We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel room at B&B Price” 3 of 5 stars
Review of King William Manor

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added King William Manor to your Saves list
King William Manor
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   1037 South Alamo St., San Antonio, TX 78210 (Formerly Columns on Alamo) (Arsenal)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
10% off room rate
Ranked #9 of 47 San Antonio B&B and Inns
St. Louis, MO
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Hotel room at B&B Price”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

King William Manor is located in a quiet, historical and beautiful part of San Antonio -- easy access to the bike trails and nice walk to the River Walk. We stayed in The Islands in the second building for Saturday night of St. Patrick's Day weekend. We arrived earlier than planned and although Deandre was offsight, she quickly arrived to let us in. Our room was spacious and had nice furniture with a very comfortable bed; the bathroom was awkwardly laid out and small but everything was provided that we needed. We liked the idea of having breakfast at the Liberty Bar next door at our lesiure, but both times we ate there (Saturday lunch & Sunday breakfast), the service was horrible and the food was just okay -- we were hoping for wonderful homecooked food that we wouldn't take the time to make for ourselves at home.

Most of the B&Bs we stay in have many "homey" touches such as assortment of drinks, snacks and baked goods or cookies available and the owners are around to answer questions about the B&B and surrounding area. This B&B has a Keurig machine in the main house but that's inconvenient if you are in the second building; there are no other drinks, snacks, baked goods or cookies. Deandre, whom we assume is an employee instead of the owner, gave us a map and restaurant recommendations when we checked in, but didn't tell us much about the house, history or grounds. Overall we enjoyed our stay, but we felt like we paid a B&B price but stayed in a nice hotel room.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

148 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    125
    16
    3
    1
    3
See reviews for
14
86
10
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Savannah, Tennessee
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

We stayed in the main house. We had a wonderful stay here and enjoyed the balcony very much. Our room was reasonably spacious and the bed very comfortable. Loved the antiques in the house; this is a beautiful place. The grounds are lovely as is the immediate area. Innkeepers were gracious and offered interesting information on both the house, restaurants and the area. At their suggestion, we took the scenic highway up to Ft Worth & that was definitely worth it.

Room Tip: Second floor in the main house has access to the balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas, United States
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

Another spectacular weekend at FIESTA in San Antonio! After a long day of walking, shopping, eating, drinking and enjoying this wonderful city, there is nothing better than to come back to a beautiful home like the King William Manor. The historic character and warmth of this B & B makes the whole weekend complete. All San Antonio has to offer is accessible from here. The Innkeeper Allison is very charming, and along with her husband, Craig, they have appointed this property with all the amenities anyone could ask for. The artwork, handmade chandeliers by Craig, furnishings and English charm make this establishment a must stay for everyone. The private pool also invites those who desire a little cooling off in the hot summer months. Breakfast at the Liberty Bar, adjacent to the King William Manor, is a real treat as well. Our hostess, Gina, delighted us with with a one-of-a-kind meal and fantastic Bloody Mary's to kick start the day! If you are reading this now, please do yourself a favor...Book a room at the King William Manor and tell them The Coyne's sent ya!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

Location perfect. Room was perfect. Owners lovely...what more could you ask for?
Within comfortable walking distance to river walk, and the walk was well worth the distance. Oh what a beautiful weekend. We enjoyed staying in the room called The Cottage. It is sort of its own little place that is off of the second house to the back. For a Friday night it was extremely quiet on the grounds and we appreciate that. Like to have fun but then we want to relax. Fireplace super cozy and huge jacuzzi perfect ending to a busy day. You'll enjoy breakfast at the Liberty Bar next door. We couldn't have been happier. Thank you Allison ( I hope I remembered that correctly!)
Andrew and Krystle

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

So breakfast at this B&B is actually at a restaurant across the street. The B&B has a Keurig type machine in the main house where check-in is, but not in the other building and I usually require coffee first thing in the morning to facilitate in me actually getting dressed and having all the right clothes on in the right order (and lets face it, Keurigs and their like are basically glorified instant coffee and don't really count). Coffee in either the rooms or in both buildings would have been helpful, since you have to actually leave the premises to get breakfast (and i also don't cross streets well without caffeine, my motor functions don't work without java!). Breakfast at the restaurant was nice in that you get a variety you don't usually get with a B&B but you had better like eggs since every item on the menu was an egg variation, except for one entree of french toast (that was more like a bread pudding than toast). Also you should be prepared to spend about $5 per person for breakfast since you get one beverage and one item per person and anything else is an extra charge. Which is fine, except I usually like coffee and orange juice in the morning and you get charged for the extra drink. They did it right, they charged me for the cheaper (the coffee) and gave me the more expensive OJ gratis, but you should be aware. In addition if you want eggs, hashbrowns and a meat (bacon, sausage, whatever) you will be charged extra since you can get potatoes or a meat but not both with the 'breakfast package', and again if you want bacon or something with your french toast, there is an extra charge. So again, expect to pay about $5 per person extra for breakfast in the morning.

That being said, everyone at both places, The Manor and the Liberty bar, were all very nice, very accommodating and very welcoming. The beds were super comfy, the rooms and bathrooms perfectly clean and spacious, not a single complaint about the premises or the people. The Manor is located just a couple of blocks from the Riverwalk amid some of the most gorgeous houses that make the walk really enjoyable and then a brief stroll along a gorgeous jasmine scented riverside until you reach the heart of downtown makes this B&B truly in an ideal spot. Considering hotels in downtown San Antonio charge a crazy amount for parking, and the walk is so nice and inviting, I have to say I much preferred staying at the Manor to the downtown hotel we have also stayed at in San Antonio. It was an all around better experience and we would go back to the B&B before we went back to the downtown hotel should we visit again.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kwmsa, Owner at King William Manor, responded to this review, May 5, 2013
Thank you for the input. We have decided to put coffee makers in all of the rooms and we are working on a coffee station for the guest house. We appreciate your suggestions and we hope that you will come back to visit us very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olympia, WA
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

I can't say enough good things about this place. It was recommended to me by a friend who used to live in the area, though I had been thinking about staying at a hotel right on the main River Walk. It was PERFECT for me and my husband who like to be outside the hubbub of touristy areas.
We stayed in the Main House in the Veranda Room. The house is very charming, built in the late 1800s and his very well maintained. Our room was large with a huge private bathroom and very tall 3-piece windows through which we could walk out on to the big wrap-around veranda. The furniture and decor was lovely, all went together perfectly with the rest of the house. The king-sized bed was the most comfortable I have ever slept on. Our room had a refrigerator, though we also could use the one in the main kitchen.
Breakfasts were in the Liberty Bar, a restaurant right across the street and they were wonderful; everything homemade and a great selection.
Allison and Craig were fantastic! Very interesting to visit with and made us feel that their home was ours. Allison put a special treat in our room for our anniversary; a very nice and personal touch.
The Manor is only two blocks from the southern part of the River Walk and only a 15 minute walk to the more famous part were all the restaurants, and spendy hotels are located. We walked there several times but were always glad to get back to the piece and quiet of our lovely manor.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

I was in town on business and extended my stay by two nights to see San Antonio. This B&B is fantastic with lots of character. The room was very clean and well taken care of. Easy check in and out. We had the place to ourselves during the mid-week so it was extremely quiet. Quick access to the Riverwalk, only 10-15 min walk to Riverwalk main area. If I am in the area again I will definitely stay here again. I highly recommend this place!!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to King William Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about King William Manor

Address: 1037 South Alamo St., San Antonio, TX 78210 (Formerly Columns on Alamo)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > San Antonio > Arsenal , East Side
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 47 B&Bs / Inns in San Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — King William Manor 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Formerly The Columns on Alamo, King William Manor has undergone an extensive renovation under the watchful eyes of the former owners of Bankers Hill Manor in San Diego, CA. Join us in the exquisite King William Historical District within quick proximity to downtown and all the great destinations, but enjoy the soothing serenity of this beautiful neighborhood. We look forward to meeting you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your King William Manor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
King William Manor Hotel San Antonio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage King William Manor, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.