We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent rooms, common areas showing wear already” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Hyatt San Antonio

Save Saved
You added Grand Hyatt San Antonio to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Grand Hyatt San Antonio
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   600 East Market Street, San Antonio, TX 78205 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Bed & Breakfast Package
Ranked #41 of 350 hotels in San Antonio
GreenLeadersSilver level
colorado
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Decent rooms, common areas showing wear already”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2009

My experience was simliar to alot of those noted. It was decent hotel, good for conventions (was not there for one).

One thing that I noted was that for a new hotel, the hallways are not showing their wear well. Also, the location outside my door remained un-vacuumed the entire time I was there (3 days). It looked like someone dumped thier handbag there or something.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,032 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    402
    410
    143
    53
    24
See reviews for
156
194
42
532
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (236)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Texas
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2009

First, I live in Texas and have been to San Antonio many times for various reasons including leisure with the family. So have tried many hotels, mostly downtown and along the River Walk, but the Grand Hyatt is defintely one of the nicest. Since I was attending a conference at the convention center and travelling alone, I was willing to pay for the convenient access the hotel offered; also many other hotels were booked. The Grand Hyatt is located on the Riverwalk, though not in the busiest part, a short walk will take you to the restaurants and shops. The decor is beautifully contemporary, the staff very helpful and accomodating, and the room great. The view from the 15th floor was nice of the surrounding area and the bed was surprisingly quite comfortable. The only minor thing, was the drawer space available to put clothes.. had 2 small drawers and a couple of shelves.. which I found a bit odd; but closet was big. I ate breakfast two times in the restaurant and once ordered room service finding the food to be really good. There is a beautiful bar there off the lobby area, where I had a cocktail and watched football with a friend, and the convention center is literally right next door with a enclosed walkway available. Parking is $30/day... comparable to what any nice downtown hotel near Riverwalk is. All in all.. no its not a budget hotel and yeah its a little pricey, but for sure you get what you pay for. I booked a deal with 3rd night free and would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corona, CA
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2009

We stayed here for a convention. It was very conveniently located for us since it was right next to the convention center, river walk, tons of restaurants, shops, etc. We tried not to eat at the hotel because the cost for a simple breakfast was very pricey. We walked to places like McDonalds for a cheap breakfast, and nice restaurants along the river walk for dinner. Our room was plush with a very comfortable bed, great view of the city, and nice amenities (bathroom, etc).

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2009

If you don't want a heated pool in November, then read no further.
We were going to San Antonio for Thanksgiving and had one goal in mind- a heated pool for our 5 and 7 year old. The Grand Hyatt seemed ideal. It does have a great location and is close to the Riverwalk. Ever skeptical , I called the hotel in August to confirm that thepool was heated and would be fine for swimming in late November. I was reassured that it would be. Obviously, from my negative review this was not the case.The pool is heated to 75 degrees. Grand Hyatt, don't waste the money. No one was or is going to swim at that temperature. We talked to the front desk the first day. Nothing changed for our 3 day stay. Although, the rest of the hotel was fine this essential part was critical to us, and we felt cheated. If someone asks, be honest and don't tell them a pool is heated when it's only to 75 degrees. The parking is also very expensive at $23 a night. There is an $8 parking across the street.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Tx
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2009

Stayed here over the weekend for the San Antonio Rock N Roll Marathon. It was in an excellent location to the Expo, Race finish, and to the Riverwalk!! We walked everywhere because it was so convenient. Be aware that there is a daily parking fee of about $30(didn't know that before hand). The rooms were very nice and clean with extremely comfortable beds. The hotel bar was quite comfortable and accommodating. The hotel front desk and conceirge staff were very friendly and helpful. Overall, great experience. If we go back to SA, this is definitely where we will stay!!

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thorp, Wisconsin
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2009

A great place to stay for business travel - next door to convention center and Riverwalk.

Stayed November 2009, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2009

Typical Grand Hyatt experience. Personable, friendly staff, good amenities, excellent conference facilities. Restaurants are pricey. Go over to River Walk to eat. Located directly next to the San Antonio Convention Center (our conference was entirely in the hotel). Not too far from River Walk, but not "directly" on it. About a 5 to 10 minute stroll over to it.

Stayed October 2009, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Grand Hyatt San Antonio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hyatt San Antonio

Address: 600 East Market Street, San Antonio, TX 78205
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > San Antonio > Downtown , East Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in San Antonio
#10 Luxury Hotel in San Antonio
#23 Business Hotel in San Antonio
#27 Romantic Hotel in San Antonio
#37 Family Hotel in San Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hyatt San Antonio 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With a dramatic design that exemplifies this unique city, the Grand Hyatt is an exciting blend of modernism and the Latin culture. Located on the Riverwalk, its warm hospitality and bold colors create a San Antonio Luxury hotel that is perfect for every guest, whether traveling for business or vacation. This urban retreat has a premier location, adjacent to the convention center and HemisFair Park. Our outstanding amenities and unprecedented services will make your experience extraordinary. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Amex, Hotels.com, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Tingo and TIG Global so you can book your Grand Hyatt San Antonio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hyatt San Antonio Hotel San Antonio
San Antonio Grand Hyatt
Hyatt San Antonio
San Antonio Hyatt

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Hyatt San Antonio, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.