We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A excellent stay; nice hotel, Great staff.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Hyatt San Antonio

Save Saved
You added Grand Hyatt San Antonio to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Grand Hyatt San Antonio
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   600 East Market Street, San Antonio, TX 78205 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Bed & Breakfast Package
Ranked #43 of 351 hotels in San Antonio
GreenLeadersSilver level
Chicago
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“A excellent stay; nice hotel, Great staff.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013 via mobile

It is nice when everyone at a hotel combines to make a guest feel at home. From check in to check out, I felt like everyone working at the Grand Hyatt wanted to be sure that I was comfortable and happy. When I arrived, Eric S. at the front desk was pleasant and helpful. I have some status at Hyatt and he recognized me as a member and was able to upgrade me to the club floor. That was great because I was able to work on the club computer all afternoon Sunday on the presentstion I was giving on Monday. The staff in the Club, including Judy and Pinky were gracious and helpful offering food and snacks frequently without bothering me. The breakfasts were great with bagels, fruits, and baked goods. I was most impressed when Eric was able to have a NY Times newspaper delivered to my room one morning even though the hotel usually only offers other papers. They went the extra mile fo me. And my stay was really enjoyable.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephanie C, Manager at Grand Hyatt San Antonio, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Thank you for this kind review. We are happy to hear you enjoyed our property during your trip to San Antonio and that our staff was more than accommodating. We appreciate your feedback and look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,043 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    406
    412
    146
    55
    24
See reviews for
158
195
43
535
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (240)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Columbus, Ohio
Top Contributor
199 reviews 199 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

Nice location. Right on the Riverwalk and connected to the convention center which is why we were there so it was a perfect location. Good lobby bar. Rooms are average but have refrigerators. Huge hotel so it is a walk to your room potentially from the elevators. Nice staff. Very helpful.

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephanie C, Manager at Grand Hyatt San Antonio, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
We enjoyed reading your feedback and are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us! We look forward to your next trip to San Antonio.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

Location:
The hotel is right on the famous San Antonio River Walk, a great tourist area that combines dining, walking, history, and lots of fun.

Check-in:
As soon as we arrived, Laura Ann, the Front Desk Assistant Manager immediately greeted us and welcomed us, and told the front desk clerk to take good care of us. The clerk (my apologies for not catching her name) then told us that for my wife's birthday (I had called ahead to note it on my reservation), the hotel had given us a $50 credit to charge to the room. Thanks to my status with Hyatt, we received Grand Club access, which is huge given how much money we saved by having breakfast and getting snacks and water at the Club.

The room:
Our room was perfect. It was a nice corner room on the 24th floor, away from the elevators and all foot traffic. It had windows on two sides, which made for great views of downtown on one side and the highway and the Alamodome on another. A few minutes after arriving to the room, Laura Ann called us and asked us if we were happy with everything in our room. It was a great personal touch that we rarely see nowadays from any hotel staff.

The bathroom was good and the water pressure was great. The only issue was the door didn’t seem to have a lock, but otherwise it was fine.

Pool and fitness center:
As soon as we checked in we went straight to the pool, which is on the 5th floor, right next to the gym. The pool had a fair amount of people and they were all enjoying the water, but it was extremely cold for our taste, so we couldn’t really enjoy it. The pool area itself isn’t too spacious, but there are a couple of terraces with great views of downtown on the north and east side of the hotel where you can enjoy the great view.
The fitness center is huge, with tons of machines, free weights and treadmills. It has great views of downtown as well. It almost made me want to workout. Almost.

Grand Club:
In my opinion the best feature of most high-end Hyatt properties is the club access, because of the quality of the food and service, as well as the amount of money you save in food and drinks. The club had plenty of food and snacks, and evening Hors d’oeuvres and desserts.
Breakfast was great, with plenty of variety. Being a coffee junkie, I used the espresso machine several times during our stay. Alcohol isn’t free, but most beers were $3 and liquor for $4, which is very reasonable.

Other features/miscellaneous items:
Parking is $27 per day. There is a public lot directly across the street which was $18 for the day (no in or out, but we didn’t plan on driving), so we saved a bit of money that way. There are several parking lots around downtown, so if you’re driving and trying to save some money, do a little research beforehand and see if those work for you.

There are some great restaurants onsite, such as Bar Rojo, which is a great spot for evening cocktails and socializing, but we tried it for lunch to use up our $50 credit. It’s a bar food menu, but the food was quite tasty, the staff was very friendly and made us feel welcome, and the beer felt great!

We also decided to splurge and had dinner at Ruth Chris to celebrate my wife’s birthday. The restaurant is right on the river, and you can sit outside and people-watch, or sit inside for a more private dinner. The service and the steaks are outstanding. During the Fall and Spring I really recommend outside sitting as the weather is great. Won’t be cheap though. Let’s just say our dinner cost more than the hotel room! But I was happy to do it since it was a special occasion.

The Henry Gonzalez Convention Center is right next door, so the hotel does attract its large share of business travelers and large convention crowds. Do keep this in mind when you plan your stay, and reach out to the staff to find out what’s going on during the dates of your stay, as it could impact your stay, room upgrades and overall use of the amenities if large crowds aren’t really your thing.

Overall impression:
This is a great property to spend a couple of days at. We really enjoyed our stay, the service, and the location. There are a few hotels that are more centrally located right on the main River Walk area, but that’s not always a good thing. This property, with its short 5-minute walk to the heart of the River Walk, and the quality of the staff and accommodations makes it a great choice when staying in downtown San Antonio. Special thanks to Laura Ann and the rest of her staff for being so welcoming and proactive on checking to make sure everything was ok during our stay and making us feel right at home. We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephanie C, Manager at Grand Hyatt San Antonio, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Wow! Thank you for this outstanding review. We are happy to hear you and your wife enjoyed a nice getaway for her birthday. We appreciate the feedback you provided and we look forward to your next stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

This is one of the newer premium properties in san antonio an well situated on the Riverwalk. Be aware that there is also another hyatt downtown. The lobby is beautiful and very inviting. Easy time checking in and a good front desk staff. My only complaint was the rooms themselves. They were large but lacked small amenities i expected and the wear and tear seemed unusual for a newer hotel.

Room Tip: Stay away from the side facing the highway
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephanie C, Manager at Grand Hyatt San Antonio, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Thank you for your feedback. We are happy to hear you enjoyed our hotel's convenient location on the Riverwalk and our front desk staff. We appreciate your comments and suggestions and look forward to seeing you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alta Loma, California
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

Anniversary trip to S.A. was planned, but where do we stay? After a couple of days analyzing the choices, the Grand Hyatt came through with an amazing discount. At that price, the room was not a presidential suite, but it was very nice as you would expect. Parking and check in/check out was a breeze and staff was great. We could see part of the River Walk from our room, and the entrance was just steps from the hotel. Did not use the bar, dining room, or other amenities so I have to limit this to four stars. But we were not disappointed at all...especially for the price!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephanie C, Manager at Grand Hyatt San Antonio, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
Thank you for this kind review. We are happy to hear you enjoyed our property during your anniversary trip to San Antonio. We appreciate your feedback and look forward to seeing you next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

I recently spent 3 nights at the Grand Hyatt in downtown San Antonio. Be careful as the Hyatt Regency is down the street, and most taxi's went to the wrong one when I told them to bring me to the Hyatt. The room was very clean with a large comfortable bed and a million pillows. Standard hotel fare as far as the rest of the room: decent view, seat, desk with plugin for internet, and TV. Bathroom was clean with nice granite and tile. The Hyatt also offers a fair number of commonly forgotten items for free via their concierge. Quite nice when you make an oops. I'd certainly return, just hope you don't get the room farthest from the elevator: it's a texas sized walk to get there.

The river-walk is steps away from this place. There's also a nice market for buying things on Saturdays near the river-walk of the Hyatt. The hotel is also attached to the convention center making meetings a breeze to get to.

Green Features: Most places in texas don't seem to be overly concerned with the environment. The Hyatt didn't break from this tradition.
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephanie C, Manager at Grand Hyatt San Antonio, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Thank you for this wonderful review. We are happy to hear you enjoyed our property during your trip to San Antonio and found the room accommodating. We appreciate your feedback and look forward to seeing you again during your next trip to the Alamo City.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Port Richey, Florida, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

Recently I attended a convention at the Grand Hyatt. The hotel is convenient to shoping, and the River Walk. The staff was great. They always spoke in the halls as though they were happy to be there and to see us. Our greatest experience was in the CLUB LEVEL. Angie Hemandez and Judy Bortello were fablous. I can't say enough nice things about these two ladies. They couldn't do enough for us. Judy and Angie certainly love their job and it shows in everything they do.

Room Tip: Rooms were the right size. Everything was great. I would suggest larger drawers.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephanie C, Manager at Grand Hyatt San Antonio, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Thank you for this great review and the kind words about our Club Level attendants. We are happy to hear you enjoyed our property’s Riverwalk location. We look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Grand Hyatt San Antonio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hyatt San Antonio

Address: 600 East Market Street, San Antonio, TX 78205
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > San Antonio > Downtown , East Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in San Antonio
#12 Luxury Hotel in San Antonio
#24 Business Hotel in San Antonio
#25 Romantic Hotel in San Antonio
#40 Family Hotel in San Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hyatt San Antonio 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With a dramatic design that exemplifies this unique city, the Grand Hyatt is an exciting blend of modernism and the Latin culture. Located on the Riverwalk, its warm hospitality and bold colors create a San Antonio Luxury hotel that is perfect for every guest, whether traveling for business or vacation. This urban retreat has a premier location, adjacent to the convention center and HemisFair Park. Our outstanding amenities and unprecedented services will make your experience extraordinary. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Tingo, Priceline, Travelocity, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda, Venere and TIG Global so you can book your Grand Hyatt San Antonio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hyatt San Antonio Hotel San Antonio
San Antonio Grand Hyatt
Hyatt San Antonio
San Antonio Hyatt

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Hyatt San Antonio, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.