) and they only had one person working the front desk/tables, so they were a little overwhelmed. This is the only reason for the 4/5.

The food was great, the price was great, and I actually enjoy the smaller venue as opposed to a larger place.

If you live near the medical center area, I strongly suggest you give them a shot.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
“Best Thai restaurant in San Antonio”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

Outside of the Washington state and the West Coast, this is the best Thai food I've ever eaten. Always searching for the best and I need to look no farther for the best in San Antonio. Food is obviously prepared fresh - Thai soups are to die for. It appears to be family operated and the service is better than normal. They offer varying degrees of hotness and I was not disappointed as it was exactly as I like it.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Thai Topaz Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Thai Topaz Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Thai Topaz Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.