We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel, some problems” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Hyatt San Antonio

Save Saved
You added Grand Hyatt San Antonio to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Grand Hyatt San Antonio
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   600 East Market Street, San Antonio, TX 78205 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Bed & Breakfast Package
Ranked #41 of 350 hotels in San Antonio
GreenLeadersSilver level
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Nice hotel, some problems”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2011

I am staying here currently. The hotel is new (seeming) and the staff is nice, however, I would like to point out a couple of problems with this hotel.

First, I am surprised they do not offer free wired or wireless internet. This is a CONFERENCE hotel, meaning there are many businesses (and military personnel) who need access to the internet during presentations and for office work in the hotel rooms. I was shocked they are charging $10 a day for this. I hope they phase these charges out soon or I am sure they will lose customers to the Marriott across the street which does not charge for internet.

Also, due to some complication with my reservation, the hotel checked me out after the first night of my four night stay. Then they checked someone else into my room. I didn't realize i had checked out until my room key suddenly stopped working. Although the staff was apologetic they did not offer me anything free, such as a free night's stay or at least complimentary internet for the trouble. Some of my items could have been stolen.

On the plus side, the staff is nice and courteous and the hotel has a nice gym and pool.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,030 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    402
    409
    142
    53
    24
See reviews for
155
194
42
531
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (236)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Anderson, Indiana
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2011

My husband and I went to San Antonio because he had business to do there. We stayed in the Hyatt because that's where his conference was held. The hotel was very nice and quiet. It had a big pool and a nice size workout room loaded with a lot of different machines. The bed was comfortable, the food was good, the staff was friendly, and the hotel was very convenient. It was close to the Boardwalk, and all sorts of nice restaurants and shopping centers. The only thing we didn't like about the hotel is that we had to pay for internet, which most hotels include that in their price. It was $10 for 24 hours. Overall, we enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SATGH, Manager at Grand Hyatt San Antonio, responded to this review, November 8, 2011
Thank you for your feedback Traci. We enjoyed hearing details on your stay and are happy to hear you enjoed our pool and StayFit gym. Looking forward to your next trip to the Alamo city!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2011

My wife and I had room 1212. My wife was here for a business conference. We overlooked Market Street. The room was comfortable, spacious, and quiet. It had a wonderful chaise lounge by the window that my wife adored. The hotel was adjacent to the Riverwalk and close to the River Center Mall. It is next to the Convention Center. The Alamo was on the other side of the mall. We loved walking along the Riverwalk and exploring the nooks and restaurants. You can walk to where you need to go. We would stay here again.

Room Tip: Just ask for a nice room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SATGH, Manager at Grand Hyatt San Antonio, responded to this review, November 8, 2011
Thank you for taking the opportunity to review your recent stay with us. We appreciate your detailed review and know that other San Antonio travelers will find this information helpful. Looking forward to your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2011

I stayed here for a business conference so I did not research other hotels to compare amenities or price.

Overall, I am satisfied with my stay. Here are the positives and negatives:

The positives: The location is convenient to the riverwalk and the Alamo. All the staff I encountered were very attentive and friendly. I ordered room service a few times and they were prompt and accurate. I also liked that the room had a mini fridge.

The negatives: TV did not have a wide selection of channels; wi fi is not free; curtains let in light on top.

Room Tip: Not sure if all rooms have a mini fridge but mine did.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Top Contributor
253 reviews 253 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
130 helpful votes 130 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2011

This is a relatively new hotel in San Antonio with access to the famous Riverwalk, so it is an excellent location. All of the staff were very friendly and helpful. The room was well-appointed and had everything needed, as well as a comfortable bed. I was a bit surprised that they lacked a few of the bath amenities I would have expected for this type of hotel (shower gel, shower cap), but the essentials were there. The "Grand Club" is very nice, serving a complimentary breakfast, hors d'oevres and desserts. Staff there were very accomodating.
I was there for a meeting and we arranged a dinner on a river barge through the catering staff. There was a bit of disconnect between thte staff we talked to and the staff that set up the barge regarding the time we were supposed to start and the number of people, etc. However, it was a lovely experience once all that was sorted out.
I would recommend to others.

Room Tip: Would upgrade to get "Grand Club" access if possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle WA
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2011 via mobile

As they say location is everything.
You can't go wrong with the Grand Hyatt. Rooms were decent size. Very very quiet. Ask for upper floor.
Bathrooms were clean however seemed to be a constant shortage of towels and we had to request more. I would stay again. The staff really make the difference here, they are very kind and helpful. A few items that could be changed, bottom fitted sheet never stayed on ,wake up in a tangled sheet every day. Other people in our large group had same issue. Also a map of where pool is, and basic hotel outline in room would be helpful. Finally I used Starbucks across the street for free wifi. Seems crazy to charge for Internet on rooms anymore.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2011

I've stayed at this hotel with my family twice now for a hardware convention, and we absolutely love it. We never had any issues with the service and the staff was very nice and helpful. We order room service a few times, the pricing was average, however certain items were expensive. The rooms are very pretty, but my favorite thing about this hotel is the gym. It is BEAUTIFUL! Great views. I rarely get up early to jog, but when I stay here I do because it's such a gorgeous view!! Great equipment as well. I never went to the pool, but it's very pretty as well. The beds were very comfortable, I had a hard time waking up! Over all, I recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SATGH, Manager at Grand Hyatt San Antonio, responded to this review, October 27, 2011
Thank you Taylor for taking the time to review our hotel! We appreciate your feedback and enjoyed reading about your recent visits. We look forward to seeing you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Grand Hyatt San Antonio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hyatt San Antonio

Address: 600 East Market Street, San Antonio, TX 78205
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > San Antonio > Downtown , East Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in San Antonio
#10 Luxury Hotel in San Antonio
#22 Business Hotel in San Antonio
#27 Romantic Hotel in San Antonio
#42 Family Hotel in San Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hyatt San Antonio 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With a dramatic design that exemplifies this unique city, the Grand Hyatt is an exciting blend of modernism and the Latin culture. Located on the Riverwalk, its warm hospitality and bold colors create a San Antonio Luxury hotel that is perfect for every guest, whether traveling for business or vacation. This urban retreat has a premier location, adjacent to the convention center and HemisFair Park. Our outstanding amenities and unprecedented services will make your experience extraordinary. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Amex, Tingo, Travelocity, Priceline, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Venere, Agoda and TIG Global so you can book your Grand Hyatt San Antonio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hyatt San Antonio Hotel San Antonio
San Antonio Grand Hyatt
Hyatt San Antonio
San Antonio Hyatt

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Hyatt San Antonio, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.