We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Modern Riverwalk Experience” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Hyatt San Antonio

Save Saved
You added Grand Hyatt San Antonio to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Grand Hyatt San Antonio
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   600 East Market Street, San Antonio, TX 78205 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Bed & Breakfast Package
Ranked #41 of 350 hotels in San Antonio
GreenLeadersSilver level
Houston, Texas
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Great Modern Riverwalk Experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2011

Stayed here during July 4th weekend and we really enjoyed ourselves at this lovely hotel. The main floor lobby is open and airy and feels very modern and futuristic. As you enter from the valet parking area and walk towards the back, there is a store which sells sandwiches, snaks, pop, toiletries and lattes! This store also sold some very great pizza and if you need something late night the pizza was excellent for a hotel. As you walk further towards the back the large bar area is inviting and the bar is an excellent place to have a few drinks late into the evening with some good friends. To the left of the bar is the stairway leading to the riverwalk. This hotel is at the convention center and at night the immediate riverwalk area is very quiet, however, it is not a long walk from the rest of the riverwalk including the mall.

The rooms were smallish, but well appointed and comfortable. I was pleased with the bedding and the decor. The hallways were very long but wide and again very modern. My favorite feature of this hotel was the kiosk check-in, I hate having to speak to some agent at a desk and it takes so much time just to get a room key. With this Kiosk I swiped my card and my keys and room number came out and that was it. I was off to my room. Very easy and painless process. This might be my new go to hotel on the Riverwalk!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SATGH, Manager at Grand Hyatt San Antonio, responded to this review, August 10, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay. We're happy to hear you enjoyed your July 4th weekend with us. We agree, our pizzas are delicious! We will make sure to pass on your review to our Sous Chef who created the recipe. We hope to see you again on your next visit to the Alamo City.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,029 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    402
    409
    141
    53
    24
See reviews for
155
194
42
530
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (236)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
College Station, Texas
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2011

Stayed with my wife for one night on business. It was not a very good experience. We needed to stand in line four times, each for about five minutes to get a room. The first time, we were assigned a room. OOPS, two small beds instead of one we wanted. Returning to the line, we were told there were no available rooms with king bet. After some probing, we learned there were no clean rooms, but one would soon be available. After 45 minutes, back to the line. Our room was still not ready. After asking, learned there was another clean rom with king bed available. Took this room. Some time later, while getting ready for dinner OOPS a stranger came in. He too had been given our room. Now our room keys would not work. Back in line to get new keys, and a half-hearted apology for the intruder.

The room was large, clean, and well furnished. It was noisy. The in-room bar was not quiet, the air conditioner turned on and off with a loud click, and the fan was noisy. The room was very bright at night when we opened the curtains--not the hotel's fault, San Antonio has bright street lights that shine up to the 22nd floor. At 3:00AM we woke up to find our heads on the bare mattress. The tightly stretched mattress pad had come undone, pulling itself and the bottom sheet down toward the center of the bed. We had to get up and re-make the bed.

The Dallas Cowboys were staying in the hotel so there were crowds at the door. The hotel is BIG, and the staff is overworked. It is just another big convention hotel. San Antonio riverwalk area is bright, noisy, and crowded.

We were thinking of staying more at Hyatt instead of Marriott to earn upgrades faster; now we are rethinking the change. Wish we could write a more positive review, but after staying at three other comparable hotels in the past month, Hyatt was by far our worst experience.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SATGH, Manager at Grand Hyatt San Antonio, responded to this review, August 2, 2011
Thank you for your review on you recent stay with us. We appreciate and welcome all feedback, both positive and constructive. Please accept our apology for the delays in checking you into a king room. I can assure you this is not our standard. Although our hotel is located adjacent to the convention center, we do not like to think of ourselves as “just another big convention hotel.” We strive to provide each guest with a pleasantly unique and memorable experience. We hope to see you again in the future and would enjoy the opportunity to provide you with the service both you and we expect.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland suburbs of DC
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2011

I liked almost everything about this modern, immaculate hotel. The room was spacious and clean. Service was fantastic, the staff was friendly and responsive. When I arrived, there was no ironing board- I think one was delivered within 5 minutes of my call!

Affordable breakfast could be found in their little coffee shop off the lobby area, a terrific breakfast buffet was available if you had the time and interest.

A beautiful roof-top pool is available for those so inclined. The fitness center was large and very well equipped.

Best of all, it's a pleasant walk along the River Walk to the restaurant district.

Only downside: they could have installed better windows- the sound proofing not so great. I was on the 11th floor and could hear street traffic fairly clearly.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SATGH, Manager at Grand Hyatt San Antonio, responded to this review, August 3, 2011
We are happy to hear you enjoyed your recent stay with us! Thank you for the wonderful comments. We hope to see you again on your next Alamo City vacation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2011 via mobile

They overbooked me and booted me out--they sent me to a sister hotel that they said was same star rating-- can't be possible this one was trashy. They were also supposed to be give us enough points to stay another time equal to what I paid for that would be emailed to me after check out. I paid for three days but checked out early due to my experience and when I checked the points I had enough for 2 and a half days. What can I do with a half a day. Do not stay here-- they are incompetent and can't be trusted

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SATGH, Manager at Grand Hyatt San Antonio, responded to this review, August 3, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent San Antonio trip. On occasion, when our hotel is fully committed, we transfer guests to the Hyatt Regency San Antonio. This is not our standard and we sincerely apologize for any inconvenience you may have faced due to these circumstances. We hope that you will give us the opportunity to redeem ourselves in the future and truly hope you enjoyed your time in San Antonio.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2011

A very good conference/business hotel. The staff is attentive, sincere and polite. A good location for a quieter spot on Riverwalk. Only a few blocks to the Alamo. Very clean, very quiet and comfortable beds. A tremendous travel value for business or pleasure or family vacations. San Antonio is America's hidden gem! Who knew San Antonio was so much fun and it's residents were so polite? Bravo to the City of San Antonio and its residents. The Hyatt is in the perfect location to enjoy all of the amenities that the city has to offer. GO TO SAN ANTONIO!

Room Tip: Request a higher floor and a room upgrade.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2011

I stayed at the Grand Hyatt Riverwalk for a conference. Overall, it was a good experience. Beautiful hotel, and the location could not have been better. We had a little over an hour for lunch during the conference, and I was able to walk along the Riverwalk to the mall food court for a quick lunch. The conference rooms were easily accessible, comfortable, and set up well for our event.

My only complaint is that my sheets kept coming off of the bed and exposing the mattress. Gross! The mattress pad was stretched out and kept popping up. I requested that the issue be fixed at the front desk. They said it would be fixed, but it wasn't. I had to ask a second time before the issue was resolved. I struggled with the sheets for two nights while needing to wake up early for the conference.

Pros: Location, friendly staff, beautiful hotel
Cons: Front desk did not take care of a housekeeping issue

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2011

We used Priceline and got our rooms for $70. This hotel is huge. The customer service is great, and the rooms were spotless! Although the hotel was very crowded, once inside our room, it was quiet. We were on the 22nd floor. There are two sets of elevators. The elevators that go to the higher floors seemed to be less crowded and easier to access. There is a little convenience store in the lobby that is open 24 hrs. You can get a salad or sandwich package with a soft drink and a piece of fruit for $10.00...not bad! Grand Hyatt is located at the end of the Riverwalk, but it is still very convenient to everything. Park across the street in the covered parking if you want to save money. The only downside was the Herbal Life convention was taking place when we were there, so it was a bit crowded. Also, there was a fee for Internet .

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Grand Hyatt San Antonio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hyatt San Antonio

Address: 600 East Market Street, San Antonio, TX 78205
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > San Antonio > Downtown , East Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in San Antonio
#22 Business Hotel in San Antonio
#27 Romantic Hotel in San Antonio
#41 Luxury Hotel in San Antonio
#41 Top resorts Hotel in San Antonio
#42 Family Hotel in San Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hyatt San Antonio 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With a dramatic design that exemplifies this unique city, the Grand Hyatt is an exciting blend of modernism and the Latin culture. Located on the Riverwalk, its warm hospitality and bold colors create a San Antonio Luxury hotel that is perfect for every guest, whether traveling for business or vacation. This urban retreat has a premier location, adjacent to the convention center and HemisFair Park. Our outstanding amenities and unprecedented services will make your experience extraordinary. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Amex, Tingo, Travelocity, Priceline, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Agoda, Venere and TIG Global so you can book your Grand Hyatt San Antonio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hyatt San Antonio Hotel San Antonio
San Antonio Grand Hyatt
Hyatt San Antonio
San Antonio Hyatt

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Hyatt San Antonio, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.