We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gorgeous” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Inn at Craig Place

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in San Antonio
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Inn at Craig Place
Save
You added Inn at Craig Place to your Saves list
117 West Craig Place, San Antonio, TX 78212 (Midtown)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 47 San Antonio B&B and Inns
Houston
1 review
“Gorgeous”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2009

This was our 1st time to stay at a B&B. I hope Kelly and Gregg have not spoilded us from staying at other B&B when we travel.. Our experice at Inn at Craig Place was excellent. The inn was beautiful. Breakfast in bed or on the patio was great. The cook really did an awsome job on breakfast. I can't say enough. Thank you for making our stay feel like home.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

291 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    282
    5
    0
    3
    1
See reviews for
8
227
4
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas Tx
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2009

Bed and Breakfasts are not for everyone, but if you enjoy them I highly suggest The Inn at Craig Place. The house is gorgeous and our room was absolutely beautiful. It was so relaxing to wake up later in the morning and be served one of the best breakfsts you'll ever have. After breakfast we took a walk around the neighborhood to take in the sights of all the lovely historical churches and houses on the block. The owners were very polite and knowledgable about surrounding activities. They even gave us suggestions about where to have a wedding reception on a riverboat and a few restraunts that prvide this service. All in all I would have to say it was just a wonderful and relaxing stay!

  • Stayed March 2009
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elgin, Illinois, USA
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2009

I can't believe all the people that go to the big hotels and, if they're lucky, end up with mediocre rooms, service and food. My wife and I stayed at the Inn at Craig Place the last week in March. We made our reservation in early February, based on the reviews at tripadvisor.com. We had a great room, great service from Greg and Kelly, and (really) the best breakfasts I've ever had. We ate in our room or on the veranda. If you are wondering how how good it can be, stay here a night or two.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, TX
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2009

Being from Austin, we have made many day trips to San Antonio, but to fully enjoy my husband's birthday gift (tickets to the Billy Joel & Elton John concert) we needed to stay overnight. No ordinary hotel would do. The Inn at Craig Place was everything and more that I had hoped for: gourmet food; charming hosts; beautiful, historic home; quiet, romantic, and relaxing. Our gourmet picnic was the perfect beginning to our stay, with a chilled, silver ice bucket ready and waiting for our champagne. We really enjoyed eating breakfast on the balcony, listening to the birds. For dinner before the concert, we walked around the corner to La Fonda and had a great meal, perfect margaritas, seated under an enormous, old oak tree on the patio. This historic neighborhood and outstanding B&B offer the opportunity to experience a genteel San Antonio that most tourists miss. I am already looking for dates and an excuse to return for another getaway weekend.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2009

I didn't even know about this place until I was looking for a B&B near the Austin area that had availability for Valentine's Day. Luckily, I was able to get their last room for the weekend and we couldn't have been happier.

The location is basically an $8 cab ride to downtown/riverwalk area; very convenient. It is also near such things as the San Antonio Zoo, Japanese Tea Gardens, etc. The parking is in the back of the restored house, so make sure you map out the location first else you might miss the driveway in!

The B&B keepers are amazing cooks. They stay in a separate building but will welcome you with gourmet breakfast that I still yearn for. And they contour to your schedule so that if you want them to come at a later time, they will. We basically had some coffee in thermoses and treats waiting outside our door an hour before they brought the main dishes. Wow, you get what must have been a three-course breakfast! And not something they just picked up at a drive-thru. We were impressed.

Overall, we loved the stay and would definitely go back. My only advice to you if you are planning to book a room over 02/14, book early!

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dallas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2009

I picked this place based on reviews. I would have thought it was okay if the innkeepers didnt talk to you constantly - they gave us a 30 min. history tour we didnt want.
Also dont think youll sleep in, male innkeeper knocks on your door until you open it - my husband finally had to open it and the guy just waltzed in w/ me in my nightgown -VERY UPSETTING AND RUDE.
The BREAKFAST WAS LATE EVERY MORNING BY AN HOUR so if your planning fun stuff in the morning/leaving out to sight see take the early breakfast cause it will be an hour late.
The tub is rusty and groos we never used it, had to wash up. Also the house next door is massive and under an extensive renovation - im sure it will take a couple years so get completed so get ready to awake to mexican music and the roar of saws in yoru bedroom windoe

THE PICS ARE FUNNY _IT DOESNT LOOK THAT NICE WHEN YOU ARRIVE
have fun trying to park your car in their dirt rock drive way w/ other peoples - this isnt an inn its really someones home - not big at all.

  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
inncpsanantonio, Owner at Inn at Craig Place, responded to this review, April 11, 2011
We have stared at this review for two years now, just dumbfounded as to the basis of the comments. We even wrote a response once, but it didn't get posted, so we let it go. Recently, we were encouraged by Trip Advisor to provide some sort of response from our perspective for readers to consider.

Let us begin by saying that we were given no indication whatsoever that any guests were unhappy. We also can't figure out why if they stayed in June of 2008, they waited until Feb. 12, 2009 (two days before Valentine's Day) to post such a scathing review. We are a very popular B&B for romantic getaways and proposals. Perhaps there is some connection there.

A reviewer just after that seemed to suggest that this person didn't realize that the coffee/tea basket is left outside the door at 8:15 and the breakfast is brought to the room later, at the time that the guests have selected for their breakfast, either 9:00 or 10:00. Perhaps they thought the breakfast would also come at 8:15 and be left outside the door? An explanation of procedure is given during check-in, at which time we also give a tour of the Inn so that guests know where to find the amenities.

The driveway is paved; the bathtubs are not rusty; the house next door is not under renovation; and although Gregg's tours may not be the most exciting, he really isn't that annoying -- we promise. :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katy
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2009

We got married on New Years Eve.
The place was wonderful. The breakfast in the morning is excellent and will hold you over through lunch. The Happily Ever After room has a dreamy effect. The private patio is beautiful.

The riverwalk is 10 minutes away and we could view the New Years fireworks from the outside patio. I couldn't have dreamed a better wedding.

  • Liked — Breakfast and inside of home
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Inn at Craig Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn at Craig Place

Address: 117 West Craig Place, San Antonio, TX 78212
Location: United States > Texas > San Antonio > Midtown
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 47 B&Bs / Inns in San Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
1891 historic inn specializes in romantic getaways, intimate weddings, honeymoons, anniversaries and special occasions. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Inn At Craig Place Hotel San Antonio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Inn at Craig Place, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.