We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love it!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lion & Rose Pub

Lion & Rose Pub
5148 Broadway St, San Antonio, TX 78209-5754 (Alamo Heights)
210-822-7673
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #572 of 4,137 Restaurants in San Antonio
Cuisines: Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Neighborhood: Alamo Heights
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Love it!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2012 via mobile

Love this place. Americanized version of English pub but food is good and if you go during soccer season., it's fun to watch the games with ex pats. I like the variety of beers and atmoshphere

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    12
    4
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
San Antonio, Texas
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Good food. Good drinks”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2012

Free internet, good service, solid drinks, british theme and Euro football ("soccer," yanks) and Aussie rules football ("rugby," yanks) with a solid grouping of scotch and draft beer.

Also, most importantly, you can still smoke in bars in Alamo Heights- so cigars smokers welcome!

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Late night dinner”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2012

I have never gone there before but it is a very nice place and the food was great. I recommend it greatly.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sutherland Springs ,Texas
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Wow !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2012

lion&rose at the forum, We had a wonderful meal .We started with two very cold brews .We studied the menu for a while so many choices. I ordered the beefeater burger my husband had the shepards pie our sides were fried mushrooms . Oh my goodness everthing was just wonderful. The shepards pie was rich and creamy full of yummy goodness .The burger was juicy perfectly cooked and seasoned to perfection . I have to say the the mushrooms were the best by far I have ever had . You must try this wonderful place ,it's a party in your mouth !!!!!!!!! P.S. ask for Jenna !

  • Visited April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida, USA
Top Contributor
139 reviews 139 reviews
103 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“Cozy Atmosphere, Many Screens, Great Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2012

I was completely surprised to find such a pub in San Antonio. I was more surprised to find all the screens filled with futbol/ soccer games. And then blown away by the quality of the food.

The only draw back (for me) is the majority of the pub is 'smoking.' There is a dedicated non-smoking room to the right of the entrance.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lion & Rose Pub also viewed

 

Been to Lion & Rose Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lion & Rose Pub, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.